Overlooking the gorges of Aveyron and Lézert, the new town of Bas Ségala brings together the villages of Bastide l'Evêque, Saint-Salvadou and Vabre-Tizac. Explore this countryside with wooded landscapes.

The Bastide l'Eveque

This Ségala bastide was founded in 1280 by the Bishop of Rodez to compete with its neighbor Villefranche de Rouergue. Since the Middle Ages, its economic activity has been linked to agriculture, animal husbandry and the presence of numerous swifts, mills that were used to beat copper.

Its location near Villefranche explains the modest settlement and the smallness of its plan, the center of which is occupied by a église of the XIVth and XVth centuries. His steeple-porch is also reminiscent of that of Villefranche, its rival.

On the neighboring plateaus, remain the rescued of Saint-Salvadou, a dependency of the Benedictine abbey of La Chaise-Dieu in the XNUMXth century, as well as the former seigniorial stronghold of Vabre, which served as a refuge during the Hundred Years' War.

A rich heritage in the heart of unspoiled nature

From the town's central square, admire the Saint Jean Baptiste church and its pink granite bell tower. Stroll through the streets of this country house which has retained its typical geometric plan. After this heritage stopover, put on your trainers and set off to discover the surrounding countryside. Walk the trails in the heart of unspoiled nature. On your way, you can take a tour of the Swift of Lézert, copper forges built in the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries.

Les Martinets du Lézert

Swifts of Lézert

A bucolic setting in the heart of the Lézert valley...Ideal for a picnic!

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Dominant les gorges de l’Aveyron et du Lézert, la commune nouvelle du Bas Ségala regroupe les villages de la Bastide l’Evêque, Saint-Salvadou et Vabre-Tizac. Explorez cette campagne aux paysages boisés.

La Bastide l’Evêque

Cette bastide du Ségala est fondée en 1280 par l’évêque de Rodez pour concurrencer sa voisine Villefranche de Rouergue. Depuis le Moyen Age, son activité économique est liée à l’agriculture, à l’élevage et à la présence de nombreux martinets, moulins qui servaient à battre le cuivre.

Son implantation à proximité de Villefranche explique la modestie du peuplement et la petitesse de son plan dont le centre est occupé par une église des XIVème et XVème siècles. Son clocher-porche n’est d’ailleurs pas sans rappeler celui de Villefranche, sa rivale.

Sur les plateaux voisins, demeurent la sauveté de Saint-Salvadou, dépendance de l’abbaye bénédictine de La Chaise-Dieu au XIe siècle, ainsi que l’ancien fief seigneurial de Vabre, qui servit de refuge durant la guerre de Cent Ans.

Un riche patrimoine au cœur d’une nature préservée

Depuis la place centrale du bourg, admirez l’église Saint Jean Baptiste et son clocher-porche en granit rose. Flânez dans les rues de cette bastide qui a conservé son plan géométrique typique. Après cette halte patrimoniale, chaussez vos baskets et filez découvrir la campagne environnante. Parcourez les sentiers au cœur d’une nature préservée. Sur votre chemin, vous pourrez faire un tour au Martinet du Lézert, forges du cuivre construites aux XIVe et XVe siècles.

Les Martinets du Lézert

Les Martinets du Lézert

Un cadre bucolique au cœur de la vallée du Lézert…Idéal pour un pique-nique !

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu