Overlook the Aveyron river from Najac. This charming medieval city, dominated by its royal fortress, is an unmissable site in the region.

Located between Villefranche-de-Rouergue and Cordes-sur-Ciel in the far west of the Aveyron department, Najac is "One of the Most Beautiful Villages in France".

D. Viet


An exceptional defensive site

At the entrance of gorges of the Aveyron, Najac is profiled on a promontory dominating more than 150 meters the surrounding valley. Since Antiquity, its privileged position has been envied by people who came to find refuge there and exploit its natural resources.

In the XNUMXth century, the Counts of Toulouse took over the management of a first wooden building and built a stone castle with square towers there. A century and a half later, Alphonse de Poitiers, brother of Saint Louis, built a new fortress there with round towers, an exceptional example of the military art of southwestern France.

Considered impregnable, the fortress offered security to those who wished to settle nearby. Even today, this place offers the calm and beauty of a landscape where water, trees and rocks come together.

An astonishing street-village

Najac has the astonishing particularity of being a village-street developing over nearly 2 kilometers along a rocky ridge. On either side of the main axis, the stalls and dwellings of merchants and craftsmen were once organized. These still present today their elegant stone and half-timbered facades, as well as their surprising schist slate roofs.

Borrowed by the pilgrims going to Santiago de Compostela via Conques and Toulouse, this street was once effervescent, with the activity of carters, cutlers, mazeliers, treasurers and other coopers and winegrowers. Today, several craftsmen's shops perpetuate the tradition of this center of commerce and artistic creation.

Forteresse de Najac
D. Viet

Fortress of Najac

Come and enjoy this breathtaking view from the keep of the fortress!


West Aveyron Tourism

Remarkable buildings

All along the village stand atypical buildings such as the Griffoul fountain, built in granite at the beginning of the XNUMXth century. A few tens of meters further, rises the great governor's house, a former châtelet now housing the Interpretation Center for the Architecture and Heritage of the Bastides du Rouergue.

Continue walking along the street, pass in front of the old house of the Seneschal and go down again towards the church of Saint John the Evangelist. This building bears witness to the reconquest of the region by the Catholic Church after the crusade against the Albigensian Cathars. Able to accommodate several hundred worshipers, its southern Gothic architecture conceals exceptional furnishings including a processional cross from the XNUMXth century and a sculpted group associating a Christ on the cross of Catalan invoice from the XNUMXth century, the Virgin and Saint John the Evangelist from the XNUMXth century. century.


Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Surplombez la rivière Aveyron depuis Najac. Cette charmante cité médiévale, dominée par sa forteresse royale est un site incontournable de la région.

Situé entre Villefranche-de-Rouergue et Cordes-sur-Ciel à l’extrême ouest du département de l’Aveyron, Najac est « Un des Plus Beaux Villages de France ».

D.Viet


Un site défensif d’exception

A l’entrée des gorges de l’Aveyron, Najac se profile sur un promontoire dominant de plus de 150 mètres la vallée environnante. Depuis l’Antiquité, sa position privilégiée est enviée par les Hommes qui vinrent y trouver refuge et exploiter ses ressources naturelles.

Au XIIe siècle, les comtes de Toulouse récupérèrent la gestion d’un premier édifice en bois et y édifièrent un château en pierre aux tours carrées. Un siècle et demi plus tard, Alphonse de Poitiers, frère de saint Louis, y édifia une nouvelle forteresse aux tours rondes, exemple exceptionnel de l’art militaire du sud-ouest de la France.

Considérée comme imprenable, la forteresse offrit une sécurité à ceux qui souhaitèrent s’installer à toute proximité. Aujourd’hui encore, ce lieu offre le calme et la beauté d’un paysage où se marient l’eau, l’arbre et le rocher.

Un étonnant village-rue

Najac a l’étonnante particularité d’être un village-rue se développant sur près de 2 kilomètres le long d’une arête rocheuse. De part et d’autre de l’axe principal, s’organisaient autrefois les échoppes et les habitations des marchands et des artisans. Celles-ci présentent encore aujourd’hui leurs élégantes façades en pierre et à pans de bois, ainsi que leurs surprenantes toitures en lauzes de schiste.

Empruntée par les pèlerins se rendant à Saint-Jacques de Compostelle via Conques et Toulouse, cette rue était jadis effervescente, avec l’activité des charretiers, des couteliers, des mazeliers, des argentiers et autres tonneliers et vignerons. Aujourd’hui, plusieurs boutiques d’artisans d’art perpétuent la tradition de ce centre de commerce et de création artistique.

Forteresse de Najac
D.Viet

Forteresse de Najac

Venez profiter de cette vue à couper le souffle depuis le donjon de la forteresse !


Ouest Aveyron Tourisme

Des édifices remarquables

Tout le long du village, se dressent des édifices atypiques comme la fontaine du Griffoul, construite en granit au début du XIVe siècle. Quelques dizaines de mètres plus loin, s’élève la grande maison du Gouverneur, ancien châtelet abritant aujourd’hui le Centre d’Interprétation de l’Architecture et du Patrimoine des Bastides du Rouergue.

Continuez d’arpenter la rue, passez devant l’ancienne maison du Sénéchal et redescendez vers l’église Saint-Jean l’Evangéliste. Cet édifice est un témoin de la reconquête de la région par l’Eglise catholique au lendemain de la croisade menée contre les cathares albigeois. Pouvant accueillir plusieurs centaines de fidèles, son architecture gothique méridionale recèle un mobilier exceptionnel parmi lequel une croix processionnelle du XIIIe siècle et un groupe sculpté associant un Christ en croix de facture catalane du XVe siècle, la Vierge et Saint-Jean l’Evangéliste du XVIe siècle.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu