Important jacquaire halt, this city of character offers a Architectural Heritage exceptional. Criss-cross its labyrinthine rescue and squared bastide.

A step towards Santiago de Compostela

Located on the Conques-Toulouse route, Villeneuve d'Aveyron was once equipped with a hospital, a leper and several inns. Even today, many testimonials allow you to dive into the Middle Ages, at a time when pilgrims stopped and came across crowds of peasants, merchants and craftsmen.

The finest example of this listed heritage is theChurch of the Holy Sepulcher, an integral part of an originally larger monastic complex. At a time Romanesque and Gothic, it is a architectural masterpiece southern. One of its chapels houses polychrome frescoes dating from the fourteenth century. Dazzling, these feature a Christ in Majesty, a procession of backgammons and the astonishing legend of the Depended Hangman.

The city has two distinct districts: a labyrinthine rescue and squared bastide. As you stroll through Villeneuve, will you be able to identify them? We give you some clues...

A labyrinthine rescue

Lose yourself in the winding and irregular streets of the rescued, a maze of light stones that will charm you.

In the middle of the XNUMXth century, the local lord, Ozile de Morlhon, offered part of his Rouergue lands to the Patriarch of Jerusalem. Very quickly, a church bearing the name of the Holy Sepulcher was built there and a religious community came to settle there. Delimited by stone crosses, the territory of this rescued was under divine protection and it was strictly forbidden to bear arms there.

From then on, the rural populations grafted themselves all around, but in a rather disorderly way. So the first residence of Villeneuve-d'Aveyron was quite irregular, with streets going in all directions. This lack of clarity is today an advantage for the city since it is very pleasant to get lost in as he wanders.

A squared bastide

After your stroll through the stone maze, let yourself be surprised by the architectural rigor of the country house of Villeneuve d'Aveyron.

It was nearly two centuries after the founding of La Sauté that the Count of Toulouse, Raymond VII, built a bastide district to assert its authority in the region. Organized around the Place des Conques, like the other bastide in the west of the department, Villefranche-de-Rouergue, this new subdivision was endowed with a rectilinear plane in order to facilitate economic exchanges.

Its structure is delimited by two monumental doors, the Cardalhac tower and Soubirane Tower, perfect examples of military construction with their battlements, their stunners and their gun loops. These buildings open onto two cart streets partially flanked by arcades, under which commercial transactions took place. One of his most elegant residences now houses the House of Photo, exceptional testimony to the artistic work of photographer Jean-Marie Périer.

In this part of the village, the regular rhythm of the streets invites you to take a break. Take a moment to have a drink, under the charming arcades of this city of character.

Place des Conques à Villeneuve d’Aveyron

What is a bastide?

Characteristic of the Middle Ages, the bastide is a new town created to make life good there, let yourself be convinced!
Read more

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Importante halte jacquaire, cette cité de caractère offre un patrimoine architectural exceptionnel. Sillonnez sa sauveté labyrinthique et sa bastide quadrillée.

Une étape vers Saint-Jacques de Compostelle

Située sur la voie Conques-Toulouse, Villeneuve d’Aveyron était autrefois dotée d’un hôpital, d’une maladrerie et de plusieurs auberges. Aujourd’hui encore, de nombreux témoignages vous permettent de plonger en plein Moyen Age, à une époque où les pèlerins faisaient halte et croisaient foule de paysans, marchands et artisans.

Le plus bel exemple de ce patrimoine classé est l’église du Saint-Sépulcre, partie intégrante d’un ensemble monastique originellement plus vaste. A la fois romane et gothique, il s’agit d’un chef-d’œuvre d’architecture méridionale. Une de ses chapelles abrite des fresques polychromes datant du XIVe siècle. Eblouissantes, celles-ci mettent en scène un Christ en Majesté, une procession de jacquets et l’étonnante légende du Pendu Dépendu.

La cité présente deux quartiers distincts : une sauveté labyrinthique et une bastide quadrillée. En vous baladant dans Villeneuve, saurez-vous les identifier ? On vous donne quelques indices…

Une sauveté labyrinthique

Perdez-vous dans les ruelles tortueuses et irrégulières de la sauveté, un dédale de pierres claires qui saura vous charmer.

Au milieu du XIe siècle, le seigneur du lieu, Ozile de Morlhon, offrit une partie de ses terres du Rouergue au patriarche de Jérusalem. Très vite, une église portant le nom du Saint-Sépulcre y fut édifiée et une communauté religieuse vint s’y installer. Délimité par des croix en pierre, le territoire de cette sauveté était sous protection divine et il était strictement interdit d’y porter les armes.

Dès lors, les populations campagnardes se greffèrent tout autour, mais de manière assez désordonnée. Ainsi, le premier quartier résidentiel de Villeneuve-d’Aveyron fut assez irrégulier, avec des rues partant dans tous les sens. Ce manque de clarté est aujourd’hui un avantage pour la cité puisqu’il est très agréable de s’y perdre au gré de sa déambulation.

Une bastide quadrillée

Après votre déambulation dans le labyrinthe de pierres, laissez-vous surprendre par la rigueur architecturale de la bastide de Villeneuve d’Aveyron.

C’est près de deux siècles après la fondation de la sauveté, que le comte de Toulouse, Raymond VII, édifia un quartier bastide pour asseoir son autorité dans la région. Organisé autour de la place des Conques, comme l’autre bastide de l’ouest du département, Villefranche-de-Rouergue, ce nouveau lotissement fut doté d’un plan rectiligne dans le but de faciliter les échanges économiques.

Sa structure est délimitée par de deux portes monumentales, la tour Cardalhac et la tour Soubirane, parfaits exemples de construction militaire avec leurs mâchicoulis, leurs assommoirs et leurs archères canonnières. Ces édifices ouvrent sur deux rues charretières partiellement flanquées d’arcades, sous lesquelles se déroulaient les transactions commerciales. Une de ses plus élégantes demeures accueille désormais la Maison de la Photo, témoignage exceptionnel de l’œuvre artistique du photographe Jean-Marie Périer.

Dans cette partie du village, le rythme régulier des rues vous invite au temps d’une pause. Prenez un moment pour boire un verre, sous les charmantes arcades de cette cité de caractère.

Place des Conques à Villeneuve d’Aveyron

Qu’est-ce qu’une bastide ?

Caractéristique du Moyen Age, la bastide est une ville nouvelle créée pour qu’il y fasse bon vivre, laissez-vous convaincre !
En savoir plus

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu