Between the Aveyron gorges and the Tarn valley, hills dotted with vines and landscapes wooded with oaks and chestnut trees, admire the beauty of the Grand Site Occitanie Cordes sur Ciel and medieval towns.

How to get there?

  • From Villefranche-de-Rouergue : take the D922 towards Monteils/Najac as far as Cordes (about 50 minutes)
  • From Najac : take the direction of Laguépie by the D594 then follow the D922 to Cordes (about 35 minutes)

A history of more than 800 years

Perched on its rocky crest of Puech de Mordagne, the medieval town of Ropes on Sky will surprise you. Dominating the peaceful Cérou valley, this charming village of the Tarn is rich in an exceptional heritage.

Around Cordes, in a region that is sometimes nicknamed the little French Tuscany, let yourself be amazed by beautiful Bastides et villages steeped in history.

The iconic hearts

Visit the emblematic hearts of Grand Site Occitanie Cordes sur Ciel and medieval cities. Wander the cobbled streets of Cordes to contemplate the medieval gothic facades, stroll around the Place des Arcades at Castelnau-de-Montmiral, set off to attack the penne castles et Bruniquel, walk along the old walkway at Puycelsi and take a walk in its Grésigne forest.

Tips

Pauline Cabrol, art history student, gives you her tips for discovering the Grand Site Occitanie Cordes sur Ciel and Medieval Cities.

Of the most beautiful villages in France

The Grand Site Occitanie Cordes sur Ciel and medieval cities brings together three most beautiful villages in France, just that ! Essentials of the destination, they will seduce you with their charming alleys, their half-timbered houses or sculpted facades. Perched on their promontories, they will also offer you beautiful panoramas on the surrounding nature. So don't wait any longer! Explore the villages of Ropes on Sky, Castelnau-de-Montmiral et Puycelsi for an immersion in the heart of the Middle Ages.

The Gaillac vineyard

Treat yourself to a roadtrip in the heart of vines of the Gaillac vineyard, one of the oldest in France! The reputation of its wines has been built since the Middle Ages, thanks to a quality terroir. Threatened during wars and phylloxera for centuries, the Gaillac vineyard shines today thanks to young enthusiasts who will be delighted to share their love for wine with you. Wine lover? Venture into the lands of Gaillac and meet the winemakers in their vineyard.
Good plan : Treat yourself to this special moment by buying the Pass Vigeron

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Entre gorges de l’Aveyron et vallée du Tarn, collines parsemées de vignes et paysages boisés de chênes et châtaigniers, admirez la beauté du Grand Site Occitanie Cordes sur ciel et cités médiévales.

Comment s'y rendre ?

  • Depuis Villefranche de Rouergue : prendre la D922 en direction de Monteils/Najac jusqu’à Cordes (environ 50 minutes)
  • Depuis Najac : prendre la direction de Laguépie par la D594 puis suivre la D922 jusqu’à Cordes (environ 35 minutes)

Une histoire de plus de 800 ans

Perchée sur sa crête rocheuse du Puech de Mordagne, la cité médiévale de Cordes sur Ciel saura vous surprendre. Dominant la paisible vallée du Cérou, ce charmant village du Tarn est riche d’un patrimoine exceptionnel.

Autour de Cordes, dans une région que l’on surnomme parfois la petite Toscane française, laissez-vous émerveiller par de belles bastides et villages baignés d’Histoire.

Les cœurs emblématiques

Visitez les cœurs emblématiques du Grand Site Occitanie Cordes sur Ciel et Cités médiévales. Arpentez les ruelles pavées de Cordes pour contempler les façades gothiques médiévales, flânez sur la place des arcades à Castelnau-de-Montmiral, partez à l’assaut des châteaux de Penne et Bruniquel, parcourez l’ancien chemin de ronde à Puycelsi et baladez-vous dans sa forêt de Grésigne.

Les bons plans

Pauline Cabrol, étudiante en histoire de l’art, vous livre ses bons plans pour découvrir le Grand Site Occitanie Cordes sur Ciel et Cités médiévales.

Des plus beaux villages de France

Le Grand Site Occitanie Cordes sur ciel et cités médiévales regroupe trois plus beaux villages de France, rien que ça ! Incontournables de la destination, ils vous séduiront grâce à leur charmantes ruelles, leurs maisons à colombages ou façades sculptées. Perchés sur leurs promontoires, ils vous offriront également de beaux panoramas sur la nature environnante. Alors, n’attendez plus ! Explorez les villages de Cordes sur Ciel, Castelnau-de-Montmiral et Puycelsi pour une immersion au cœur du Moyen Age.

Le vignoble de Gaillac

Offrez-vous un roadtrip au cœur des vignes du vignoble de Gaillac, l’un des plus vieux de France ! La renommée de ses vins s’est construite dès le Moyen Age, grâce à un terroir de qualité. Menacée pendant les guerres et le phylloxéra pendant des siècles, le vignoble de Gaillac rayonne aujourd’hui grâce à de jeunes passionnés qui se réjouiront de vous faire partager leur amour pour le vin. Amateur de vin ? Aventurez-vous sur les terres gaillacoises et rencontrez les vignerons dans leur vignoble.
Bon plan : offrez-vous ce moment privilégié en achetant le Pass Vigeron

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu