Located in the town of Ginals between Villefranche-de-Rouergue and Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val, Beaulieu-en-Rouergue Abbey is a jewel of Cistercian architecture. Since 2022, the site has housed a rich exhibition of contemporary art bequeathed by art critics and patrons Pierre Brache and Geneviève Bonnefoi.  

Sobriety of Cistercian architecture 

Cloister of Beaulieu Abbey
Thomas Rothe

Founded in the middle of the XNUMXth century, the Cistercian abbey of Beaulieu-en-Rouergue retained some of its monastic buildings. Nestled in the Seye valley, they are distributed according to the immutable plan of cistercian monks. Contemplate them simple and clean decor, faithful to the principles of the Cistercian monks.

Browse the cellar and chapter house, Where the Gothic style is primitive there. Look up to see squat ribbed vaults. In church, admire a more slender architecture, with a single nave and stained glass windows of great clarity. Around cloister, the highlight of the show: XNUMXth century painted decorations and lapidary fund discovered during recent archaeological excavations.  

A collection of contemporary art 

In 1959, Pierre Brache and Geneviève Bonnefoi undertook the restoration of the site with the help of the State. Spanning from the 1940s to today, their contemporary art collection now takes part in the former apartments of the owner couple. Among the famous artists, we can mention Jean Dubuffet, Simon Hantai, Henri michaux, Jean Degottex et Maria Helena Vieira da Silva. Between abstraction et matterism, gesture painting et cloudiness, let yourself be carried away by the scenography, through the thematic or monographic rooms. As a family, select your favorite works and imagine your own virtual exhibition in the church thanks to a fun device.

Un parcours muséal au cœur du logis  abbatial
Thomas Rothe

A museum trail in the heart of the abbey dwelling

A bucolic and soothing park 

Extend your visit to the abbey gardens. Since 2022, the convent complex has been embellished with a landscaped garden where you can have a drink. Between the building and the old trout tank, the diversity of plant speciess will seduce you: cedar of Lebanon, catalpa, magnolia, roses and perennials offer a spectacle of colors throughout the year. Stroll through the flowerbeds with sinuous lines among the plants, offering natural perspectives composed of a thousand scents. Borrow them trails surroundings and discover wild orchids, a walk punctuated by beautiful viewpoints over the monastic complex.   


Prepare your visit

Opening hours from October 01 to December 31, 2022
Wednesday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 17 p.m.
Thursday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 17 p.m.
Friday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 17 p.m.
Saturday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 17 p.m.
Sunday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 17 p.m.
Open on Tuesday by reservation for groups Closed on Monday
Prices Min. Max.
Individual adult
6 € 6 €

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Située sur la commune de Ginals entre Villefranche-de-Rouergue et Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val, l’abbaye de Beaulieu-en-Rouergue est un joyau d’architecture cistercienne. Depuis 2022, le site abrite une riche exposition d’art contemporain léguée par les critiques d’art et mécènes Pierre Brache et Geneviève Bonnefoi.  

Sobriété de l’architecture cistercienne 

Cloître de l'abbaye de Beaulieu
Thomas Rothé

Fondée au milieu du XIIe siècle, l’abbaye cistercienne de Beaulieu-en-Rouergue a conservé une partie de ses bâtiments monastiques. Nichés dans la vallée de la Seye, ils sont répartis selon le plan immuable des moines cisterciens. Contemplez leur décor simple et épuré, fidèle aux principes des moines cisterciens.

Parcourez le cellier et la salle capitulaire, où le style gothique y est primitif. Levez la tête pour observer des voûtes en ogives trapues. Dans l’église, admirez une architecture plus élancée, avec une nef à vaisseau unique et des vitraux d’une grande clarté. Autour du cloître,  le clou du spectacle : des décors peints du XVIIe siècle et un fonds lapidaire découvert lors de récentes fouilles archéologiques.  

Une collection d’art contemporain 

En 1959, Pierre Brache et Geneviève Bonnefoi entreprennent la restauration du site avec l’aide de l’Etat. S’étendant des années 1940 à aujourd’hui, leur collection d’art contemporain prend aujourd’hui part dans les anciens appartements du couple propriétaire. Parmi les artistes de renom, on peut citer Jean Dubuffet, Simon Hantaï, Henri Michaux, Jean Degottex et Maria Helena Vieira da Silva. Entre abstraction et matiérisme, peinture gestuelle et nuagisme, laissez-vous porter par la  scénographie, au fil des salles thématiques ou monographiques. En famille, sélectionnez vos œuvres préférées et imaginez votre propre exposition virtuelle dans l’église grâce à un dispositif ludique.

Un parcours muséal au cœur du logis  abbatial
Thomas Rothé

Un parcours muséal au cœur du logis abbatial

Un parc bucolique et apaisant 

Prolongez votre visite dans les jardins de l’abbaye. Depuis 2022, l’ensemble conventuel est agrémenté d’un jardin paysager dans lequel vous pourrez prendre un verre. Entre l’édifice et l’ancien vivier à truites, la diversité des espèces végétales saura vous séduire : cèdre du Liban, catalpa, magnolia, rosiers et vivaces offrent un spectacle de couleurs tout au long de l’année. Déambulez dans les parterres aux lignes sinueuses parmi les plantes, offrant des perspectives naturelles composées de mille senteurs. Empruntez les sentiers environnants et partez à la découverte d’orchidées sauvages, une promenade rythmée par de beaux points de vue sur l’ensemble monastique.   


Préparez votre visite

Horaires d'ouverture du 01 octobre au 31 décembre 2022
Mercredi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 17h
Jeudi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 17h
Vendredi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 17h
Samedi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 17h
Dimanche Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 17h
Ouvert le mardi sur réservation pour les groupes Fermé le lundi
Tarifs Min. Max.
Individuel adulte
6 € 6 €

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu