Head west of Aveyron to explore the bastide town of Villefranche-de-Rouergue. Walk the squared streets of its historic center and immerse yourself in several centuries of history.

Located along a geological fault separating the Causse from Ségala, the bastide town of Villefranche-de-Rouergue has retained much of its identity. Its ground plan with straight streets organized around a central square lined with arcades conceals monuments listed and classified quite remarkable.

A strategic foundation

In 1252, Alfonso of Poitiers, brother of Saint Louis, decided to build on the right bank of the Aveyron a country house in order to establish royal authority in the region after the crusade against the Albigensians.
Thus, he benefited from the richness of the surrounding soils to diversify livestock and agricultural production, exploit silver and copper from nearby mines and utiliser

the river to develop trade and a craft activity.
To encourage people to join the bastide, the sovereign authority offered privileges to new inhabitants, through land donations and exemption from certain taxes. The latter received an ayral to build their house, a cazal to cultivate and were freed from the granting and the tonlieu.

A prolific management 

Very quickly, the Villefranchoise population numbered more than 5 inhabitants. Many of them made a fortune by working with meat, fabrics, wood, skins, silver, copper… More than 000 goldsmiths worked in the bastide at the start of the 60th century.

To meet their needs, four consuls elected by direct suffrage managed political, judicial, social and economic affairs. The latter collected the tax and quickly developed three weekly markets as well as four large annual fairs. It is said that everything was sold there and that people came from afar to buy and sell there. This is why certain buildings in the bastide are imbued with Italy, Spain and even Norway.

Exceptional architecture

Most of the streets in the old town are lined with half-timbered houses and stone. Some of them are classified as Historical monuments, such as the Combettes, Gaubert, Armand houses as well as the Dardenne house. These have quite elegant sculpted decoration from the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries, testifying to the wealth of the city at the junction of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Among the emblematic elements of the heritage architectural villefranchois,

we can cite the bridge and the Fountain of the Consuls, built at the beginning of the XNUMXth century, the Notre Dame collegiate church, marvel of the Gothic periods with its bell tower culminating at 58 meters in height, the chapel of Saint-Jacques, witness to the importance of pilgrimage in the city, the Chapel of the Black Penitents, a jewel of Baroque art, and the Chartreuse Saint-Sauveur, a masterpiece of flamboyant art, on the other side of the river. 


How to visit the bastide?

Do you want to discover the bastide? Several options are available to you :

  • Follow our tour guides on a guided tour of the historic center of Villefranche.
  • Get a visit plan from the tourist office and explore every corner of the bastide.
  • Let yourself be carried away by the audio guide through the streets of Villefranche.

The bastide town of Villefranche with the family

  • For children aged 6 to 12, pick up the Mystery of the Spice Merchant game booklet at the tourist office reception. Free.
  • For teenagers, ask for the Little Murder in a Bastide booklet and lead the investigation in the streets of the bastide. 3€.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Direction l’ouest de l’Aveyron pour explorer la bastide de Villefranche-de-Rouergue. Arpentez les rues quadrillées de son centre historique et plongez-vous dans plusieurs siècles d’Histoire.

Située le long d’une faille géologique séparant le Causse du Ségala, la bastide de Villefranche-de-Rouergue a su conserver une grande partie de son identité. Son plan au sol avec des rues droites organisées autour d’une place centrale bordée d’arcades recèle de monuments inscrits et classés tout à fait remarquables.

Une fondation stratégique

En 1252, Alphonse de Poitiers, frère de saint Louis, décida d’édifier sur la rive droite de l’Aveyron une bastide afin d’asseoir l’autorité royale dans la région au lendemain de la croisade contre les Albigeois.
Ainsi, il bénéficia de la richesse des sols alentours pour diversifier l’élevage et les productions agricoles, exploiter l’argent et le cuivre des mines de proximité et utiliser

la rivière pour développer le commerce et une activité artisanale.
Pour inciter les populations à rejoindre la bastide, l’autorité souveraine offrit des privilèges aux nouveaux habitants, par le biais de dons de terres et l’exonération de certains impôts. Ces derniers recevaient un ayral pour édifier leur maison, un cazal pour cultiver et étaient affranchis de l’octroi et du tonlieu.

Une gestion prolifique 

Très rapidement, la population villefranchoise compta plus de 5 000 habitants. Nombre d’entre eux firent fortune grâce au travail de la viande, des tissus, du bois, des peaux, de l’argent, du cuivre… Plus de 60 orfèvres œuvraient dans la bastide au début du XVIe siècle.

Pour satisfaire à leurs besoins, quatre consuls élus au suffrage direct géraient les affaires politiques, judiciaires, sociales et économiques. Ces derniers récoltaient l’impôt et développèrent rapidement trois marchés hebdomadaires ainsi que quatre grandes foires annuelles. On raconte qu’on y vendait de tout et que l’on venait de loin pour y acheter et vendre. Voici pourquoi certains édifices de la bastide sont empreints d’Italie, d’Espagne et même de Norvège.

Une architecture exceptionnelle

La plupart des rues de la vieille-ville sont bordées de maisons à pans de bois et en pierre de taille. Certaines d’entre elles sont classées au titre des Monuments Historiques, comme les maisons Combettes, Gaubert, Armand ainsi que la maison Dardenne. Celles-ci comportent un décor sculpté des XVe et XVIe siècles assez élégant, témoignant de la richesse de la ville à la jonction du Moyen Age et de la Renaissance. Parmi les éléments emblématiques du patrimoine architectural villefranchois,

on peut citer le pont et la fontaine des Consuls, édifiés au début du XIVe siècle, la collégiale Notre-Dame, merveille des périodes gothiques avec son clocher culminant à 58 mètres de hauteur, la chapelle Saint-Jacques, témoin de l’importance du pèlerinage dans la cité, la chapelle des Pénitents Noirs, joyau de l’art baroque, et la chartreuse Saint-Sauveur, chef d’œuvre de l’art flamboyant, de l’autre côté de la rivière. 


Comment visiter la bastide ?

Vous envie de découvrir la bastide ? Plusieurs possibilités s’offrent à vous :

  • Suivez nos guides conférenciers lors d’une visite accompagnée du centre historique de Villefranche.
  • Retirez un plan de visite à l’office de tourisme et explorez tous les recoins de la bastide.
  • Laissez-vous porter par l’audioguide au fil des rues de Villefranche.

La bastide de Villefranche en famille

  • Pour les enfants de 6 à 12 ans, retirez le livret-jeu Le Mystère du marchand d’épice à l’accueil de l’office de tourisme. Gratuit.
  • Pour les ados, demandez le livret Petit meurtre en bastide et menez l’enquête dans les rues de la bastide. 3€.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu