Take on the impressive Fortress of Najac! Perched above the gorges of the Aveyron, this building will immerse you in the time of the Cathar struggles and other historical battles.

Najac, strategic stake of the Counts of Toulouse…

La Fortress of Najac, famous in the South-West, was built to defend Rouergue when the counts of Toulouse chose Najac as the capital of Bas Rouergue.

In the XNUMXth century, a first fortress, simple and square, was built on the site of an old seigniorial tower. Najac becomes the main position of the line of defense built along the Aveyron.

In 1249, on the death of Count Raimond VII, his son-in-law Alphonse de Poitiers, brother of King Saint Louis, succeeded him. The region, with Najac, rose up for a few months. The new count then decides, to establish his power and show his power, to considerably reinforce the existing military structure.

It is from the main street of the village that the monument can be seen, in a perspective worthy of a cinema shot. All you have to do is gather your courage and go up the street to the castle. The visit is worth the detour!

A whole subtle art of defense...

The construction site was launched in 1253, in the middle of a century which raised the military art to a very high level. 2000 workers work there. In less than 10 years will arise, on this narrow and steep spur, the "Impregnatable Fortress".

You will be impressed by the high walls and archers 6,80 meters, the highest in the world! Since keep, admire the view and its panorama on the wild gorges of the Aveyron. Nearly 40 meters high, it is the symbol of the power of Alphonse de Poitiers over the County of Toulouse.

Today…

After the Hundred Years War, the royal fortress was used only as a prison until the Revolution: Templars, then Croquants in 1643, were locked up there. Sold as national property, it was partially exploited as a stone quarry. Bought in 1906 by Alfred Cibiel, the fortress was saved from ruin and today belongs to the same family.

Follow the guide to climb the dungeon and its three superimposed rooms of beautiful Gothic craftsmanship. Halfway up, the Saint Julien chapel shows the remains of a XNUMXth century fresco and numerous marks of companions. A secret passage in the thickness of the wall connects it to the Governor's room which commanded the cellar. An imposing model, with scale figures, will allow you to take the measure of the deterrence policy implemented in the region by Alphonse de Poitiers.

The Fortress of Najac is today the most visited private historical monument in the Midi-Pyrénées region.


Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Partez à l’assaut de l’impressionnante Forteresse de Najac ! Perchée au-dessus des gorges de l’Aveyron, cet édifice vous plongera au temps des luttes cathares et autres batailles historiques.

Najac, enjeu stratégique des Comtes de Toulouse…

La Forteresse de Najac, célèbre dans le Sud-Ouest, fut construite pour défendre le Rouergue lorsque les comtes de Toulouse choisirent Najac comme capitale du Bas Rouergue.

Au XIIe siècle une première forteresse, de facture simple et carrée, est bâtie, à l’emplacement d’une vieille tour seigneuriale. Najac devient la position principale de la ligne de défense construite le long de l’Aveyron.

En 1249, à la mort du Comte Raimond VII, son gendre Alphonse de Poitiers, frère du roi Saint Louis, lui succède. La région, avec Najac, se soulèvent pendant quelques mois. Le nouveau comte décide alors, pour asseoir son pouvoir et montrer sa puissance, de renforcer considérablement l’ouvrage militaire existant.

C’est depuis la rue principale du village que le monument se donne à voir, dans une perspective digne d’un plan de cinéma. Il ne vous reste plus qu’à prendre votre courage à deux mains et remonter la rue jusqu’au château. La visite vaut le détour !

Tout un art subtil de la défense…

Le chantier est lancé en 1253, au milieu d’un siècle qui a porté très haut l’art militaire. 2000 ouvriers y travaillent. En moins de 10 ans va surgir, sur cet éperon étroit et escarpé, la « Forteresse Imprenable ».

Vous serez impressionnés par les hautes murailles et les archères de 6,80 mètres, les plus hautes du monde ! Depuis le donjon, admirez la vue et son panorama sur les gorges sauvages de l’Aveyron. Haut de près de 40 mètres, il est le symbole du pouvoir d’Alphonse de Poitiers sur le Comté de Toulouse.

Aujourd’hui…

Après la guerre de Cent Ans, la forteresse royale n’a guère servi que de prison jusqu’à la Révolution : Templiers, puis Croquants en 1643, y furent enfermés. Vendue comme bien national, elle fut exploitée partiellement en carrière de pierres. Rachetée en 1906 par Alfred Cibiel, la forteresse est sauvée de la ruine et appartient aujourd’hui à la même famille.

Suivez le guide pour gravir le donjon et ses trois salles superposées de belle facture gothique. A mi-hauteur, la chapelle Saint Julien montre des restes de fresque du XIIIe siècle et de nombreuses marques de compagnons. Un passage secret dans l’épaisseur de la muraille la relie à la chambre du Gouverneur qui commandait le cellier. Une imposante maquette, avec des personnages à l’échelle, vous permettra de prendre la mesure de la politique de dissuasion mise en œuvre dans la région par Alphonse de Poitiers.

La Forteresse de Najac est aujourd’hui le monument historique privé le plus visité dans la région Midi-Pyrénées.


Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu