Explore this XNUMXth century salvage, capital of Haut-Ségala. Observe the civilian remains and the imposing Saint-Martial church, built in the XNUMXth century and fortified during the Hundred Years War.

The capital of Haut-Ségala

Between Villefranche-de-Rouergue and Rodez, on the road leading to Sauveterre-de-Rouergue, Rieupeyroux conceals a heritage still little known today. But this village of Haut-Ségala has all assets to capture the attention of history buffs and nature lover.
The geometric plan of the old town is reminiscent of that of a country house, the arcades of the Place du Gitat confirm this impression. The half-timbered houses and the Griffoul fountain bear witness to this medieval civil architecture.

A Benedictine rescue

Nestled at the foot of one of the highest points of the Segala, Rieupeyroux was built in the XNUMXth century by the Benedictine abbey of Saint-Martial de Limoges. From its foundation, monumental crosses marked the limits of the rescued and guaranteed the protection of the Church to travelers and its inhabitants.  

Around the monastery, farmers, breeders and craftsmen prospered. Nevertheless, the latter had to face a "light and infertile land crumbling under the rock" where only "the heather and the slender stems of rye grow in the summer". Their stubbornness allowed the city to see flourish elegant stone and half-timbered houses as well as a picturesque public fountain called Griffoul.

Although remodeled, the church has some Romanesque remains and houses a mysterious scapula of exceptional dimensions. The specialists affirm that it comes from a whale, others like to tell that it would belong to the giant Gargantua, the biblical character Samson or the Devil himself.


A 360° panorama of nature

To obtain one of the most beautiful panoramas on the " country of 100 valleys ”, join the modulance chapel. Camped on low and thick walls and covered with schist slabs, the building is a real cathedral, like a lighthouse in the heart of a green lung.

You can access it by many hiking trails, all offering atypical views of Rieupeyroux and the surrounding Ségalian nature. On foot, by bike or on horseback, it is pleasant to explore the local fauna and flora.

During your walk, let yourself be touched by the tranquility of the herds of cattle. Fed on his mother's milk and hay, and cereals produced on the farm, Aveyron veal is a flagship of Aveyron gastronomy. Many breeders perpetuate this ancestral tradition of quality Label Rouge meat, benefiting from a Protected Geographical Indication.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Explorez cette sauveté du XIe siècle, capitale du Haut-Ségala. Observez les vestiges civils et l’imposante église Saint-Martial, bâtie au XIe siècle et fortifiée durant la guerre de Cent Ans.

La capitale du Haut-Ségala

Entre Villefranche-de-Rouergue et Rodez, sur la route menant à Sauveterre-de-Rouergue, Rieupeyroux recèle un patrimoine encore aujourd’hui méconnu. Mais cette bourgade du Haut-Ségala possède tous les atouts pour capter l’attention des passionnés d’Histoire et des amoureux de nature.
Le plan géométrique de la ville ancienne n’est pas sans rappeler celui d’une bastide, les arcades de la place du Gitat confirment cette impression. Les maisons à pans de bois, la fontaine du Griffoul sont les témoins de cette architecture civile du Moyen âge.

Une sauveté bénédictine

Blottie au pied d’un des points culminants du Ségala, Rieupeyroux fut édifiée au XIe siècle par l’abbaye bénédictine Saint-Martial de Limoges. Dès sa fondation, des croix monumentales marquaient les limites de la sauveté et garantissaient la protection de l’Eglise aux voyageurs et à ses habitants.  

Autour du monastère, agriculteurs, éleveurs et artisans prospérèrent. Néanmoins, ces derniers durent faire face à une terre « légère et inféconde s’effritant sous le roc » ou seules « la bruyère et les tiges grêles du seigle poussent l’été ». Leur opiniâtreté permit à la cité de voir fleurir d’élégantes maisons en pierre et à pans de bois ainsi qu’une pittoresque fontaine publique dite du Griffoul.

Bien que remaniée, l’église présente quelques vestiges romans et abrite une mystérieuse omoplate aux dimensions exceptionnelles. Les spécialistes affirment qu’elle provient d’une baleine, d’autres se plaisent à raconter qu’elle appartiendrait au géant Gargantua, au personnage biblique Samson ou au Diable lui-même.


Un panorama à 360° sur la nature

Pour obtenir un des plus beaux panoramas sur le « pays des 100 Vallées », rejoignez la chapelle de Modulance. Campé sur des murailles basses et épaisses et couvert de lauzes de schiste, l’édifice est une véritable cathédrale, tel un phare au cœur d’un poumon vert.

Vous pouvez y accéder par de nombreux sentiers de randonnée, offrant tous des points de vue atypique sur Rieupeyroux et la nature ségalienne environnante. A pied, en vélo ou à cheval, il est agréable d’y cheminer à la découverte de la faune et de la flore locale.

Au cours de votre promenade, laissez-vous attendrir par la tranquillité des troupeaux de bovins. Nourri au lait de sa mère et au foin, et aux céréales produites sur la ferme, le veau d’Aveyron est un fleuron de la gastronomie aveyronnaise. De nombreux éleveurs perpétuent cette tradition ancestrale d’une viande Label Rouge de qualité, bénéficiant d’une Indication Géographique Protégée.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu