Enjoy a stay in the heart of the Bastides and Gorges of Aveyron, Grand Site Occitanie Sud de France. On quiet paths combining history and wild landscapes, passing through the medieval towns of Villefranche de Rouergue, Caylus, Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val and Najac. A beautiful hike that combines gastronomy, heritage, varied and wild landscapes.

8 days, 7 nights from 840€/person

6 days of roaming and self-guided hiking

Difficulty **

Stay organized by the Balaguere

The detailed program

Day 1: arrival in Villefranche de Rouergue

You can arrive by car by train in Villefranche de Rouergue. Reception from 16:00 p.m. at your first accommodation. The precise topoguide of your hike will be given to you there.
Villefranche-de-Rouergue, Bastide du Rouergue, endowed with a rich architectural heritage, is located at the confluence of two rivers: the Aveyron and the Alzou. You can start using the PASS Bastide offered by the tourist office; it includes 3 visits including the visit of the Royal Bastide, baroque chapel of the Black Penitents, the old one Chartreuse Saint-Sauveur monastery of the XVth century. You can also take advantage of these visits at the end of your stay.

Your stage this evening is a bed and breakfast, comfortable and calm, or according to your choice a hotel, contemporary and design. You will dine in one of the restaurants in the city center.

What is a bastide?

Several clues are hidden in this photo of Villefranche…
Read more

Day 2: Villefranche de Rouergue – Parisot (20 or 22 km)

Departure from Villefranche de Rouergue along the banks of the Le Malpas stream, then the banks of the Assou stream which will take you to the castel mill of the XNUMXth century (one of the last horizontal wheel mills still in operation), then until La rouquette. This village was grouped around a castle of which only a round tower remains. The church built in the XNUMXth century on the other bank of the stream has a small porch and a bell tower. You will then leave the Assou valley to change landscapes by heading towards a territory of moors and dry grasslands where it is not uncommon to see orchids in the spring. You will travel along a ridge at an altitude of 400 meters allowing you to observe the surrounding countryside before descending towards Cambayrac and Parisot.

Dinner and night in a charming bed and breakfast with swimming pool near Parisot.

Day 3: Parisot – Caylus (19 km)

Departure to Parisot where Jean de la Valette was born, Grand Master of the Knights of Malta, who will give his name to the capital of the island of Malta: Lavalette. Very nice stretch that takes you to Caylus passing by Loze, Lacapelle Livron which was created around a commandery of Templars, the Chapel of Our Lady of Grace and by bonnet valley. Superb views on arrival in Caylus.

Your stage for tonight is a bed and breakfast with swimming pool near Caylus, you will dine at the excellent table d'hôte.

Day 4: Caylus – Saint Antonin Noble Val (14,5 km)

After breakfast, departure to St Antonin Noble Val, through the woods, sometimes along the Gourgue rivers or Windscreen, you will discover the causse and its little heritage of dovecotes, fountains, gariottes, crosses… to Saint Antonin Noble Val, a XNUMXth century city, you will admire the old Town Hall, the oldest French monument of civil architecture. The drapers, who traded with the whole of Europe, were the richest and most influential traders there.

You will be welcomed in a bed and breakfast in Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val. Depending on the day of the week, you will eat at the table d'hôtes or in one of the restaurants in the village.

Saint Antonin Noble Val
The Storytellers

Saint Antonin Noble Val

A village of character to discover in the heart of the Aveyron gorges

Read more

Day 5: day in the heart of the “Gorges de l’Aveyron” wilderness center in Saint Antonin Noble Val

This day is free and you can program it according to your wishes. A few suggestions:

  • A hike in the heart of the Gorges de l'Aveyron with viewpoints over the Aveyron river and the limestone cliffs…
  • A refreshing break in the river
  • A descent into canoe Kayak from St Antonin Noble-Val to Cazals
  • A ride in bike that you can rent on site to get to the penne fortress and discover Bruniquel one of the "Most Beautiful Villages of France"

Night in Laguépie, in a guesthouse, homestay and dinner (table d'hôtes or traditional restaurant depending on the season and the day of the week).

Day 6: Laguépie – Najac (14 km)

Very wild hike towards Najac ranked among The most beautiful villages in France. The beginning will be very easy! You will walk along the banks of the Aveyron before sinking into the wild gorges. You will then go up to Mergieux, a former holiday village which now houses bubbles nestled in the heart of nature. You will cross a forest of Douglas firs. At Bastit, a photo stop is a must: you will have a superb view of the whole village of Najac which stretches over its rocky outcrop more than 1 km long.
You will then descend through the undergrowth to the Saint-Blaise bridge, a historic monument from the XNUMXth century. This bridge on the back of a donkey allowed merchants and pilgrims to cross the Aveyron in all seasons.
You can stop there for a swim before going back up to the village of Najac. Your first stop will be at The Church of Saint John the Evangelist that you can visit before going to the royal fortress (included in the stay). The dungeon will offer you a breathtaking view of the town overlooking the river in a grandiose site: meanders on one side, sandstone cornice on the other, rocky ridge...

Night in Najac, choice of bed and breakfast or hotel and dinner with a master restaurateur.

D. Viet – CRTL Occitanie

Built by the Counts of Toulouse on an old fortified castle from the XNUMXth century, the fortress of Najac remains a witness to the military architectural genius of the Middle Ages.

Its extraordinary defensive power is highlighted by a large scale model. The dungeon houses 6,80 meter archers… the highest in the world!

Day 7: Najac – Villefranche

On the program for this day you reach Villefranche de Rouergue by taking the GR 36 which is nothing but a stage of Way of St Jacques de Compostela, on the variant from Conques to Toulouse. The “Rouergue fault” has reflected in the vegetation the difference in the nature of the land: Causse or Ségala. From chestnut woods to sunken paths lined with dogwood trees. You will cross Monteils, a charming village on the banks of the Aveyron, calm and flowery. 23 km and 100 meters of elevation gain.

In Villefranche, night in a comfortable and quiet bed and breakfast. You will dine in a restaurant in the city.

Day 8: day of departure

The breakfast is copious: bread, cakes and sometimes the jams are homemade... It ends your stay!

During your stay, we offer you

In Villefranche de Rouergue:

  • the entrance ticket for the visit of the Chartreuse St Sauveur, monastery of the XNUMXth century, a masterpiece of flamboyant Gothic. On the one hand, it is exceptionally well preserved and on the other hand it is the largest visitable cloister in France.
  • the entrance ticket for the visit of the Chapelle des Pénitents Noirs, a Baroque chapel from the XNUMXth century which has preserved a remarkable ornate wooden vaulting
  • the ticket for the visit of the Bastide Royale (old center) of Villefranche de Rouergue with a guide speaker depending on the dates, or with an audio-guide (available in French or in English)

In Najac:

  • the entrance ticket for the visit of the Royal Fortress of Najac
  • the entrance ticket for the visit of the Governor's House in Najac

In Villeneuve d'Aveyron:

  • a voucher for a reduced price at the Maison de la photo Jean-Marie Périer

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Profitez d’un séjour au cœur des Bastides et Gorges de l’Aveyron, Grand Site Occitanie Sud de France. Sur des sentiers tranquilles alliant Histoire et paysages sauvages, en passant par les cités médiévales de Villefranche de Rouergue, Caylus, Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val et Najac. Une belle randonnée qui allie gastronomie, patrimoine, paysages variés et sauvages.

8 jours, 7 nuits à partir de 840€/personne

6 jours de randonnée à pied en itinérance et en liberté

Difficulté **

Séjour organisé par la Balaguère

Le programme détaillé

Jour 1 : arrivée à Villefranche de Rouergue

Vous pourrez arriver en voiture en train à Villefranche de Rouergue. Accueil à partir de 16h00 à votre premier hébergement. Le topoguide précis de votre randonnée vous y sera remis.
Villefranche de Rouergue, Bastide du Rouergue, dotée d’un riche patrimoine architectural est située au confluent de deux rivières : l’Aveyron et l’Alzou. Vous pourrez commencer à utiliser le PASS Bastide offert par l’office de tourisme; il comprend 3 visites dont la visite de la Bastide royale, la chapelle baroque des Pénitents Noirs, l’ancien monastère de la Chartreuse Saint-Sauveur du XVème siècle. Vous pourrez aussi profiter de ces visites à la fin de votre séjour.

Votre étape de ce soir est une chambre d’hôtes, confortable et calme, ou bien selon votre choix un hôtel, contemporain et design. Vous dînerez dans l’un des restaurants du centre-ville.

Qu’est-ce qu’une bastide ?

Plusieurs indices se cachent dans cette photo de Villefranche…
En savoir plus

Jour 2 : Villefranche de Rouergue – Parisot (20 ou 22 km)

Départ de Villefranche de Rouergue en longeant les rives du ruisseau Le Malpas, puis les rives du ruisseau l’Assou qui vous mèneront au moulin de Castel du XVIIe siècle (l’un de derniers moulins à roue horizontale encore en fonctionnement), puis jusqu’à La Rouquette. Ce village était groupé autour d’un château dont il ne reste qu’une tour ronde. L’église construite au XIVème siècle sur l’autre rive du ruisseau comporte un petit porche et un clocher peigne. Vous quitterez ensuite la vallée de l’Assou pour changer de paysages en vous dirigeant vers un territoire de landes et de pelouses sèches où il n’est pas rare de voir des orchidées au printemps. Vous circulerez le long d’une crête à 400 mètres d’altitude permettant d’observer la campagne environnante avant de redescendre vers Cambayrac et Parisot.

Dîner et nuit dans une charmante chambre d’hôtes avec piscine proche de Parisot.

Jour 3 : Parisot – Caylus (19 km)

Départ vers Parisot où naquit Jean de la Valette, Grand Maître des Chevaliers de Malte, qui donnera son nom à la capitale de l’île de Malte : Lavalette. Très beau tronçon qui vous mène jusqu’à Caylus en passant par Loze, Lacapelle Livron qui s’est créé autour d’une commanderie de Templiers, la Chapelle de Notre Dame de Grâce et par la vallée de la Bonnette. Superbes points de vue à l’arrivée sur Caylus.

Votre étape de ce soir est une chambre d’hôte avec piscine proche de Caylus, vous dînerez à l’excellente table d’hôte.

Jour 4 : Caylus – Saint Antonin Noble Val (14,5 km)

Après le petit-déjeuner, départ vers St Antonin Noble Val, à travers bois, en longeant parfois les rivières de la Gourgue ou de la Bonnette, vous découvrirez le causse et son petit patrimoine de pigeonniers, fontaines, gariottes, croix… jusqu’à Saint Antonin Noble Val cité du XIIe siècle, vous admirerez l’ancien Hôtel de Ville, le plus ancien monument français d’architecture civile. Les drapiers, qui commerçaient avec l’Europe entière y étaient les commerçants les plus riches et les plus influents.

Vous serez accueillis dans une chambre d’hôtes à Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val. Selon le jour de la semaine, vous mangerez à la table d’hôtes ou bien dans l’un des restaurants du village.

Saint Antonin Noble Val
Les Conteurs

Saint Antonin Noble Val

Un village de caractère à découvrir au cœur des gorges de l’Aveyron

En savoir plus

Jour 5 : journée au cœur du pôle de pleine nature « Gorges de l’Aveyron » à Saint Antonin Noble Val

Cette journée est libre et vous pourrez la programmer selon vos envies. Quelques suggestions :

  • Une randonnée au cœur des Gorges de l’Aveyron avec des points de vue sur la rivière Aveyron et les falaises calcaires…
  • Une pause rafraîchissante dans la rivière
  • Une descente en canoë-kayak de St Antonin Noble-Val jusqu’à Cazals
  • Une balade en vélo que vous pourrez louer sur place pour vous rendre rendre jusqu’à la forteresse de Penne et découvrir Bruniquel l’un des « Plus Beaux Villages de France »

Nuit à Laguépie, en chambre d’hôtes, chez l’habitant et dîner (table d’hôtes ou restaurant traditionnel selon la saison et le jour de la semaine).

Jour 6 : Laguépie – Najac (14 km)

Randonnée très sauvage en direction de Najac classé parmi Les plus beaux villages de France. Le début sera très facile ! Vous longerez les berges de l’Aveyron avant de vous enfoncer dans les gorges sauvages. Vous remonterez ensuite vers Mergieux, ancien village vacances qui héberge aujourd’hui des bulles nichées en plein cœur de la nature. Vous traverserez une forêt domaniale de pins douglas. Au Bastit, un arrêt photo s’imposera : vous y aurez un superbe point de vue sur l’ensemble du village de Najac qui s’étire sur son éperon rocheux de plus d’1 km de long.
Vous descendrez ensuite en sous-bois jusqu’au pont Saint-Blaise, monument historique du XIIIe siècle. Ce pont à dos d’âne permettait aux marchands, ainsi qu’aux pèlerins de franchir l’Aveyron en toute saison.
Vous pourrez y faire un arrêt baignade avant de remonter vers le village de Najac. Votre premier arrêt se fera à L’Église Saint-Jean l’Evangéliste que vous pourrez visiter avant de vous rendre à la forteresse royale (inclus dans le séjour). Le donjon vous offrira une vue imprenable sur le bourg surplombant la rivière dans un site grandiose : méandres d’un côté, corniche de grès de l’autre, arête rocheuse…

Nuit à Najac, au choix, chambre d’hôtes ou hôtel et dîner chez un maître-restaurateur.

D.Viet – CRTL Occitanie

Bâtie par les Comtes de Toulouse sur un ancien château fort du XIIème siècle, la forteresse de Najac reste un témoin du génie architectural militaire du Moyen-Age.

Son extraordinaire puissance défensive est mise en évidence par une grande maquette. Le donjon abrite des archères de 6,80 mètres… les plus hautes du monde !

Jour 7 : Najac – Villefranche

Au programme de cette journée vous rejoignez Villefranche de Rouergue en empruntant le GR 36 qui n’est autre qu’une étape du Chemin de St Jacques de Compostelle, sur la variante de Conques à Toulouse. La « faille du Rouergue » a répercuté dans la végétation la différence de nature des terrains : Causse ou Ségala. Des bois de châtaigniers aux chemins creux bordés de cornouillers. Vous traverserez Monteils, charmant village au bord de l’Aveyron, calme et fleuri. 23 km et 100 mètres de dénivelé.

A Villefranche, nuit dans une chambre d’hôtes confortable et calme. Vous dînerez dans un restaurant de la ville.

Jour 8 : jour du départ

Le petit-déjeuner est copieux : pain, gâteaux et parfois les confitures sont faites maison… Il clôture votre séjour !

Pendant votre séjour, nous vous offrons

A Villefranche de Rouergue :

  • le billet d’entrée pour la visite de la Chartreuse St Sauveur, monastère du XVe siècle, chef d’œuvre du gothique flamboyant. D’une part, il est exceptionnellement bien conservé et d’autre part il s’agit du plus grand cloître visitable de France
  • le billet d’entrée pour la visite de la Chapelle des Pénitents Noirs, chapelle baroque du XVIIe siècle qui a conservé un remarquable voûtement en bois orné
  • le billet pour la visite de la Bastide Royale (centre ancien) de Villefranche de Rouergue avec un guide conférencier selon les dates, ou bien avec un audio-guide (disponible en français ou en anglais)

A Najac :

  • le billet d’entrée pour la visite de la Forteresse Royale de Najac
  • le billet d’entrée pour la visite de la Maison du Gouverneur à Najac

A Villeneuve d’Aveyron :

  • un bon pour un tarif réduit à la Maison de la photo Jean-Marie Périer

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu