In the heart of the village of Villeneuve d'Aveyron, discover a remarkable monument, the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. Do not miss to observe its XNUMXth century murals.

The Storytellers

Villeneuve church, a remarkable monument

Changes and additions over the centuries have not altered the sober elegance of its architecture : the quality of the material used explains this success. Its octagonal bell tower, from the XNUMXth century, dominates the roofs of the Rescued.

The clock tower, also built at the end of the XNUMXth century, lower, completes the building. For centuries, pastoral life was punctuated by the bells and carillon of the tower. All around Villeneuve, wherever you are on the Causse, you can see the spire of the bell tower, added in the XNUMXth century, and the Saint Michel tower which serve as a landmark.


Romanesque church

The plan of the Church of the Holy Sepulcher of Villeneuve is that of the basilica of Jerusalem built around the tomb of Christ in the XNUMXth century: a circular portico, around the tomb and four apses oriented towards the four cardinal points.

The entrance porch, to the west, is surmounted by a semicircular arch and has no tympanum. As soon as one enters the narthex, a vestibule reserved for foreigners to the monastery, the plan of the original church is clearly visible. Two apses revolve around a ribbed dome, supported by four massive columns. The chapel, on the north side, is that of the Holy Sepulcher which will later be decorated with paintings in the XNUMXth century.

On the south side, the chapel of the dead opened onto the cloister, now destroyed, and allowed the monks direct access to the offices. The last apse was destroyed to allow the extension of the church in the XNUMXth century. A gallery is located above the narthex.

J. Morel

gothic church

The Church of Saint-Pierre and Saint-Paul prolongs the primitive church. It is a long Gothic nave with a single span, in the Languedoc style. Its five-sided apse is lit by five large windows. The contemporary stained glass, luminous and sober, fit perfectly into the choir. They represent Christ surrounded by his two apostles, Peter and Paul, patron saints of the parish. In the choir, we notice the stalls, in napkin folds, from the XNUMXth century.

The Christ is also from the XNUMXth century. The altar, in gilded wood, is from the XNUMXth century. Six chapels, built for notables, are located on either side of the nave. Particularly noteworthy, in the Chapel of Our Lady of Mercy, a XNUMXth century entombment painted by the master Agar.


J. Morel

The murals – On the way to Santiago de Compostela

Since the beginning of the XNUMXth century, the Romanesque chapel of the Holy Sepulcher has been decorated with paintings inspired by the theme of pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela. They situate Villeneuve as a stopover on the way to Compostela.

At the top, in the center, the Christ in Majesty, sits on a throne and blesses with his right hand. His gesture is addressed to all and no faithful are represented. Christ is part of a Gothic mandorla and behind him, white buildings with ocher roofs simulate a city… Tiny angels, the symbols of the tetramorph are represented around Christ as well as the apostles, their heads encircled by a medallion.

Lower, but on several levels, scenes of pilgrimage. You have to follow them from left to right. We recognize the attributes of the "backgammons": the hat with raised edges, decorated with a shell and the staff, (the iron stick on which the pilgrim leans and which is used to defend him from brigands or wolves), a gourd , a purse, a leather satchel and, to face the bad weather, the cape.

At the median level, on either side of the Romanesque window, we discover the representation of a famous legend, widespread in Europe from the XNUMXth century: the miracle of the “hanged man”.

The Miracle of the Dependent Hangman

A couple of pilgrims were going to Compostela with their son, a handsome teenager. In Santo Domingo de la Calzada, they stopped at an inn. The servant fell in love with the handsome blond young man who rejected her advances. In revenge, she slipped a silver cup into her bag. On his denunciation, the innkeeper had the trio of pilgrims pursued.

The cup was actually found in the teenager's saddlebag, and he was condemned to be hanged. The unfortunate parents continued their pilgrimage. Returning from Compostela, they passed again at the foot of the gallows where their child had been hung. What was their wonder to discover him, still hanged, but very much alive! Saint Jacques had supported him during these fifteen days to spare him an unjust death!

The parents ran to the judge to tell him of the miracle and obtain the release of their innocent son. But the incredulous judge declared that he would only believe in the miracle if the poultry being roasted for his meal began to sing. Saint Jacques was not stingy with miracles to defend his young devotee: the fowl began to jump on the table and toss a loud croaking noise three times. Faced with the evidence of the miracle, the young man was exonerated, the servant seized and hanged. And the glory of Saint James was celebrated by all the pilgrims and this story spread throughout all of Christendom.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Au cœur du village de Villeneuve d’Aveyron, découvrez un monument remarquable, l’église du Saint-Sépulcre. Ne manquez pas d’observer ses peintures murales du XIVe siècle.

Les Conteurs

L’église de Villeneuve, un monument remarquable

Les modifications et les ajouts au cours des siècles n’ont pas altéré l’élégance sobre de son architecture : la qualité du matériau utilisé explique cette réussite. Son clocher octogonal, du XVe siècle, domine les toits de la Sauveté.

La tour de l’horloge, bâtie elle aussi à la fin du XVe siècle, moins élevée, complète l’édifice. Pendant des siècles, la vie pastorale a été rythmée par les cloches et le carillon de la tour. Tout autour de Villeneuve, où que l’on soit sur le Causse, on aperçoit la flèche du clocher, ajoutée au XIXe siècle et la tour Saint Michel qui servent de point de repère.


Église romane

Le plan de l’église du Saint-Sépulcre de Villeneuve est celui de la basilique de Jérusalem construite autour du tombeau du Christ au VIIe siècle : un portique circulaire, autour du tombeau et quatre absides orientées vers les quatre points cardinaux.

Le porche d’entrée, à l’ouest est surmonté d’un arc en pleine cintre et est dépourvu de tympan. Dès que l’on pénètre dans le narthex, vestibule réservé aux étrangers au monastère, le plan de l’église initiale est bien visible. Deux absides s’articulent autour d’une coupole nervurée, supportée par quatre colonnes massives. La chapelle, côté Nord, est celle du Saint-Sépulcre qui sera ultérieurement ornée de peintures au XIVe.

Côté Sud, la chapelle des morts s’ouvrait sur le cloître, aujourd’hui détruit, et permettait l‘accès direct des moines aux offices. La dernière abside a été détruite pour permettre l’extension de l’église au XIIIe siècle. Une tribune est située au-dessus du narthex.

J.Morel

Église gothique

L’Église Saint-Pierre et Saint-Paul prolonge l’église primitive. C’est une longue nef gothique à une seule travée, de style languedocien. Son chevet à cinq pans est éclairé par cinq grandes verrières. Les vitraux contemporains, lumineux et sobres, s’intègrent parfaitement au chœur. Ils représentent le Christ entouré de ses deux apôtres, Pierre et Paul, saints protecteurs de la paroisse. Dans le chœur, on remarque les stalles, en plis de serviettes, du XVe siècle.

Le Christ est lui aussi du XVe siècle. L’autel, en bois doré à la feuille, est du XVIIIe. Six chapelles, construites pour des notables, se situent de part et d’autre de la nef. On remarquera tout particulièrement, dans la chapelle de Notre-Dame de la Pitié, une mise au tombeau du XVIIe siècle peinte par le maître Agar.


J.Morel

Les peintures murales – Sur les chemins de Saint Jacques de Compostelle

Depuis le début du XIVe siècle, la chapelle romane du Saint-Sépulcre est ornée de peintures qui s’inspirent de la thématique du pèlerinage à Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. Elles situent Villeneuve comme une halte sur le chemin de Compostelle.

En haut, au centre, le Christ en majesté, est assis sur un trône et bénit de sa main droite. Son geste s’adresse à tous et aucun fidèle n’est représenté. Le Christ s’inscrit dans une mandorle gothique et derrière lui, des édifices blancs aux toits ocres simulent une ville… Des anges minuscules, les symboles du tétramorphe sont représentés autour du Christ ainsi que les apôtres, la tête cerclée d’un médaillon.

Plus bas, mais sur plusieurs niveaux, des scènes de pèlerinage. Il faut les suivre de gauche à droite. On reconnaît les attributs des « jacquets » : le chapeau à bords relevés, orné d’une coquille et le bourdon, (le bâton ferré sur lequel s’appuie le pèlerin et qui sert à le défendre des brigands ou des loups), une gourde, une escarcelle, une besace de cuir et, pour affronter le mauvais temps, la pèlerine.

Au niveau médian, de part et d’autre de la fenêtre romane, on découvre la représentation d’une légende célèbre, répandue en Europe dès le XIIe siècle : le miracle du « pendu dépendu ».

Le miracle du pendu dépendu

Un couple de pèlerins se rendait à Compostelle avec leur fils, un bel adolescent. A Santo Domingo de la Calzada, ils firent halte dans une auberge. La servante s’éprit du beau jeune homme blond qui repoussa ses avances. Pour se venger, elle glissa une tasse d’argent dans sa besace. Sur sa dénonciation, l’aubergiste fit poursuivre le trio de pèlerins.

On découvrit effectivement la tasse dans la besace de l’adolescent qui fut condamné à être pendu. Les malheureux parents poursuivirent leur pèlerinage. De retour de Compostelle, ils passèrent à nouveau au pied du gibet où l’on avait pendu leur enfant. Quel ne fut pas leur émerveillement de le découvrir, toujours pendu, mais bien vivant! Saint Jacques l’avait soutenu durant ces quinze jours pour lui épargner une mort injuste !

Les parents coururent chez le juge pour lui annoncer le miracle et obtenir la libération de leur fils innocent. Mais le juge incrédule déclara qu’il ne croirait au miracle que si la volaille en train de rôtir pour son repas se mettait à chanter. Saint Jacques ne fut pas avare de miracles pour défendre son jeune dévot: la volaille se mit à sauter sur la table et à lancer par trois fois un sonore cocorico. Devant l’évidence du miracle, le jeune homme fut innocenté, la servante saisie et pendue. Et la gloire de Saint -Jacques fut célébrée par tous les pèlerins  et ce récit se répandit à travers toute la chrétienté.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu