At the heart of the old centre, the Notre-Dame collegiate church watches over Villefranche-de-Rouergue from the top of its 58 meters high. heritage gem of Aveyron, this great gothic church is emblematic of the town.

villefrance-rouergue-collegial
The Storytellers

A building with a tormented history

300 years, minimal! This is the time it took for this stone giant to reach its current 58 meters. Nevertheless, the project of the consuls of Villefranche-de-Rouergue was much larger: 88 meters. This height would have allowed the city to symbolically exceed the other large bell tower of Aveyron, that of the Notre-Dame cathedral built by the bishop of Rodez. 

Started a few years after the founding of the country house by the Count of Toulouse, Alfonso of Poitiers, and the seneschal Jean d'Arcis, in the middle of the XNUMXth century, the site was successively interrupted by disagreements with the episcopal authority of Rodez, by the Hundred Years War, by epidemics, by disagreements between the consuls and by bad weather conditions. 

Visit the monument

Classified as "Historic Monuments", the Notre-Dame collegiate church can be visited freely every day of the year. It is included in the guided tour of the old center offered by the tourist office.

In July and August, take the time to climb the 163 steeple steps to reach the passageway overlooking the city. You will have a amazing views on the surrounding nature, the Dardenne house, the clock fountain and the colorful market stalls on Thursday morning, market day. Your cultural discovery will be accompanied by the sweet melodies of chime, one of the most beautiful in the south-west of France, with its 58 bells.

Prenez de la hauteur
Jerome Morel

Take the height

From the bell tower of the collegiate church, contemplate one of the most beautiful viewpoints over the city.

A course in architecture(s)

Although the building seems at first glance quite homogeneous, it is actually made up of three distinct blocks. These architectural differences respond to the length of the site and to various construction times, where the wishes of the builders were not always the same. 

The oldest part is the choir, pentagonal, with its large lancets rising to the vault. two of five stained glass were offered by the King of France, Charles VII, in the middle of the fifteenth century. Responding to the precepts of radiant Gothic, from Ile-de-France, this part is opposed to the nave, larger and more massive, agreeing with the darker and more defensive southern constructions. 

The most recent part is at the level of the porch, characteristic of flamboyant Gothic. Relatively sober, it conceals a multitude of small sculptures. Monkeys, rabbits and hedgehogs sway on oak leaves topped with acorns. The curved arch of its portal refers to the decorations of candles and flames found on the large bay at the top. 

An exceptional movable heritage

The jewel of the Notre-Dame de Villefranche-de-Rouergue collegiate church holds in its set of stalls, rare in the Occitanie region. Made in the second half of the XNUMXth century, they were reserved for the civil and religious authorities of the city, the population sitting in the nave. Its flamboyant decorations hide mercies quite intriguing. Animals, fantastic creatures, popular expressions and scenes of everyday life refer to an ideal of thought specific to the end of the Middle Ages. 

The building can also boast of having two organs, the majestic gallery organ surmounting the entrance and the choir organ in a side chapel. In the north arm of the transept, a marble medallion representing the Visitation is attributed to the school of Pierre Puget, one of the most influential sculptors of the reign of Louis XIV. Formerly occupying the choir of the collegiate church, the Virgin and Child in silver laminated wood is also an exceptional work. Finally, the building houses a representation of the Completely symbolic Christ, the first glance of which may surprise you.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Au cœur du centre-ancien, la collégiale Notre-Dame veille sur Villefranche-de-Rouergue du haut de ses 58 mètres de hauteur. Joyau du patrimoine de l’Aveyron, cette grande église gothique est emblématique de la commune.

villefrance-rouergue-collegiale
Les Conteurs

Un édifice à l’Histoire tourmentée

300 ans, minimum ! C’est le temps qu’il aura fallu pour que ce géant de pierre atteigne ses 58 mètres actuels. Néanmoins, le projet des consuls de Villefranche-de-Rouergue était bien plus conséquent : 88 mètres. Cette hauteur aurait permis à la cité de dépasser symboliquement l’autre grand clocher de l’Aveyron, celui de la cathédrale Notre-Dame édifié par l’évêque de Rodez. 

Débuté quelques années après la fondation de la bastide par le comte de Toulouse, Alphonse de Poitiers, et le sénéchal Jean d’Arcis, au milieu du XIIIe siècle, le chantier fut successivement interrompu par des désaccords avec l’autorité épiscopale de Rodez, par la guerre de Cent Ans, par des épidémies, par des mésententes entre les consuls et par de mauvaises conditions climatiques. 

Visiter le monument

Classée au titre des « Monuments Historiques », la collégiale Notre-Dame se visite librement tous les jours de l’année. Elle est incluse dans le parcours de visite guidée du centre-ancien proposé par l’office de tourisme.

En juillet et août, prenez le temps de gravir les 163 marches du clocher pour atteindre la coursive surplombant la cité. Vous aurez une vue imprenable sur la nature environnante, la maison Dardenne, la fontaine horloge et les étals colorés du marché le jeudi matin, jour du marché. Votre découverte culturelle s’accompagnera des douces mélodies du carillon, un des plus beaux du sud-ouest de la France, avec ses 58 cloches.

Un cours d’architecture(s)

Bien que l’édifice semble à première vue assez homogène, il se compose en réalité de trois blocs bien distincts. Ces différences architecturales répondent à la longueur du chantier et à divers temps de construction, où les volontés des bâtisseurs n’étaient pas toujours les mêmes. 

La partie la plus ancienne est le chœur, pentagonal, avec ses grandes lancettes s’élevant jusqu’à la voûte. Deux des cinq vitraux furent offerts par le roi de France, Charles VII, au milieu du XVe siècle. Répondant aux préceptes du gothique rayonnant, issu d’Ile-de-France, cette partie s’oppose à la nef, plus vaste et massive, s’accordant avec les constructions méridionales plus sombres et défensives. 

La partie la plus récente se trouve au niveau du porche, caractéristique du gothique flamboyant. Relativement sobre, il recèle une multitude de petites sculptures. Des singes, des lapins et des hérissons ondulent sur des feuilles de chêne garnies de glands. L’arc en accolade de son portail renvoie aux décors de bougies et de flammes que l’on retrouve sur la grande baie sommitale. 

Un patrimoine mobilier d’exception

Le joyau de la collégiale Notre-Dame de Villefranche-de-Rouergue tient dans son ensemble de stalles, rare en région Occitanie. Réalisées dans la seconde moitié du XVe siècle, elles étaient réservées aux autorités civiles et religieuses de la ville, la population siégeant elle dans la nef. Ses décors flamboyants cachent des miséricordes tout à fait intrigantes. Des animaux, des créatures fantastiques, des expressions populaires et des scènes de vie courante renvoient à un idéal de pensée propre à la fin du Moyen Age. 

L’édifice peut également s’enorgueillir de posséder deux orgues, le majestueux orgue de tribune surmontant l’entrée et l’orgue de choeur dans une chapelle latérale. Dans le bras nord du transept, un médaillon en marbre représentant la Visitation est attribué à l’école de Pierre Puget, un des sculpteurs les plus influents du règne de Louis XIV. Occupant autrefois le chœur de la collégiale, la Vierge à l’Enfant en bois lamé d’argent est également une œuvre d’exception. Enfin, l’édifice abrite une représentation du Christ tout à fait symbolique, dont le premier coup d’œil risque de vous surprendre.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu