Set off on the Compostela paths by taking the Conques-Toulouse route. This still little frequented route will allow you to live a unique experience, discovering a welcoming rural country. Ideal for a first experience of roaming or to discover a path still unexplored!

A historic path

The road from Conques to Toulouse crosses four departments on 230 kilometers : Aveyron, Tarn-et-Garonne, Tarn and Haute-Garonne. It makes it possible to connect two major historical routes, the “Via Podiensis” starting from Conques to reach the “Via Tolosana” In Toulouse. From the end of the 13e century at least, many pilgrims and travelers prefer this route crossing the Lower Rouergue. Currently, it corresponds to GR®62b, GR®36 et GR®46. Walkers on this route cross a variety of landscapes between valleys, plateaus and gorges of the Aveyron and a rich heritage at the heart of Bastides.

The stages of the road to Compostela

From Conques to Toulouse, take ten stages in the heart of Occitania! Pass through towns and villages of character, bastides with remarkable architecture, Grand Sites Occitanie or even the most beautiful villages in France.

StepsTownskmHoursAccumulation
Step 1Conques – Cransac-les-Thermes226h22
Step 2Cransac-les-Thermes – Peyrusse-le-Roc21,66h43,6
Step 3Peyrusse-le-Roc – Villeneuve d'Aveyron16,14h59,7
Step 4Villeneuve d'Aveyron – Villefranche-de-Rouergue13,13h72,8
Step 5Villefranche-de-Rouergue – Najac23,46h96,2
Step 6Najac – Cordes-sur-Ciel266h122,2
Step 7Cordes-sur-Ciel – Gaillac32,28h154,4
Step 8Gaillac-Rabastens25,66h180
Step 9Rabastens – Montastruc-la-Conseillère24,56h204,5
Step 10Montastruc-la-Conseillère – Toulouse277h231,5

The path from Conques to Toulouse in a few figures

  • 253 kilometers to go;
  • 4 departments to cross: Aveyron, Haute-Garonne, Tarn-et-Garonne & Tarn;
  • 4 GR® to borrow;
  • 12 steps maximum;
  • 5 properties listed as UNESCO world heritage sites;
  • 3 “Most Beautiful Villages of France” visited;
  • 4 Grand Sites Occitanie – South of France;
  • 2 vineyards;
  • 3 emblematic rivers: Aveyron, Tarn and Garonne.

    Learn more

A 10 day adventure from Conques to Toulouse

Stage
1 / 11

1. Conches

1. Conches

An essential place of pilgrimage on the way to Santiago de Compostela, Conques is a village of character that will fascinate your eyes. Conques Abbey, registered at world heritage by UNESCO, welcomes thousands of pilgrims from all over Europe every year. You can admire its contemporary stained glass windows made by Pierre Soulages, these are ear-drum of the last judgment as well as the treasure of the majesty Holy Faith, in gold and precious stones.

Tympanum of the Abbey of Conques

2. Cransac-les-Thermes

Relaxation guaranteed in Cransac-les-Thermes, Spa unique in europe thanks to the hot natural gases of the burning mountain, "Lou Puech que Ard" in Occitan. Beyond its relaxing effects, the vapors can relieve rheumatism. Cransac was also a mining site important during the industrial revolution.

Cransac-les-Thermes

3. Peyrusse-le-Roc

Peyrusse-le-Roc is a breathtaking village with its two large towers overlooking the valley. You will discover the ruins of the English hospital, a large church, a synagogue and two castles on the way to continue towards Naussac along the Audiernes stream.

Peyrusse le roc on the way to Santiago de Compostela

4. Villeneuve d'Aveyron

Magnificent rescue that became a bastide in the XNUMXth century, Villeneuve d'Aveyron, capital of the Causse, has an exceptional architectural heritage. Don't miss the murals of Holy Sepulcher Church. These represent Saint James and the miracle Hanged Man depended, but above all on the pilgrims themselves on the way.

5. Villefranche-de-Rouergue

Arriving from Villeneuve, you will have a magnificent view of the bastide town of Villefranche-de-Rouergue and collegiate. The latter overlooks Place Notre-Dame, lively and lively on Thursday mornings during the weekly market. In the past, pilgrims were accommodated at the Saint-Jacques hospital. In 1455, a Chapel is built on the site of the hospital. You can also enjoy a visit to the Chapel of the Black Penitents and Chartreuse Saint-Sauveur, emblematic monuments of Villefranche-de-Rouergue.

View of Villefranche de Rouergue

6. Najac

Being part of France's Most beautiful villages, Najac is impressive with its royal fortress built on a rocky promontory. It is from this point that you can admire the famous gorges of Aveyron. During your visit to the village, you will be able to discover the specificities of the territory at the Governor's House and enjoy a guided tour of the fortress before setting off again.

7. Cordes-sur-Ciel

The effect when arriving at Cordes-sur-Ciel is breathtaking. This bastide, also classified among the France's Most beautiful villages, is perched on a hill overlooking the Cérou valley. You can stroll through the steep and steep streets of the village and admire the Gothic facades, the ramparts or the fortified gates, witnesses of an architectural richness.

Ropes on sky

8. Gaillac

Gaillac owes its notoriety to the quality of its wines. The village also hosts Saint Michael's Abbey, now used as Abbey and vine and wine museum. In the Portanelle district, you can discover corbelled, half-timbered, brick and pebble houses, typical of the architecture of the banks of the Tarn. Take a tour of the Château de Foucaud to contemplate the works of the fine arts museum and its Italian garden.

Visit of the House of Wines of Gaillac

9. Rabastens

Rabastens is a colorful village with its ubiquitous brickwork. During the visit of the village, discover its typical alleys and then stop at the Church of Notre-Dame du Bourg, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. You can admire its nave entirely painted with representations of the apostle.

10. Montastruc-la-Conseillère

Montastruc-la-Conseillère is a bastide founded in 1242. It is established on the hillsides between the plains of the Garonne valley and that of the Tarn.

11. Toulouse

Finally, the city of Toulouse is nicknamed "pink city" because of the color of the terracotta brick found on its facades. You can discover the Basilica of Saint-Sernin, one of the largest preserved Romanesque churches in Europe, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The path continues, at this stage, on the road from Toulouse to Compostela.

Was this content useful to you?

Partez sur les chemins de Compostelle en empruntant la voie Conques-Toulouse. Cet itinéraire encore peu fréquenté vous permettra de vivre une expérience unique, à la découverte d’un pays rural accueillant. Idéal pour une première expérience en itinérance ou pour découvrir un chemin encore inexploré !

Une voie historique

La voie de Conques à Toulouse traverse quatre départements sur 230 kilomètres : l’Aveyron, le Tarn-et-Garonne, le Tarn et la Haute-Garonne. Elle permet de relier deux voies historiques majeures, la « Via Podiensis » en partant de Conques pour atteindre la « Via Tolosana » à Toulouse. Dès la fin du 13e siècle au moins, de nombreux pèlerins et voyageurs préfèrent cet itinéraire traversant le Bas-Rouergue. Actuellement, il correspond aux GR®62b, GR®36 et GR®46.  Les marcheurs sur cette voie traversent une variété de paysages entre vallées, plateaux et gorges de l’Aveyron et un riche patrimoine au cœur des bastides.

Les étapes du chemin vers Compostelle

De Conques à Toulouse, parcourez dix étapes au cœur de l’Occitanie ! Traversez des villes et villages de caractère, des bastides à l’architecture remarquable, des Grands Sites Occitanie ou encore des plus beaux villages de France.

EtapesVilles et villagesKmsHeuresCumul
Etape 1Conques – Cransac-les-Thermes226h22
Etape 2Cransac-les-Thermes – Peyrusse-le-Roc21,66h43,6
Etape 3Peyrusse-le-Roc – Villeneuve d’Aveyron16,14h59,7
Etape 4Villeneuve d’Aveyron – Villefranche-de-Rouergue13,13h3072,8
Etape 5Villefranche-de-Rouergue – Najac23,46h1596,2
Etape 6Najac – Cordes-sur-Ciel266h30122,2
Etape 7Cordes-sur-Ciel – Gaillac32,28h154,4
Etape 8Gaillac – Rabastens25,66h40180
Etape 9Rabastens – Montastruc-la-Conseillère24,56h30204,5
Etape 10Montastruc-la-Conseillère – Toulouse277h10231,5

Une aventure de 10 jours de Conques à Toulouse

Étape
1/11

1. Conques

1. Conques

Lieu de pèlerinage incontournable sur le chemin vers Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, Conques est village de caractère qui fascinera vos yeux. L’abbatiale de Conques, inscrite au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO, accueille chaque année des milliers de pèlerins venus de toute l’Europe. Vous pourrez admirer ses vitraux contemporains réalisés par Pierre Soulages, son tympan du jugement dernier ainsi que le trésor de la majesté Sainte Foi, en or et pierres précieuses.

Tympan de l'abbatiale de Conques

2. Cransac-les-Thermes

Détente garantie à Cransac-les-Thermes, station thermale unique en Europe grâce aux gaz naturels chauds de la montagne qui brûle, « Lou Puech que Ard » en occitan. Au-delà de ses effets relaxants, les vapeurs permettent de soulager des rhumatismes. Cransac fut également un site minier important durant la révolution industrielle.

Cransac-les-Thermes

3. Peyrusse-le-Roc

Peyrusse-le-Roc est un village époustouflant avec ses deux grandes tours qui surplombent la vallée. Vous découvrirez les ruines de l’hôpital des Anglais, d’une grande église, d’une synagogue et de deux châteaux sur le chemin pour poursuivre vers Naussac le long du ruisseau d’Audiernes.

Peyrusse le roc sur le chemin de St Jacques de Compostelle

4. Villeneuve d’Aveyron

Magnifique sauvetée devenue bastide au XIIIe siècle, Villeneuve d’Aveyron, capitale du Causse, dispose d’un patrimoine architectural exceptionnel. Ne manquez pas les peintures murales de l’église Saint-Sépulcre. Celles-ci représentent Saint-Jacques et le miracle Pendu dépendu, mais surtout des pèlerins eux-mêmes sur le chemin.

5. Villefranche-de-Rouergue

En arrivant depuis Villeneuve, vous aurez une magnifique vue sur la bastide de Villefranche-de-Rouergue et sa collégiale. Cette dernière surplombe la place Notre-Dame, vivante et animée le jeudi matin lors du marché hebdomadaire. Autrefois, les pèlerins étaient hébergés à l’hôpital Saint-Jacques. En 1455, une chapelle est bâtie sur l’emplacement de l’hôpital. Vous pourrez également profiter d’une visite de la chapelle des Pénitents Noirs et de la chartreuse Saint-Sauveur, monuments emblématiques de Villefranche-de-Rouergue.

Vue sur Villefranche de Rouergue

6. Najac

Faisant parti des « Plus beaux villages de France », Najac est impressionnant par sa forteresse royale édifiée sur un promontoire rocheux. C’est à partir de ce point que vous pourrez admirer les fameuses gorges de l’Aveyron. Lors de votre visite du village, vous pourrez découvrir les spécificités du territoire à la Maison du Gouverneur et profiter d’une visite guidée de la forteresse avant de reprendre le chemin.

7. Cordes-sur-Ciel

L’effet en arrivant sur Cordes-sur-Ciel est époustouflant. Cette bastide, également classée parmi les « Plus beaux villages de France », est perchée sur une colline dominant la vallée du Cérou. Vous pourrez déambuler dans les ruelles escarpées et pentues du village et admirerez les façades gothiques, les remparts ou encore les portes fortifiées, témoins d’une richesse architecturale.

Cordes sur ciel

8. Gaillac

Gaillac doit sa notoriété à la qualité de ses vins. Le village héberge également l’abbaye Saint-Michel, aujourd’hui utilisée comme musée de l’Abbaye et de la vigne et du vin. Dans le quartier de la Portanelle, vous pourrez découvrir des maisons à encorbellement, à pan de bois, en briques et galets, typiques de l’architecture des bords du Tarn. Faites un tour au Château de Foucaud pour contempler les œuvres du musée des beaux-arts et son jardin à l’italienne.

Visite de la Maison des Vins de Gaillac

9. Rabastens

Rabastens est un village haut en couleurs avec sa brique omniprésente. Lors de la visite du village, partez à la découverte de ses ruelles typiques pour ensuite vous arrêter à l’Eglise Notre-Dame du Bourg, inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Vous pourrez admirer sa nef entièrement peinte avec des représentations de l’apôtre.

10. Montastruc-la-Conseillère

Montastruc-la-Conseillère est une bastide fondée en 1242. Elle est établie sur les coteaux entre plaines de la vallée de la Garonne et celle du Tarn.

11. Toulouse

Enfin, la ville de Toulouse est surnommée « ville rose » en raison de la couleur de la brique de terre cuite que l’on retrouve sur ses façades. Vous pourrez découvrir la Basilique Saint-Sernin, une des plus grandes églises romanes conservées en Europe, inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Le chemin continue, à cette étape, sur la voie de Toulouse vers Compostelle.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu