Explore Sauveterre-de-Rouergue, a medieval bastide where generous nature, respect for tradition and innovation, treasures of medieval architecture and modern comforts mingle.

Located in the heart of Ségala, between Rodez, Albi and Villefranche-de-Rouergue, Sauveterre-de-Rouergue is a remarkable example of a medieval bastide.

A unique story

Created in 1281 by Guillaume de Macon, Seneschal of Rouergue, on the will of the King of France, Philippe III le Bold, to guarantee peace in this part of the Segala, Sauveterre-de-Rouergue is reproduced in nine almost equal quadrilaterals regular plane bastides around a large central square lined with arcades

Administered by four consuls, its largest residences, built of stone and some of which surround a private courtyard, are concentrated there and display the ease of the merchants, master craftsmen, notaries and magistrates who had them built.

An exceptional heritage

Occupied mostly by artisans, the four quarters, Saint-Jean, Notre-Dame, Saint-Vital and Fonbougine, each had their own defensive gate, of which two beautiful examples from the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries still exist, which were supported by wide ditches, some portions of which are still in water.

Built in the XNUMXth century in the Languedoc Gothic style, the Saint-Christophe collegiate church houses elegant Renaissance stalls and a remarkable baroque altarpiece. The half-timbered or beautiful stone houses from the XNUMXth to XNUMXth centuries testify to the past wealth of this bastide which played an important administrative role under the Ancien Régime. Many of them have corbels, sometimes very pronounced, spanning the square and the cart streets.

A dynamic artistic center

From the XNUMXth century, a cutlery tradition developed in the country of the Hundred Valleys, whose capital was the bastide town of Sauveterre-de-Rouergue. At that time, the city was populated by a number of traders and craftsmen: blacksmiths, winegrowers, carpenters, carders, drapers, hatters and shoemakers. Some of them even traded in the fairs of Lausanne.

For more than 40 years, the city has experienced a real renaissance of its crafts since new creative pioneers have settled there. Cutlers, leatherworkers, hatters, stained-glass artists, artistic ironworkers, creators of jewellery, art screen printing and leather clothing are now energizing local economic life.

Thus, we can say that Sauveterre-de-Rouergue is a living commune, combining itself at the same time with the past, the present and the future.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Explorez Sauveterre-de-Rouergue, une bastide médiévale où se mêlent nature généreuse, respect des traditions et innovation, trésors de l’architecture médiévale et conforts modernes.

Située au cœur du Ségala, entre Rodez, Albi et Villefranche-de-Rouergue, Sauveterre-de-Rouergue est un exemple remarquable de bastide médiévale.

Une histoire unique

Créée en 1281 par Guillaume de Macon, sénéchal du Rouergue, sur la volonté du roi de France, Philippe III le Hardi, pour garantir la paix sur cette partie du Ségala, Sauveterre-de-Rouergue est reproduit en neuf quadrilatères presqu’égaux le plan régulier des bastides autour d’une grande place centrale bordée d’arcades

Administrée par quatre consuls, ses plus vastes demeures, construites en pierre et dont certaines enserrent une cour privative, s’y concentrent et affichent l’aisance des marchands, des maîtres artisans, des notaires et des magistrats qui les firent bâtir.

Un patrimoine d’exception

Occupés pour la plupart par des artisans, les quatre quartiers, Saint-Jean, Notre-Dame, Saint-Vital et Fonbougine, avaient chacun leur porte défensive, dont deux beaux témoins des XIVe et XVIe siècles sont encore existants, que venaient épauler de larges fossés dont certaines portions sont encore en eau.

Construite au XIVème siècle dans le style gothique languedocien, la collégiale Saint-Christophe abrite d’élégantes stalles Renaissance et un remarquable retable baroque. Les maisons à pans de bois ou en belles pierres des XIVème au XVIème siècle témoignent de la richesse passée de cette bastide qui a tenu sous l’Ancien régime un important rôle administratif. Nombre d’entre elles disposent d’encorbellements, parfois très prononcés, enjambant la place et les rues charretières.

Un centre artistique dynamique

Dès le XVe siècle, une tradition coutelière se développa dans le pays des Cent Vallées, dont la capitale était la bastide de Sauveterre-de-Rouergue. A cette époque, la cité était peuplée par nombre de négociants et d’artisans : forgerons, vignerons, menuisiers, cardeurs, drapiers, chapeliers et chaussetiers. Certains d’entre eux commerçaient même jusque dans les foires de Lausanne.

Depuis plus de 40 ans, la cité connait une véritable renaissance de son artisanat d’art puisque de nouveaux pionniers de la création s’y sont installés. Couteliers, maroquinier, chapelière, vitrailliste, ferronnerie d’art, créateur de bijoux, de sérigraphie d’art, de vêtements de cuir dynamisent aujourd’hui la vie économique locale.

Ainsi, on peut dire que Sauveterre-de-Rouergue est une commune vivante, se conjuguant à la fois au passé, au présent et au futur.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu