Venture off the beaten track into the Aveyron gorges, green paradise and wild nature. Over the river, wake up your meaning and create your most beautiful memories.

Extending over twenty kilometers straddling the departments of Aveyron and Tarn-et-Garonne, the Aveyron gorges offer you beautiful landscapes to explore. For a day, a weekend or a holiday, recharge your batteries in the heart of this unspoiled nature.

A picturesque landscape

South-west of Villefranche-de-Rouergue, the Aveyron river dug his bed in deep throats. The steep and schistose massifs bring striking tones to the landscape. Contemplate this mosaic of colours, ocher sandstone alongside white limestone and bluish pebbles. Marvel at the high cliffs lined with perched villages, viaducts, waterfalls and prehistoric sites.

The vegetation of the Aveyron gorges, in which hemp and flax were once grown, is lush. On the plateaus, oaks and chestnuts take pride of place while conifers replace the vines destroyed by phylloxera at the end of the XNUMXth century.

It is in this rugged setting that the village of Najac stretches like a sentinel along a narrow rocky ridge at the foot of which well-exposed terraced gardens have been laid out. A visit is a must!

Les gorges de l'Aveyron

The Aveyron Gorges

An enchanting natural space in the heart of Occitania

A wilderness spot

Greatly preserved from human activity, the Aveyron valley is an ideal playground for lovers of big spaces and green tourism. With friends or family with children, walk through the gorges bike. as canoe Kayak, on a climbing course or Hiking. Experience sensations, fly away hang gliding, discover an underground world on the outing potholing, immerse yourself in the cool water of the river.

The discovery of its cliffs is also worth the detour. Take to the skies and admire the rock faces and the serpentine river by taking the Corniche tourist route. Overlook the Cirque de Bône and the Roc d'Anglars in Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val, unmissable viewpoints during your stay. Push your way to Bruniquel and Cordes-sur-Ciel, two of the “Most Beautiful Villages of France”.

A paradise for aquatic activities

From Villefranche-de-Rouergue to Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val via Najac, there is no shortage of water activities! Embark on canoe Kayak and discover the fauna and flora of the gorges. It's up to you to choose, between a stroll on a long calm river or a splashing sporting challenge! Refresh yourself in the white waters of the river or relax at the swimming pools… In Varen, the Aveyron forms a body of water 3 kilometers long. Endowed with an undeniable charm, it is a privileged place for tourism and aquatic activities.

Where to swim in the gorges of Aveyron?

At the bend of a path or a small country road, discover pleasant natural corners at the edge of the water where you can take a dip...

Important information

For all of the following sites, access is free and swimming, when possible, is unsupervised and therefore under your sole responsibility.

In Villefranche-de-Rouergue

On the Gourg-Gassiés site, located on the Gasse road (along the river), towards La Bastide-L'évêque (5 km). Featuring impressive boulders in a pleasant setting. You can park on the side of the road relying on cars parked nearby. Access to the site is via a small path, the entrance to which is not easy to find.

To Najac

At the foot of the village and its royal fortress, you can enjoy the river in a green setting. Access to the river is not far from the AAGAC leisure base, which also offers an interesting range of activities (canoeing, rafting, hiking, mountain biking, adventure park) to discover the gorges of Aveyron and Viaur.

In Bor and Bar

On the borders of Tarn and Aveyron, you will find a picnic area in Bor and Bar on the banks of the Viaur.

Where to go canoeing in the Aveyron gorges?

To appreciate the wild beauty of the gorges, nothing better than canoeing! Let yourself be carried along by the water... Observe the old mills of Villefranche with Sports and Nature or admire the village of Najac and its fortress with the AAGAC.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Aventurez-vous hors des sentiers battus dans les gorges de l’Aveyron, paradis de verdure et de nature sauvage. Au fil de la rivière, réveillez vos sens et créez vos plus beaux souvenirs.

S’étendant sur une vingtaine de kilomètres à cheval sur les départements de l’Aveyron et du Tarn-et-Garonne, les gorges de l’Aveyron vous offrent de beaux paysages à explorer. Pour une journée, un week-end ou des vacances, ressourcez-vous au cœur de cette nature préservée.

Un paysage pittoresque

Au sud-ouest de Villefranche-de-Rouergue, la rivière l’Aveyron a creusé son lit dans des gorges profondes. Les massifs escarpés et schisteux apportent de saisissantes tonalités au paysage. Contemplez cette mosaïque de couleurs, le grès ocre y côtoie le calcaire blanc et les galets bleutés. Emerveillez-vous devant les hautes falaises bordées de villages perchés, de viaducs, de cascades et de sites préhistoriques.

La végétation des gorges de l’Aveyron, dans lesquelles étaient autrefois cultivés le chanvre et le lin, est luxuriante. Sur les plateaux, chênes et châtaigniers se tirent la part belle tandis que les conifères remplacent les vignes détruites par le phylloxéra à la fin du XIXe siècle.

C’est dans ce décor accidenté que le village de Najac s’étire telle une sentinelle le long d’une étroite arête rocheuse au pied de laquelle furent aménagés des jardins en terrasse bien exposés. Une visite s’impose !

Les gorges de l'Aveyron

Les gorges de l'Aveyron

Un espace naturel enchanteur au cœur de l’Occitanie

Un spot de pleine nature

Grandement préservée de l’activité humaine, la vallée de l’Aveyron constitue un terrain de jeux idéal pour les amoureux de grands espaces et de tourisme vert. Entre amis ou en famille avec les enfants, arpentez les gorges à vélo, en canoë-kayak, sur un parcours d’escalade ou en randonnée pédestre. Vivez des sensations, envolez-vous en deltaplane, découvrez un monde souterrain en sortie spéléologie, immergez-vous dans l’eau fraîche de la rivière.

La découverte de ses falaises vaut également le détour. Prenez de la hauteur et admirez les parois rocheuses et la rivière serpentine en empruntant la route touristique de la Corniche. Surplombez le cirque de Bône et le roc d’Anglars à Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val, des points de vue incontournables de votre séjour. Poussez votre route jusqu’à Bruniquel et Cordes-sur-Ciel, deux des « Plus Beaux Villages de France ».

Un paradis pour les activités aquatiques

De Villefranche-de-Rouergue à Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val en passant par Najac, les activités aquatiques ne manquent pas ! Embarquez en canoë-kayak et découvrez la faune et la flore des gorges. A vous de choisir, entre balade sur long fleuve tranquille ou challenge sportif éclaboussant ! Rafraichissez-vous dans les eaux vives de la rivière ou détendez-vous à la piscine… A Varen, l’Aveyron forme un plan d’eau de 3 kilomètres de long. Doté d’un charme indéniable, c’est un lieu privilégié pour le tourisme et les activités aquatiques.

Où se baigner dans les gorges de l’Aveyron ?

Au détour d’un chemin ou d’une petite route de campagne, découvrez des coins naturels agréables au bord de l’eau où vous pourrez faire trempette…

Information importante

Pour l’ensemble des sites suivants, l’accès est libre et la baignade, quand elle est possible, est non surveillée et donc sous votre entière responsabilité.

À Villefranche-de-Rouergue

Sur le site du Gourg-Gassiés, situé sur la route de la Gasse (longeant la rivière), en direction de La Bastide-L’évêque (5 km). Doté d’impressionnants rochers dans un cadre agréable. Vous pouvez vous garer sur le bord de la route en vous fiant aux voitures garées à proximité. L’accessibilité du site se fait par un petit chemin dont l’entrée n’est pas évidente à trouver.

À Najac

Au pied du village et de sa forteresse royale, vous pourrez profiter du cours d’eau dans un cadre verdoyant. L’accès à la rivière se fait non loin de la base de loisirs de l’AAGAC, qui offre d’ailleurs un panel intéressant d’activités (canoë-kayak, rafting, rando, VTT, parc aventures) pour découvrir les gorges de l’Aveyron et du Viaur.

À Bor et Bar

Aux confins du Tarn et de l’Aveyron, vous trouverez à Bor et Bar en bordure du Viaur une aire de pique-nique.

Où faire du canoë-kayak dans les gorges de l’Aveyron ?

Pour apprécier la beauté sauvage des gorges, rien de mieux que le canoë-kayak ! Laissez-vous porter au fil de l’eau… Observez les anciens moulins de Villefranche avec Sports et Nature ou admirez le village de Najac et sa forteresse avec l’AAGAC.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu