From Salles-Courbatiès to Najac via Villeneuve d'Aveyron and Villefranche de Rouergue, hike on the famous road to Saint Jacques de Compostela. You will pass through charming villages where friendliness and hospitality come together.

4 days, 3 nights

Three days of roaming and self-guided hiking between Salles-Courbatiès and Najac

Difficulty ** Comfort **

Stage
1/4

Day 1: from Salles-Courbatiès to Villeneuve – 7,5 km.

Day 1: from Salles-Courbatiès to Villeneuve – 7,5 km.

Along the way, you can see…

This stage of the Camino de Santiago will take you through the marsh of Montaris, sensitive natural space. The river of “La Diège” originates there. You can observe a varied wildlife : gray heron, moorhen, mallard duck… You will then cross the causes : domain of sheep, cazelles, dolmens…

Arrive at Villeneuve d'Aveyron, founded in the middle of the XNUMXth century around a monastery and successively rescued, country house county, then royal bastide at the end of the XNUMXth century: small alleys, vaulted passages, ogival doors, defense towers, bourgeois houses... The church is a beautiful building, a mixture of Romanesque and Gothic. In the north chapel of the Romanesque church, be sure to admire the murals, dating from the beginning of the XNUMXth century, which represent the legend of the hanged/depended man.

It will also be possible to visit the House of photography Jean-Marie Périer where there is a permanent exhibition in a magnificent 185th century building: seven exhibition rooms presenting 60 framed prints of the stars of French, English and American music from the XNUMXs…

For the night…

Spend the night in a very beautiful stopover with bedroom and private bathroom The Pilgrims' House in the heart of the medieval village of Villeneuve d'Aveyron.
For your evening meal, you will find several catering options nearby: traditional restaurant, brasserie or take-out...

Book your room

Closed

The Pilgrims' House

Church Square
12260 Villeneuve
Calculate my route
  • Kitchen – Free management
  • Reception of cyclists
  • Baggage porterage
  • Linen rental
  • Wi-Fi / Internet
  • Crib

Day 2: Hike to Villefranche de Rouergue – 14 km.

Along the way, you can see…

After breakfast at the cottage, continuation of the hike on the Way of Saint James via the GR62B. It is in autumn and spring, in the hollow paths lined with walls that you will discover the Causse, its mysterious light, its subtle shades, its scents… in the uncultivated fields, at the very edge of your path, orchids grow. Nothing giant: they measure between 10 and 30 cm…

The Storytellers

Visit of the bastide town of Villefranche de Rouergue and its monuments

Depending on your arrival time at Villefranche-de-Rouergue and depending on the opening hours of the different places you will have the choice between several visits. Enjoy! We offer three essential visits: the Royal Bastide (old center of Villefranche de Rouergue, guided or audioguided depending on the season), the baroque chapel of the Black Penitents and the old one Chartreuse Saint-Sauveur monastery of the XVth.

Make the most of the city and its other monuments, which are free to enter: the Notre Dame Collegiate Church and its storied stalls and its imposing bell tower-porch 58 m high, the modern Emilie De Rodat Chapel… Perhaps you would prefer a temporary exhibition? Meet at the White Workshop, contemporary art space located in the heart of a garden on the banks of the Aveyron…

For the night…

Your stage tonight: a 3*** hotel, contemporary and design: The Fleurines.
For dinner, a gourmet or traditional restaurant or a brasserie in the city centre, several options are available to you.

Book your room

The Fleurines

17 boulevard Haute Guyenne
12200 Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Calculate my route
  • Elevator
  • Parking lot
  • Private shower room
  • Meeting room
  • Access for disabled
  • Garage
  • Terrace
  • River
  • Sauna
  • Gym
  • Pet Friendly
  • Shops
  • Bar / refreshment bar
  • Seminar
  • Air conditioner
  • Cable / Satellite
  • Television
  • family room
  • Wi-Fi / Internet

Day 3: hike to Najac – 22.5 km.

Along the way, you can see…

De Villefranche à Monteils, Aveyron river makes its way through the plain then cuts a passage in the shale up to Najac. It is a vigorous, wild landscape, drowned in the greenery. On the slopes of gorges of the Aveyron in Najac, the chestnut tree is king.

Monteils, a bucolic village located at the entrance to the Aveyron gorges (XNUMXth century church, washhouse). This is the longest stage of the circuit.

Picnic possible in Monteils (grocery store and bakery on site).

For the night…

Spend the night in one of the village guesthouses and enjoy a meal on the terrace. In summer, take advantage of the Wednesday evening night market to taste local products.

Day 4: end of stay in Najac.

After your night in Najac, take the time to visit this “most beautiful village in France”. Walk up the long main street to discover the Governor's House, architecture and heritage interpretation center then complete your journey by visiting the Najac fortress. From the top of its keep, enjoy the view of the Aveyron gorges.


Camino de Santiago: travel by train

A good alternative to the car: the train. More ecological and more practical when roaming!

  • Arrive by train at Salles-Courbatiès train station. Depending on your arrival time, you can choose to leave by hiking on the GR62B toward Villeneuve d'Aveyron or make an appointment with your evening host, who will meet you at the station and take you to Villeneuve d'Aveyron.
  • Take the train from the Najac train station or by car if you had left it parked in Najac on the day of your arrival. Allow at least 20 minutes on foot between the center of the village and the station.

First direct train to Toulouse at 6:55 on Monday morning. Last direct train to Toulouse at 19:00 p.m. on Monday evening. Journey time: 1h30.

Ways of Compostela in France

Two of the accommodations on this circuit are labeled " National hosting charter for accommodation providers on the Compostela routes”; they are committed to developing a quality welcome on the way.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

De Salles-Courbatiès à Najac en passant par Villeneuve d’Aveyron et Villefranche de Rouergue, randonnez sur le célèbre chemin de Saint Jacques de Compostelle. Vous traverserez de charmants villages où convivialité et hospitalité se côtoient.

4 jours, 3 nuits

Trois jours de randonnée en itinérance et en liberté entre Salles-Courbatiès et Najac

Difficulté ** Confort **

Étape
1/4

Jour 1 : de Salles-Courbatiès à Villeneuve – 7,5 km.

Jour 1 : de Salles-Courbatiès à Villeneuve – 7,5 km.

En chemin, vous pourrez voir…

Cette étape du chemin de Compostelle vous fera traverser le marais de Montaris, espace naturel sensible. La rivière de « La Diège » y prend sa source. Vous pourrez y observer une faune sauvage variée : héron cendré, poule-d’eau, canard colvert… Vous traverserez ensuite le causse : domaine des moutons, des cazelles, des dolmens…

Arrivée à Villeneuve d’Aveyron, fondée au milieu du XIème siècle autour d’un monastère et successivement sauveté, bastide comtale, puis bastide royale à la fin du XIIIème : petites ruelles, passages voûtés, portes ogivales, tours de défense, maisons bourgeoises… L’église est un bel édifice, mélange de roman et de gothique. Dans le chapelle Nord de l’église romane, ne manquez pas d’admirer les peintures murales, datant du début du XIVe siècle, qui représentent la légende du pendu/dépendu.

Il sera également possible de visiter la Maison de la photo Jean-Marie Périer où se trouve une exposition permanente dans une magnifique bâtisse du XIIIe siècle : sept salles d’exposition présentant 185 tirages encadrés des vedettes de la musique française, anglaise et américaine des années 60…

Pour la nuit…

Passez la nuit dans un très beau gîte d’étape avec chambre et salle de bain privative à La Maison des Pèlerins au cœur du village médiévale de Villeneuve d’Aveyron.
Pour votre repas du soir, vous trouverez plusieurs offres de restauration à proximité : restaurant traditionnel, brasserie ou bien à emporter…

Réservez votre chambre

Fermé

La Maison des Pèlerins

Place de l'église
12260 Villeneuve
Calculer mon itinéraire
  • Cuisine – Gestion libre
  • Accueil des cyclistes
  • Portage des bagages
  • Location de linge
  • Wifi / Internet
  • Lit bébé

Jour 2 : randonnée vers Villefranche de Rouergue – 14 km.

