All roads lead to Santiago de Compostela! After a bit of training, try the adventure departing from Villefranche de Rouergue and explore the landscapes of the Aveyron gorges.

1 years of pilgrimage in Rouergue

In the XNUMXth century, the pilgrim's guide by Aymery Picaud described four symbolic routes that crisscrossed France today to lead pilgrims to Santiago de Compostela. All along the medieval roads, pilgrims meditated near a crowd of relics. The Rouergue did not escape these devotions to cure the evils of everyday life, nor the passage of pilgrims. With them also circulated ideas, artistic forms...

Between Conques and Toulouse, a connecting path between the Puy-en-Velay road (called Via Podiensis and today the GR®65) and that of Arles (called Via Tolosana, today the GR®653) allows the movement of walkers and pilgrims between the mountains of Rouergue and the plain of the Garonne. Aubin, Peyrusse-le-Roc, then Villeneuve mark out this medieval axis of circulation. In Villeneuve, they can admire, in the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, the edifying testimony of the murals recounting the miracle of the “hanged man” attributed to Saint Jacques.

At Villefranche de Rouergue, the brotherhood of pilgrims offered them board and lodging in the hospital adjoining the chapel of Saint-Jacques. The trip continues towards the south, through Najac, Cordes, and the Tarn valley which leads to the Toulouse region.

In Rabastens, the Notre Dame du Bourg church preserves a set of paintings which testify to the deep devotion to Saint Jacques present along this route. As such, along with the Sainte-Foy abbey in Conques and the Saint-Sernin basilica in Toulouse, it is inscribed on the World Heritage List as part of the cultural property “Roads to Santiago de Compostela in France”. This pedestrian and cultural route is signposted as a GR®62b, 36 and 46 long-distance hiking trail. It is nearly 200 kilometers and passable in 10 days.


Walk the Camino de Santiago
of Compostela

pilgrim-sacados-stjacques Jerome_Morel
Jerome_Morel

From Conques to Toulouse

Conques (12) to Cransac (12) 24,4 km
Cransac (12) to Peyrusse-le-Roc (12) 21,5 km
Peyrusse-le-Roc (12) to Villeneuve d'Aveyron (12) 15.6 km
Villeneuve d'Aveyron (12) to Villefranche de Rouergue (12) 13.4 km
Villefranche de Rouergue (12) to Najac (12) 23.2 km
Najac (12) to Cordes (81) via Laguépie (82) 25,8 km

From Villefranche de Rouergue to Najac

Want to try the adventure? Travel along part of the GR36 between Villefranche de Rouergue and Najac. On your way, you will see:


Information to make the way

On your way, find all the accommodations and restaurants as well as the places to have your credentials stamped!


Have your credential stamped

In Villeneuve

  • at the tourist office

In Villefranche

  • at the tourist office
  • at the Chapel of the Black Penitents
  • at the Chartreuse St Sauveur
  • at the Collegiate

To Najac

  • at the tourist office
  • at the AAGAC leisure center

Other useful links for more information:

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Tous les chemins mènent à Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle ! Après un peu d’entrainement, tentez l’aventure au départ de Villefranche de Rouergue et arpentez les paysages des gorges de l’Aveyron.

1 000 ans de pèlerinage en Rouergue

Au XIIe siècle, le guide du pèlerin d’Aymery Picaud décrivait quatre voies symboliques qui sillonnaient la France d’aujourd’hui pour conduire les pèlerins à Saint-Jacques de Compostelle.  Tout au long des routes médiévales, des pèlerins se recueillaient auprès d’une foule de reliques. Le Rouergue n’échappait pas à ces dévotions pour soigner les maux du quotidien, ni au passage des pèlerins. Avec eux circulaient aussi des idées, des formes artistiques…

Entre Conques et Toulouse, un chemin de liaison entre la route du Puy-en-Velay (appelée Via Podiensis et aujourd’hui le GR®65) et celle d’Arles (appelée Via Tolosana, aujourd’hui le GR®653) permet la circulation des cheminants et pèlerins entre les montagnes du Rouergue et la plaine de la Garonne. Aubin, Peyrusse-le-Roc, puis Villeneuve jalonnent cet axe médiéval de circulation. A Villeneuve, ils peuvent admirer, dans l’église du Saint-Sépulcre, le témoignage édifiant des peintures murales relatant le miracle du « pendu-dépendu » attribué à saint Jacques.

A Villefranche de Rouergue, la confrérie des pèlerins leur offrait gîte et couvert dans l’hôpital attenant à la chapelle Saint-Jacques. Le voyage se prolonge vers le sud, par Najac, Cordes, et la vallée du Tarn qui débouche sur le pays toulousain.

A Rabastens, l’église Notre Dame du Bourg conserve un ensemble de peintures qui témoignent de la dévotion profonde à saint Jacques présente au long de cette voie. Elle est à ce titre, avec l’abbatiale Sainte-Foy à Conques et la basilique saint-Sernin à Toulouse, inscrite sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial dans le cadre du bien culturel « Chemins de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle en France ». Cet itinéraire pédestre et culturel est balisé comme sentier de Grande randonnée GR®62b, 36 et 46. Il est long de près de 200 kilomètres et praticable en 10 jours.


Parcourez le chemin de Saint-Jacques
de Compostelle

pelerin-sacados-stjacques Jerome_Morel
Jerome_Morel

De Conques à Toulouse

Conques (12) à Cransac (12) 24,4 km
Cransac (12) à Peyrusse-le-Roc (12) 21,5 km
Peyrusse-le-Roc (12) à Villeneuve d’Aveyron (12) 15.6 km
Villeneuve d’Aveyron (12) à Villefranche de Rouergue (12) 13.4 km
Villefranche de Rouergue (12) à Najac (12) 23.2 km
Najac (12) à Cordes (81) via Laguépie (82) 25,8 km

De Villefranche de Rouergue à Najac

Envie de tenter l’aventure ? Parcourez une partie du GR36 entre Villefranche de Rouergue et Najac. Sur votre chemin, vous verrez :


Informations pour faire le chemin

Sur votre chemin, retrouvez tous les hébergements et les restaurants ainsi que les lieux où faire tamponner votre crédenciale !


Faites tamponner votre Crédenciale

À Villeneuve

  • à l’Office de Tourisme

À Villefranche

  • à l’Office de Tourisme
  • à la Chapelle des Pénitents Noirs
  • à la Chartreuse St Sauveur
  • à la Collégiale

À Najac

  • à l’Office de Tourisme
  • à la base de loisirs AAGAC

Autres liens utiles pour en connaitre davantage :

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu