Beautiful square, museum, monuments, we give you here our TOP of the essentials to visit in Villefranche-de-Rouergue. Explore the city to discover these nuggets!

panorama-collegial-villefranche
jeromemorel

Notre Dame Square

All streets lead to this square. The collegiate which spans it will be your point of reference. Surrounded archways surmounted by Gothic or Renaissance residences, the central square is an unmissable part of your visit!

She is the commercial heart of the city for centuries. The proof, every Thursday morning takes place there one of the most beautiful markets of the region.

Did you know?

The fountain in Place Notre Dame tells the time. You just need to count the number of running water jets. The minutes are identified by 60 small orange lamps arranged in the center of the fountain. An additional bulb lights up for each passing minute. Open your eyes!

cityfrance-rouergue-notredame
The Storytellers Agency


Notre Dame collegiate church

From Place Notre Dame, look up at this stone giant. With its 58 meters in height, this gothic building surprised more than one passerby. As you advance to the heart, admire the carved stalls by André Sulpice. Keep an eye out, the themes of the fantastic bestiary and medieval daily life are represented there. Can you find the mermaid, the lions and the owl?

In summer, climb the 163 steps of the spiral staircase to the rhythm of the carillon and access a superb panorama on the roofs of the Bastide de Villefranche.

penitent-chapel-ceiling
jeromemorel


The baroque chapel of the black penitents

From the outside, this chapel with a lauze roof and in the shape of a Greek cross appears very discreet. The clothes do not make the man ! Let yourself be surprised by a real masterpiece of baroque art. The decoration of the entirely painted vault will dazzle you with the profusion of its figurative representations and its large altarpiece in carved and gilded wood.

chartreuse-visit-friends
jeromemorel


The monastery of Saint Sauveur Charterhouse

The history of the region could not be told without mentioning the Chartreuse Saint-Sauveur, jewel of flamboyant gothic art. Immerse yourself in the daily life of Carthusian monks of yesteryear and marvel at one of the largest cloisters in France !

ordeal-orientation-villefranche
jeromemorel


Calvary Saint-Jean d'Aigremont

Treat yourself to the most beautiful panorama in Villefranche-de-Rouergue! The site overlooks the vallée in which wind the Aveyron and the Alzou and dominates the city from the top of its 400 meters of altitude. 

A nugget that deserves! Count around thirty minutes of walking for the most athletic and a few kilometers by car for the others.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Belle place, musée, monuments, on vous donne ici notre TOP des incontournables à visiter à Villefranche-de-Rouergue. Arpentez la ville à la découverte de ces pépites !

panorama-collegiale-villefranche
JeromeMorel

La place Notre Dame

Toutes les rues mènent à cette place. La collégiale qui l’enjambe sera votre point de repère. Entourée d’arcades surmontées de demeures gothiques ou Renaissance, la place centrale est un immanquable de votre visite !

Elle est le cœur marchand de la cité depuis des siècles. La preuve, chaque jeudi matin s’y déroule l’un des plus beaux marchés de la région.

Le saviez-vous ?

La fontaine de la place Notre Dame donne l’heure. Il vous suffit de compter le nombre de jets d’eau en marche. Les minutes sont identifiées par 60 petites lampes oranges disposées au centre de la fontaine. Une ampoule supplémentaire s’allume pour chaque minute qui passe. Ouvrez l’œil !

villefrance-rouergue-notredame
Agence Les Conteurs


La collégiale Notre Dame

Depuis la place Notre Dame, levez les yeux vers ce géant de pierre. Avec ses 58 mètres de hauteur, cet édifice gothique étonne plus d’un passant. En avançant jusqu’au cœur, admirez les stalles sculptées par André Sulpice. Ouvrez l’œil, les thèmes du bestiaire fantastique et de la vie quotidienne médiévale y sont représentés. Saurez-vous retrouver la sirène, les lions et la chouette ?

En été, montez les 163 marches de l’escalier en colimaçon au rythme du carillon et accédez à un superbe panorama sur les toits de la Bastide de Villefranche.

plafond-chapelle-penitent
JeromeMorel


La chapelle baroque des pénitents noirs

D’extérieur, cette chapelle au toit en lauze et en forme de croix grecque apparaît bien discrète. L’habit ne fait pas le moine ! Laissez-vous surprendre par un véritable chef-d’œuvre de l’art baroque. Le décor de la voûte entièrement peinte vous éblouira par la profusion de ses représentations figuratives et son grand retable en bois sculpté et doré.

chartreuse-visite-amis
JeromeMorel


Le monastère de la chartreuse Saint Sauveur

L’Histoire de la région ne pourrait pas se raconter sans évoquer la Chartreuse Saint-Sauveur, joyau de l’art gothique flamboyant. Plongez-vous dans la vie quotidienne des moines chartreux d’antan et émerveillez-vous devant l’un des plus grands cloîtres de France !

calvaire-orientation-villefranche
JeromeMorel


Le calvaire Saint-Jean d’Aigremont

Offrez-vous le plus beau panorama sur Villefranche-de-Rouergue ! Le site surplombe la vallée dans laquelle serpentent l’Aveyron et l’Alzou et domine la ville du haut de ses 400 mètres d’altitude. 

Une pépite qui se mérite ! Comptez une trentaine de minutes de marche pour les plus sportifs et quelques kilomètres en voiture pour les autres.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu