Fortified and massive, the building seduces with its colossal dimensions and its stained glass windows. After visiting the fortress, extend your visit to the village towards the church: a fine example of southern Gothic art!

Built in the middle of the XNUMXth century at the instigation of Alphonse de Poitiers, Count of Toulouse and brother of the King of France, the Church of Saint John the Evangelist is a perfect testimony to the reconquest of the region by the Catholic power, in the day after the crusade against the Cathars. After climbing the village and visiting the fortress, let yourself be surprised by this monument of imposing proportions.

church-saint-jean-najac-aveyron
D. Viet

A witness of regional history

The church Saint John the Evangelist of Najac was built between the castral village dominated by fortress the Pause district where the pilgrims stayed. On this site, two previous buildings of worship followed one another, one of Visigothic origin, and the second of Romanesque period, dedicated to Saint Martin. The day after the reconquest of the region by Catholic troops, the royal authority decided to build a new church there reaffirming the Catholic cult on the Cathar doctrine.

The Najac dissidents had to finance the construction of this new place of worship or even work on the site themselves to redeem their behavior vis-à-vis the Church of Rome. Indeed, many of them did not recognize the authority of the Ile-de-France region and were condemned by the Inquisitors to do penance and pay heavy fines. One of the consuls of the city, Huc Paraire, was even burned alive in a public square for heresy.

A characteristic defensive architecture

Directed by the Dominicans, the work was carried out by the Burgundian architect Bérenger Jornet, between 1258 and 1280, and continued at the beginning of the XNUMXth century with the construction of the bell tower and the installation of the stained glass windows, the oldest of which are those of the western rose window. .

Consecrated in 1363, the church was flanked by a door initially forming part of the urban enclosure and was accessible by a portal to the north, surmounted by a Christ on the Cross from the Romanesque period, originally covered with a structural work forming courtyard.

Characteristic of southern gothic architecture, including the Sainte-Cécile cathedral in Albi, the Jacobins church in Toulouse and the Collegiate Church of Our Lady of Villefranche-de-Rouergue are perfect ambassadors, the Najac building is a vast stone chest punctuated by powerful buttresses and very small openings. Monumental and sober, the nave, without collaterals, was adapted to Catholic preaching, the gathering of the faithful and the veneration of relics. The building is lit to the west by a large multi-lobed rose window. This one is decorated with stained glass windows enhanced with grisaille dating from the XNUMXth century.

stained-glass-stjean-church

An interior of unsuspected richness

Listed as a Historic Monument since 1924, the church houses a quite exceptional furniture. Among the most notable elements, we can cite a XNUMXth century wrought iron gate that once contained a Paschal candle, a sculpted group associating a XNUMXth century Catalan Christ on the cross, the Virgin and Saint John the Evangelist from the XNUMXth century , of the XNUMXth and XNUMXth century paintings, stalls, a pulpit, a hard plaster XNUMXth century Stations of the Cross and liturgical objects arranged in the wall niches of the choir, including a remarkable XNUMXth century processional cross.

Made by a companion named Barthélémy Gauchy at the end of the XNUMXth century, the stained glass of the nave take place in polylobes formed of openwork slabs. Features of symbolic artistic movement, they present the attributes of the four evangelists, a chalice, the dove of the Holy Spirit and/or even the IHS of Christ by their extremely bright color, they bring a quite interesting luminosity to the XNUMXth century building whose architecture essentially emphasizes rurality.

Built on an enormous block of schist, the church was built over a large well more than 6 meters deep which allowed the population to take shelter inside and to supply themselves with water in the event of a siege. By kindly asking the caretaker, you will have the opportunity to see it.

Prepare your visit

Opening hours from May 01 to September 30, 2022
Monday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Tuesday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Wednesday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Thursday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Friday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Saturday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Sunday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Opening hours from October 01 to October 31, 2022
Saturday Open from 10 p.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 17:30 p.m.
Sunday Open from 10 p.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 17:30 p.m.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Fortifié et massif, le bâtiment séduit par ses dimensions colossales et ses vitraux. Après avoir visité la forteresse, prolongez votre visite du village vers l’église : un bel exemple de l’art gothique méridional !

Edifiée au milieu du XIIIe siècle sous l’impulsion d’Alphonse de Poitiers, comte de Toulouse et frère du roi de France, l’église Saint Jean l’Evangéliste est un parfait témoignage de la reconquête de la région par le pouvoir catholique, au lendemain de la croisade menée contre les cathares. Après avoir gravi le village et visité la forteresse, laissez-vous surprendre par ce monument aux proportions imposantes.

eglise-saint-jean-najac-aveyron
D.Viet

Un témoin de l’Histoire régionale

L’église Saint-Jean-l’Evangéliste de Najac fut bâtie entre le bourg castral dominé par la forteresse le quartier de la Pause où logeaient les pèlerins. À cet emplacement, se succédèrent deux édifices de culte antérieurs, l’un d’origine wisigothique, et le second d’époque romane, dédié à saint Martin. Au lendemain de la reconquête de la région par les troupes catholiques, l’autorité royale décida d’y construire une nouvelle église réaffirmant le culte catholique sur la doctrine cathare.

Les dissidents najacois durent financer l’édification de ce nouveau lieu de culte voire travailler eux-mêmes sur le chantier pour se racheter une conduite vis-à-vis de l’Eglise de Rome. En effet, nombre d’entre eux ne reconnurent pas l’autorité francilienne et furent condamnés par les Inquisiteurs à faire pénitence et à payer de fortes amendes. L’un des consuls de la cité, Huc Paraire, fut même brûlé vif en place publique pour hérésie.

Une architecture défensive caractéristique

Dirigés par les Dominicains, les travaux furent réalisés par l’architecte bourguignon Bérenger Jornet, entre 1258 et 1280, et se prolongèrent au début du XIVe siècle par la construction du clocher et la pose des vitraux dont les plus anciens sont ceux de la rose occidentale.

Consacrée en 1363, l’église était flanquée d’une porte faisant initialement partie de l’enceinte urbaine et était accessible par un portail au nord, surmonté d’un Christ en Croix d’époque romane, primitivement couvert d’un ouvrage charpenté formant préau.

Caractéristique de l’architecture gothique méridionale, dont la cathédrale Sainte-Cécile d’Albi, l’église des Jacobins de Toulouse et la collégiale Notre-Dame de Villefranche-de-Rouergue sont de parfaites ambassadrices, l’édifice najacois est un vaste coffre de pierre rythmé par de puissants contreforts et de très petites ouvertures. Monumentale et sobre, la nef, sans collatéraux, était adaptée au prêche catholique, au rassemblement des fidèles et à la vénération des reliques. L’édifice est éclairé à l’ouest par une grande rose polylobée. Celle-ci est décorée de vitraux rehaussés de grisaille datant du XVIe siècle.

vitrail-eglise-stjean

Un intérieur d’une richesse insoupçonnée

Classée au titre des Monuments Historiques depuis 1924, l’église abrite un mobilier assez exceptionnel. Parmi les éléments les plus notables, on peut citer une grille en fer forgé du XIIIe siècle contenant autrefois un cierge pascal, un groupe sculpté associant un Christ en croix de facture catalane du XVe siècle, la Vierge et saint Jean l’Evangéliste du XVIe siècle, des tableaux du XVIIe et du XVIIIe siècle, des stalles, une chaire à prêcher, un chemin de croix en plâtre dur du XIXe siècle et des objets liturgiques disposés dans les niches murales du chœur parmi lesquels une remarquable croix processionnelle du XIIIe siècle.

Réalisés par un compagnon du nom de Barthélémy Gauchy à la fin du XIXe siècle, les vitraux de la nef prennent place dans des polylobes formés de dalles ajourées. Caractéristiques du courant artistique symbolique, ils présentent les attributs des quatre évangélistes, un calice, la colombe du Saint-Esprit et/ou encore le IHS du Christ par leur couleur extrêmement vive, ils apportent une luminosité tout à fait intéressante à l’édifice du XIIIe siècle dont l’architecture met essentiellement l’accent sur la ruralité.

Construite sur un énorme bloc de schiste, l’église fut édifiée sur un grand puits de plus de 6 mètres de profondeur qui permettait à la population de s’abriter à l’intérieur et de s’alimenter en eau en cas de siège. En faisant gentiment la demande au gardien des lieux, vous aurez la possibilité de le voir.

Préparez votre visite

Horaires d'ouverture du 01 mai au 30 septembre 2022
Lundi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Mardi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Mercredi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Jeudi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Vendredi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Samedi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Dimanche Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Horaires d'ouverture du 01 octobre au 31 octobre 2022
Samedi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 17h30
Dimanche Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 17h30

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu