Located between Villefranche-de-Rouergue and Cordes-sur-Ciel, Najac is one of the “Most Beautiful Villages in France”. Dominated by its royal fortress, this charming medieval town overlooks the gorges of the Aveyron.

What to visit in Najac?

Najac, a medieval village in Aveyron, is the ideal place to combine heritage discovery and nature walks. Located in the heart of gorges of the Aveyron, the village has a rich historical heritage and offers many interesting sites to visit. Here are some of the main points of interest in Najac:

Independently, on a guided tour, on the water or in the air, we give you some ideas for discover Najac.

The medieval village

The village itself is charming, with its cobbled streets, stone and timber-framed houses. He is moreover ranked among the most beautiful in France. You can stroll through its narrow streets, admire the traditional architecture and discover the small shops and local restaurants. A visit plan is available at the reception of the tourism office. Guided tours are offered in summer to discover all the secrets of the village. 

The Royal Fortress of Najac

Visible from afar, the Najac fortress is a must in the village. This well-preserved medieval castle is famous for its imposing size and fascinating architecture. You can visit it on your own or on a guided tour. The bonus: a magnificent view of the village and the Aveyron gorges.

Farm. Opens tomorrow at 10:30 p.m.
castle street
12270 Najac
Calculate my route
Najac Castle

Near the fortress, the Governor's House is an interesting site to visit to learn more about the fortified towns of Rouergue. There you will find the Architecture and Heritage Interpretation Center : a good introduction before exploring the destination Bastides and Gorges of Aveyron.

You can also visit Saint John the Baptist Church, a 100th century building to admire its Gothic architecture and its magnificent stained glass windows as well as the Najac Museum which brings together a XNUMX% Najac collection.

An ideal spot for outdoor activities

In search of freshness, go down to the edges of the Aveyron to enjoy an idyllic setting surrounded by nature. At the water's edge, take out your best polar and listen to the water of the river at your feet, the chirping of birds above your heads.

Venture on the paths! In addition to being located on the Conques-Toulouse route on the way to Santiago de Compostela, Najac is the starting point for many hikes. Put on your sneakers and explore the surroundings!

Want sensations? Embark on a canoe on the Aveyron river, keep your balance on a paddle, climb to the tops of the trees in the tree climbing or take a sporty getaway on a mountain bike.

C. Pelaprat

Najac on video

Follow rue du Barriou and go up to the keep of the Medieval fortress of Najac to enjoy a breathtaking view! To complete your visit, stop at the Governor's House, a fun space to discover the Bastides of Rouergue. In need of nature, venture out hiking or canoeing in the Gorges de l'Aveyron! Disconnection guaranteed!

On video

On the practical side, we answer your questions

How long to visit Najac?

We recommend a minimum of 3 hours to visit the village of Najac and its fortress. However, if you want to visit all the main points of interest and enjoy the Aveyron river, a full day will be necessary.

How to visit Najac?

The visit of the village is done on foot and preferably with comfortable shoes, a beautiful view, it has to be earned!

Independently, on a guided tour, on the water or in the air, we give you some ideas for discover Najac.

Where to swim near Najac?

If you find a swimming spot by the river, know that access is free, unsupervised and under your responsibility. Nearby, you can go to Laguépie or Lake Parisot where swimming is supervised in summer.

Where to park in Najac?

Najac being perched on its rocky ridge, you will have to leave your vehicle quite early before your visit. Completely free and unlimited parking in the town. See the car parks

What's the weather like in Najac?

To know the weather in Najac, click here.

Where to sleep on a campsite in Najac?

To discover the campsites in the town of Najac, click here.

What to visit around Najac?

Venture around Najac to fill up on outdoor activities but also to visit towns and villages of character.

25 minutes from Najac, wander around the bastide town of Villefranche-de-Rouergue known for her traditional market Thursday morning, Notre Dame collegiate church and its remarkable monuments including the Chartreuse Saint-Sauveur and Chapel of the Black Penitents.

For a short stop between Najac and Villefranche de Rouergue, stop at lunac. A charming town that you can discover with the help of a tour plan.

Not very far from Najac, you can also visit the very pretty villages of Saint Antonin Noble Val et Ropes on Sky.

Our road trip ideas around Najac

Was this content useful to you?

Situé entre Villefranche-de-Rouergue et Cordes-sur-Ciel, Najac est l’un des « Plus Beaux Villages de France ». Dominée par sa forteresse royale, cette charmante cité médiévale surplombe les gorges de l’Aveyron.

Que visiter à Najac ?

Najac, village médiéval de l’Aveyron, est l’endroit idéal pour allier découverte du patrimoine et balade en pleine nature. Situé cœur des gorges de l’Aveyron, le village possède un riche patrimoine historique et offre de nombreux sites intéressants à visiter. Voici quelques-uns des principaux points d’intérêt de Najac :

En autonomie, en visite guidée, sur l’eau ou dans les airs, on vous donne quelques idées pour découvrir Najac.

Le village médiéval

Le village lui-même est charmant, avec ses rues pavées, ses maisons en pierre et pans de bois. Il est d’ailleurs classé parmi les plus beaux de France. Vous pouvez vous promener dans ses ruelles étroites, admirer l’architecture traditionnelle et découvrir les petites boutiques et les restaurants locaux. Un plan de visite est disponible à l’accueil de l’office de tourisme. Des visites guidées sont proposées en été pour découvrir tous les secrets du village. 

La Forteresse royale de Najac

Visible de loin, la forteresse de Najac est un incontournable du village. Ce château médiéval bien préservé est célèbre pour sa taille imposante et son architecture fascinante. Vous pouvez le visiter en autonomie ou en visite guidée. Le bonus : une vue grandiose sur le village et les gorges de l’Aveyron.

Fermé. Ouvre à 10h30
rue du château
12270 Najac
Calculer mon itinéraire
Château de Najac

Proche de la forteresse, la Maison du Gouverneur est un site de visite intéressant pour en apprendre plus sur les bastides du Rouergue. Vous y trouverez le Centre d’interprétation de l’architecture et du patrimoine : un bonne entrée en matière avant d’explorer la destination Bastides et Gorges de l’Aveyron.

Vous pouvez aussi visiter l’Église Saint-Jean-Baptiste, édifice du XIIIe siècle pour admirer son architecture gothique et ses magnifiques vitraux ainsi que le Najac Museum qui regroupe une collection 100% najacoise.

Un spot idéal pour les activités de pleine nature

En quête de fraîcheur, descendez jusqu’aux bords de l’Aveyron pour profiter d’un cadre idyllique en pleine nature. Au bord de l’eau, sortez votre meilleur polar et écoutez l’eau de la rivière à vos pieds, le gazouillis des oiseaux au-dessus de vos têtes.

Aventurez-vous sur les chemins ! En plus d’être situé sur l’itinéraire Conques-Toulouse du chemin vers St Jacques de Compostelle, Najac est le départ de nombreuses randonnées. Chaussez vos baskets et explorez les environs !

Envie de sensations ? Embarquez en canoë sur la rivière Aveyron, gardez l’équilibre sur un paddle, grimpez à la cime des arbres à l’accrobranche ou faites une escapade sportive en VTT.

C.Pelaprat

Najac en vidéo

Suivez la rue du Barriou et montez jusqu’au donjon de la Forteresse médiévale de Najac pour profiter d’une vue époustouflante ! Pour compléter votre visite, arrêtez-vous à la Maison du Gouverneur, un espace ludique pour découvrir les Bastides du Rouergue. Besoin de nature, aventurez-vous en randonnée ou en canoë dans les Gorges de l’Aveyron ! Déconnexion assurée !

En vidéo

Côté pratique, on répond à vos questions

Combien de temps pour visiter Najac ?

Nous vous conseillons un minimum de 3h pour visiter le village de Najac et sa forteresse. Cependant, si vous souhaitez visiter l’ensemble des principaux points d’intérêts et profiter de la rivière Aveyron, une journée complète sera nécessaire.

Comment visiter Najac ?

La visite du village se fait à pied et de préférence avec des chaussures confortables, une belle vue, ça se mérite !

En autonomie, en visite guidée, sur l’eau ou dans les airs, on vous donne quelques idées pour découvrir Najac.

Où se baigner près de Najac ?

Si vous trouvez un coin de baignade en bord de rivière, sachez que l’accès est libre, non surveillé et sous votre responsabilité. À proximité, vous pouvez aller à Laguépie ou au lac de Parisot où la baignade est surveillée en été.

Où se garer à Najac ?

Najac étant perché sur son arête rocheuse, il faudra laisser votre véhicule assez tôt avant votre visite. Le stationnement entièrement gratuit et illimitée sur la commune. Voir les parkings

Quelle est la météo à Najac ?

Pour connaitre la météo à Najac, cliquez ici.

Où dormir en camping à Najac ?

Pour découvrir les campings sur la commune de Najac, cliquez ici.

Est-il possible de visiter Najac en groupe ?

Oui, pour organiser une visite guidée de groupe, rendez-vous sur notre espace dédié.

Est-il possible de venir à Najac avec un groupe de véhicules anciens ?

Oui ! Najac est même labelisé “Village d’Accueil des Véhicules d’Époque”.

Que visiter autour de Najac ?

Aventurez-vous autour de Najac pour faire le plein d’activité de pleine nature mais aussi pour visiter des villes et villages de caractère.

À 25 min de Najac, arpentez la bastide de Villefranche de Rouergue connue pour son marché traditionnel du jeudi matin, sa collégiale Notre-Dame et ses monuments remarquables dont la chartreuse Saint-Sauveur et la chapelle des Pénitents Noirs.

Pour une courte halte entre Najac et Villefranche de Rouergue, arrêtez-vous à Lunac. Un bourg charmant que vous pourrez découvrir à l’aide d’un plan de visite.

Pas très loin de Najac, vous pouvez aussi visiter les très jolis villages de Saint-Antonin Noble Val et Cordes sur Ciel.

Nos idées de road-trip autour de Najac

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?