En chemin, vous pourrez voir…

Après le petit-déjeuner au gite, poursuite de la randonnée sur le chemin de Saint Jacques via le GR62B. C’est à l’automne et au printemps, dans les chemins creux bordés de murs que vous découvrirez le Causse, sa lumière mystérieuse, ses subtils camaïeux, ses parfums… dans les champs non cultivés, au bord même de votre chemin poussent des orchidées. Rien de géant : elles mesurent entre 10 et 30 cm…

Les Conteurs

Visite de la bastide de Villefranche de Rouergue et de ses monuments

Selon votre heure d’arrivée à Villefranche de Rouergue et en fonction des heures d’ouverture des différents lieux vous aurez le choix entre plusieurs visites. Profitez-en ! Nous vous proposons trois visites incontournables : la Bastide royale (centre ancien de Villefranche de Rouergue, guidée ou audioguidée selon la saison), la chapelle baroque des Pénitents Noirs et l’ancien monastère de la Chartreuse Saint-Sauveur du XVème.

Profitez au maximum de la ville et de ses autres monuments dont l’accès est gratuit : la Collégiale Notre Dame et ses stalles historiées et son imposant clocher-porche d’une hauteur de 58 m, la Chapelle moderne Emilie De Rodat… Peut-être, préférerez-vous une exposition temporaire ? Rendez-vous à l’Atelier Blanc, espace d’art contemporain situé au cœur d’un jardin au bord de l’Aveyron…

Pour la nuit…

Votre étape de ce soir : un hôtel 3***, contemporain et design : Les Fleurines.
Pour le dîner, restaurant gastronomique, traditionnel ou une brasserie du centre ville, plusieurs options s’offrent à vous.

Réservez votre chambre

Les Fleurines

17 boulevard Haute Guyenne
12200 Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Calculer mon itinéraire
  • Ascenseur
  • Parking
  • Salle d'eau privée
  • Salle de réunion
  • Accès handicapés
  • Garage
  • Terrasse
  • Rivière
  • Sauna
  • Salle de sport
  • Animaux acceptés
  • Commerces
  • Bar / buvette
  • Séminaire
  • Climatisation
  • Câble / Satellite
  • Télévision
  • Chambre familiale
  • Wifi / Internet

Jour 3 : randonnée vers Najac – 22.5 km.

En chemin, vous pourrez voir…

De Villefranche à Monteils, la rivière Aveyron se fraie un chemin à travers la plaine puis taille un passage dans les schistes jusqu’à Najac. C’est un paysage vigoureux, sauvage, noyé dans la verdure. Sur les versants des gorges de l’Aveyron à Najac, le châtaignier est roi.

Monteils, village bucolique situé à l’entrée des gorges de l’Aveyron (église du XVIème siècle, lavoir). C’est l’étape la plus longue du circuit.

Pique-nique possible à Monteils (épicerie et boulangerie sur place).

Pour la nuit…

Passez la nuit dans l’une des chambres d’hôtes du village et profitez d’un repas en terrasse. En été, profitez du marché nocturne du mercredi soir pour déguster des produits locaux.

Jour 4 : fin de séjour à Najac.

Après votre nuit à Najac, prenez le temps de visiter ce « plus beau village de France ». Remontez la longue rue principale pour découvrir la Maison du Gouverneur, centre d’interprétation de l’architecture et du patrimoine puis achevez votre périple par la visite de la forteresse de Najac. Du sommet de son donjon, appréciez la vue sur les gorges de l’Aveyron.


Chemin de Compostelle : voyagez en train

Une bonne alternative à la voiture : le train. Plus écologique et plus pratique quand on fait de l’itinérance !

  • Arrivez en train à la gare SNCF de Salles-Courbatiès. Selon votre heure d’arrivée, vous pourrez au choix, partir en randonnée sur le GR62B vers Villeneuve d’Aveyron ou bien prendre rendez-vous avec votre hôte du soir, qui vous accueillera à la gare et vous conduira jusqu’à Villeneuve d’Aveyron.
  • Repartez en train depuis la gare SNCF de Najac ou bien en voiture si vous l’aviez laissé garée à Najac le jour de votre arrivée. Prévoir minimum 20 minutes de marche entre le centre du village et la gare.

Premier train direct vers Toulouse à 6h55 le lundi matin. Dernier train direct vers Toulouse à 19h00 le lundi soir. Durée du trajet: 1h30.

Chemins de Compostelle en France

Deux des hébergements de ce circuit sont labellisés « Charte d’accueil nationale des hébergeurs des chemins de Compostelle »; ils s’engagent à développer un accueil de qualité sur le chemin.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu