The Abbey of Loc-Dieu is revealed surrounded by woods and water in the heart of a large romantic park. Stroll under its arcades and soak up the peace that reigns within the walls of this exceptional heritage.

Located in the town of Martiel at the exit of Villefranche-de-Rouergue, the Cistercian abbey of Loc-Dieu takes place in the heart of a landscaped park of 40 hectares. Private property, the building is only accessible in July and August, while the romantic garden is open all year round.

abbey-locdieu-monument
OAT

An idyllic setting

The Abbey of Loc-Dieu takes place in the heart of a 40 hectare romantic park deploying a variety plant essences and points of view.

Going up the main alley, observe the pond animated by various species of ducks, geese, swans and herons. Admire the reflection of the abbey in the water and appreciate the tranquility of this timeless place. Around you, several types of forests, from the high forest of old oaks to the woods of fir trees.

On the highest point of the park, climb the Watchtower 25 meters high. Its realization is the work of Jean Darcel, at the origin of the Parisian parks of Buttes-Chaumont and Monsouris and of the great waterfall of the Bois de Boulogne. From up there you will have a amazing views throughout the park and the surrounding countryside.

Abbaye de Loc Dieu
B. Vidao

Abbey of Loc Dieu

Come and enjoy a moment of relaxation around a water point and the beautiful gardens.

A singular architecture

In accordance with the rule of cistercian sobriety, the abbey has virtually no sculpture, no stained glass windows and no paintings that might distract attention due to prayer. Enhanced by the light of the sun, the ocher stone nevertheless appears in all its splendor to bring out the purity of the forms conducive to meditation. The abbey, the cloister and the chapter house thus present their finest assets. Contemplate this sober and elegant architecture while listening to the anecdotes of your guide.

Unusual discovery

During your visit, surprises abound. In the west gallery of the cloister, an element of sculpted decoration arouses curiosity... A character seems to blow into a woman's buttocks, do you think you are hallucinating? Let your guide tell you the story of this surprising sculpture.


abbey-locdieu-cloister
OAT

A page of history

Classified as Historical monuments, the abbey of Loc-Dieu was founded at the beginning of the XNUMXth century by Cistercian monks on a former haunt of brigands. On the border of Quercy and Rouergue, along a road leading to Santiago de Compostela, the location was ideal for the installation of a monastic community. The woods, the bottom of the valley and the water favored agriculture, forestry, fish farming and the life of prayer so dear to the religious.

When the Hundred Years War arrived, the building was transformed into real fortified castle. The family that has lived there for two centuries gradually moved upstairs without erasing the religious presence. The XNUMXth century abbey church, which has remained intact, houses the first Gothic vault on a Romanesque base in the former Midi-Pyrénées region.

Did you know?

During the Second World War, the abbey served as a refuge for 3 works of art from the Louvre Museum, including “The Mona Lisa” by Leonardo da Vinci and “The Wedding at Cana” by Paul Veronese.


Interior of the abbey
abbey-locdieu-reflection

Musical season

The installation of numerous resonance holes in the vaults of the abbey shows the attention paid by the monks to the acoustics of the place. Today, let yourself be enchanted by the music during the many concerts organized at the abbey.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

L’Abbaye de Loc-Dieu se dévoile entourée de bois et d’eau au cœur d’un grand parc romantique. Baladez-vous sous ses arcades et imprégnez-vous de la paix qui règne dans l’enceinte de ce patrimoine exceptionnel.

Située sur la commune de Martiel à la sortie de Villefranche-de-Rouergue, l’abbaye cistercienne de Loc-Dieu prend place au cœur d’un parc paysager de 40 hectares. Propriété privée, l’édifice n’est accessible qu’en juillet et août alors que le jardin romantique est lui ouvert toute l’année.

abbaye-locdieu-monument
OAT

Un décor idyllique

L’Abbaye de Loc-Dieu prend place au cœur d’un parc romantique de 40 hectares déployant toute une variété d’essences végétales et de points de vue.

En remontant l’allée principale, observez l’étang animé par des espèces variées de canards, oies, cygnes et hérons. Admirez le reflet de l’abbaye dans l’eau et appréciez la quiétude de ce lieu hors du temps. Autour de vous, plusieurs types de forêts, depuis la futaie de vieux chênes jusqu’aux bois de sapins.

Sur le point culminant du parc, grimpez à la tour de guet de 25 mètres de hauteur. Sa réalisation est l’œuvre de Jean Darcel, à l’origine des parcs parisiens des Buttes-Chaumont et Monsouris et de la grande cascade du Bois de Boulogne. De là-haut, vous aurez une vue imprenable sur tout le parc et la campagne environnante.

B.Vidao

Abbaye de Loc Dieu

Venez profiter d’un moment de détente autour d’un point d’eau et des beaux jardins.

Une architecture singulière

En cohérence avec la règle de sobriété cistercienne, l’abbaye ne comporte pratiquement aucune sculpture, pas de vitraux colorés et de peintures susceptibles de détourner l’attention due à la prière. Rehaussée par la lumière du soleil, la pierre ocre apparaît néanmoins dans toute sa splendeur pour faire ressortir la pureté des formes propice à la méditation. L’abbatiale, le cloître et la salle capitulaire présentent ainsi leurs plus beaux atouts. Contemplez cette architecture sobre et élégante en écoutant les anecdotes de votre guide.

Découverte insolite

Pendant votre visite, les surprises ne manquent pas. Dans la galerie ouest du cloître, un élément de décor sculpté attise la curiosité… Un personnage semble souffler dans les fesses d’une femme, croyez-vous halluciner ?  Laissez-votre guide vous conter l’histoire de cette sculpture surprenante.


abbaye-locdieu-cloitre
OAT

Une page d’Histoire

Classée au titre des Monuments Historiques, l’abbaye de Loc-Dieu fut fondée au début du XIIe siècle par des moines cisterciens sur un ancien repère de brigands. À la frontière du Quercy et du Rouergue, le long d’une voie menant à Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, l’emplacement était idéal pour l’installation d’une communauté monastique. Les bois, le fond de vallée et l’eau favorisèrent l’agriculture, la sylviculture, la pisciculture et la vie de prière si chères aux religieux.

Quand arriva la guerre de Cent Ans, l’édifice fut transformé en véritable château fort. La famille qui y réside depuis deux siècles s’installa progressivement dans les étages sans effacer la présence religieuse. L’abbatiale du XIIe siècle, restée intacte, abrite la première voûte gothique sur base romane de l’ancienne région Midi-Pyrénées.

Le saviez-vous ?

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondial, l’abbaye servit de refuge à 3 200 œuvres d’art en provenance du musée du Louvre, dont “La Joconde” de Léonard de Vinci et « Les Noces de Cana » de Paul Véronèse.


Intérieur de l’abbatiale
abbaye-locdieu-reflet

Saison musicale

L’implantation de nombreux trous de résonance dans les voûtes de l’abbatiale montre l’attention portée par les moines à l’acoustique du lieu. Aujourd’hui, laissez-vous enchanter par la musique lors des nombreux concerts organisés à l’abbaye.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu