Explore the Grand Site Occitanie of the Bastides and Gorges of the Aveyron along the river... Between valleys, medieval towns and Jacobean paths, explore the Aveyron and the Tarn-et-Garonne from Villeneuve to Saint-Antonin Noble Val.

Five iconic hearts

In the heart of the Aveyron gorges, visit the five emblematic hearts of the Grand Site Occitanie Bastides and Gorges de l'Aveyron:

  • Saint Antonin Noble Val, labeled Pôle de Pleine Nature. Let yourself be charmed by this city of good living, of which the vast Sunday morning market is the best embodiment.
  • Najac, a nearby village built on a narrow rocky ridge and dotted with an impressive XNUMXth century fortresse century. Walk its long main street and admire the green landscapes of the surrounding gorges from the keep of the fortress.
  • Caylus, originally a castrum made up of a compact village, dominates the delightful valley of the Bonnette. Immerse yourself in the history of its old stones and enjoy the nature that surrounds you.
  • Villefranche-de-Rouergue whose urban fabric is characteristic of bastides in the south of France. Stroll under the arcades that line its central square and contemplate the mansions from the end of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
  • Villeneuve d'Aveyron, rescued from Romanesque times located at the gates of the Causse with winding streets in which you can get lost. Its bastide forms a stopover of choice for pilgrims to Santiago de Compostela.

One Grand Site, two territories to explore

In 2018, West Aveyron Community and Community of Communes Quercy Rouergue Gorges of Aveyron have obtained joint labeling with the scheme “Great Occitanie Sites” with the denomination "Bastides and Gorges of Aveyron". The creation of a Grand Site Occitanie aims to promote a set of common and complementary characteristics around remarkable heritage, cultural, natural or historical riches, with a program of specific actions. Discover these riches with Noémie who gives you her tips!

Why a Grand Site Occitanie?

For Bastides and Gorges de l'Aveyron, the Grand Site Occitanie system has enabled local authorities to invest in improving the living environment, to rehabilitate elements of the destination's remarkable heritage, in order to better welcome visitors but also to improve the daily life of the inhabitants.

A little road trip?

From Saint-Antonin to Villeneuve d'Aveyron, via Caylus, Najac and Villefranche, explore our towns and villages of character. Fasten your seat belt, let's go!

Villeneuve d'Aveyron

Located near Villefranche-de-Rouergue, Villeneuve d'Aveyron is anchored in a landscaped territory typical of the causse where you can contemplate dry stone walls, caselles, gariottes, dovecotes, vine huts, sheepfolds, wells, washhouses... This village medieval, which associates a salvage from the Romanesque period, a XNUMXth century bastide and a suburb was an important stopover for pilgrims to Santiago de Compostela.

Villefranche-de-Rouergue

Founded in 1252 by Alphonse de Poitiers, Count of Toulouse and brother of Louis IX, this medieval country house unfolds on a natural slope on the edge of the Aveyron, between Causse and Ségala. Immerse yourself in the history of this former capital of Rouergue!

Najac

village-sentinel-najac

Surrounded by forests formerly devoted to the production of timber and pastoralism, the castral town of Najac overlooks the valley and the gorges of the Aveyron. Climb up to its fortified castle, admire its exceptionally high curtain walls and its impressive keep.


Saint Antonin Noble Val

Known as being a real conservatory of the medieval house at the confluence of the Aveyron and the Bonnette, Saint-Antonin is a village to be discovered from all angles. In the heart of its streets, along the river or from the high cliffs that surround it, enjoy this little corner of paradise.

Caylus

Overlooking the Bonnette valley, the village of Caylus clings to the slopes surrounding its castle… Make a stop there to discover its remarkable historical monuments.


Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Explorez le Grand Site Occitanie des Bastides et Gorges de l’Aveyron au fil de la rivière… Entre vallées, cités médiévales et chemins jacquaires, arpentez l’Aveyron et le Tarn-et-Garonne de Villeneuve à Saint-Antonin Noble Val.

Cinq cœurs emblématiques

Au cœur des gorges de l’Aveyron, visitez les cinq cœurs emblématiques du Grand Site Occitanie Bastides et Gorges de l’Aveyron :

  • Saint-Antonin Noble Val, labellisée Pôle de Pleine Nature. Laissez-vous charmer par cette cité du bien-vivre dont le vaste marché du dimanche matin en constitue la meilleure incarnation.
  • Najac, village voisin édifié sur une étroite arête rocheuse et jonché par une impressionnante forteresse du XIIIe siècle. Arpentez sa longue rue principale et admirez les paysages verdoyants des gorges environnantes depuis le donjon de la forteresse.
  • Caylus, à l’origine castrum formé d’un bourg ramassé, domine la ravissante vallée de la Bonnette. Imprégnez-vous de l’histoire de ses vieilles pierres et profitez de la nature qui vous entoure.
  • Villefranche-de-Rouergue dont la trame urbaine est caractéristique des bastides du sud de la France. Baladez-vous sous les arcades qui bordent sa place centrale et contemplez les hôtels particuliers de la fin du Moyen Âge et de la Renaissance.
  • Villeneuve d’Aveyron, sauveté de l’époque romane située aux portes du Causse aux ruelles serpentueuses dans lesquelles vous pourrez vous perdre. Sa bastide forme quant à elle une étape de choix pour les pèlerins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle.

Un Grand Site, deux territoires à explorer

En 2018, Ouest Aveyron Communauté et la Communauté de Communes Quercy Rouergue Gorges de l’Aveyron ont obtenu une labellisation conjointe au dispositif « Grands Sites Occitanie » avec la dénomination « Bastides et Gorges de l’Aveyron ». La création d’un Grand Site Occitanie a pour but de valoriser un ensemble de caractéristiques communes et complémentaires autour de richesses patrimoniales, culturelles, naturelles ou historiques remarquables, avec un programme d’actions spécifiques. Découvrez ces richesses avec Noémie qui vous livre ses bons plans !

Pourquoi un Grand Site Occitanie ?

Pour Bastides et Gorges de l’Aveyron, le dispositif Grand Site Occitanie a permis aux collectivités d’investir dans l’amélioration du cadre de vie, de réhabiliter des éléments du patrimoine remarquable de la destination, afin de mieux accueillir les visiteurs mais aussi pour embellir le quotidien des habitants.

Un petit roadtrip ?

De Saint-Antonin à Villeneuve d’Aveyron, en passant par Caylus, Najac et Villefranche, arpentez nos villes et villages de caractère. Attachez votre ceinture, c’est parti !

Étape
1/5

Villeneuve d’Aveyron

Villeneuve d’Aveyron

Située à proximité de Villefranche-de-Rouergue, Villeneuve d’Aveyron est ancrée dans un territoire paysager typique du causse où vous pourrez contempler murets de pierre sèche, caselles, gariottes, pigeonniers, cabanes de vigne, bergeries, puits, lavoirs… Ce village médiéval, qui associe une sauveté de l’époque romane, une bastide du XIIIe siècle et un faubourg fut une étape importante pour les pèlerins de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle.

Villefranche de Rouergue

Fondée en 1252 par Alphonse de Poitiers, comte de Toulouse et frère de Louis IX, cette bastide médiévale se déploie sur une pente naturelle en bordure de l’Aveyron, entre Causse et Ségala. Imprégnez-vous de l’histoire de cette ancienne capitale du Rouergue !

Najac

village-sentinelle-najac

Entourés de forêts autrefois dévolus à la production de bois d’œuvre et au pastoralisme, le bourg castral de Najac, surplombe la vallée et les gorges de l’Aveyron. Grimpez jusqu’à son château fort, admirez ses courtines exceptionnellement hautes et son impressionnant donjon.


Saint-Antonin Noble Val

Connu comme étant un véritable conservatoire de la maison médiévale à la confluence de l’Aveyron et de la Bonnette, Saint-Antonin est un village à découvrir sous tous les angles. Au cœur de ses rues, au fil de la rivière ou depuis les hautes falaises qui l’entoure, profitez de ce petit coin de paradis.

Caylus

Dominant la vallée de la Bonnette, le village de Caylus s’accroche aux pentes entourant son château… Faites y une halte pour découvrir ses monuments historiques remarquables.


Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu