Overlooking the bastide town of Villefranche-de-Rouergue from its 400 meters above sea level, the Calvaire site offers an exceptional panorama of the ancient medieval city.

A point of view that deserves

From the city center, take the old roman road to access the oppidum: one of the most beautiful panoramas on the royal bastide. A nugget that deserves! Count around twenty minutes of walking for the most athletic and a few kilometers by car on the D47 for the others.

On foot, you will have to go up the Stations of the Cross to reach the heights of Villefranche.
From up there, you can guess the gridded urban plan of the country house, the imposing bell tower of the collegiate and the valley through which the Aveyron and the Alzou meander.

From the Gallic oppidum to the current site

The Calvary dominates a difficult access site logically called “d'Aigremont”. Passing to be a ancient Gallic oppidum, it was crossed by a roman road connecting Rodez to Cahors and used to transport silver ore.

On the site of an old medieval castle now destroyed, two religious buildings were built there: Saint John the Baptist Church and Chapel of the Holy Sepulcher. Dedicated to Saint Carpil, the first was backed by a cemetery occupying one of the slopes of the hill. During excavations carried out during the XNUMXth century, vestiges were discovered there attesting to a necropolis in use since the XNUMXth century.

The Chapel of the Holy Sepulcher

Built on the highest point of the hill of Saint Jean d'Aigremont by Célestin Lacombe, near a hermitage located against the church and in which he had just retired, the building was consecrated June 23, 1715 in the presence of the brotherhood of blue penitents. Célestin Lacombe, a former military surgeon, who became a monk and hermit, who enjoyed great renown among the common people, was known for treating and miraculously curing the destitute.

The primitive chapel, of which the portal and the window of the facade remain, was partly destroyed during the Revolution.

It was rebuilt from 1821 thanks to a donation made by Madame Roziers-Labastide, then prioress of the Brotherhood of Blue Penitents. The building with a single nave flanked by buttresses, which once housed a sculpted ensemble, closed the procession in which the Black and Blue penitents took part on Good Friday.

Each of the two brotherhoods, crossing the city adorned with its distinctive attributes, took the painful way of the cross, climbing the old Roman road to the chapel, this new Golgotha, to physically and symbolically reconstitute the last episode of the Passion of Christ. .

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Dominant la bastide de Villefranche-de-Rouergue du haut de ses 400 mètres d’altitude, le site du Calvaire offre un panorama exceptionnel sur l‘ancienne cité médiévale.

Un point de vue qui se mérite

Depuis le centre-ville, empruntez l’ancienne voie romaine pour accéder à l’oppidum : l’un des plus beaux panoramas sur la bastide royale. Une pépite qui se mérite ! Comptez une vingtaine de minutes de marche pour les plus sportifs et quelques kilomètres en voiture sur la D47 pour les autres.

À pied, il vous faudra remonter le chemin de croix pour atteindre les hauteurs de Villefranche.
De là-haut, vous pourrez deviner le plan urbain quadrillé de la bastide, l’imposant clocher de la collégiale et la vallée dans laquelle serpentent l’Aveyron et l’Alzou.

De l’oppidum gaulois au site actuel

Le Calvaire domine un site d’accès pénible logiquement appelé “d’Aigremont”. Passant pour être un ancien oppidum gaulois, il fut traversé par une voie romaine reliant Rodez à Cahors et servant à acheminer du minerai d’argent.

À l’emplacement d’un ancien château médiéval aujourd’hui détruit, deux édifices religieux y furent construits : l’église Saint-Jean-Baptiste et la chapelle du Saint-Sépulcre. Dédiée à saint Carpil, la première était adossée d’un cimetière occupant l’un des versants de la colline. Lors de fouilles menées au cours du XXe siècle, on y découvrit des vestiges attestant d’une nécropole en usage depuis le Ve siècle.

La chapelle du Saint-Sépulcre

Edifié sur le point culminant de la colline de Saint Jean d’Aigremont par Célestin Lacombe, à proximité d’un ermitage situé contre l’église et dans lequel il venait de se retirer, l’édifice fut consacré le 23 juin 1715 en présence de la confrérie des pénitents Bleus. Célestin Lacombe, ancien chirurgien militaire, devenu religieux et ermite, qui jouissait d’une grande renommée parmi le petit peuple, était connu pour soigner et guérir miraculeusement les indigents.

La chapelle primitive, dont il subsiste le portail et la fenêtre de la façade, fut détruite en partie pendant la Révolution.

Elle fut reconstruite à partir de 1821 grâce à une donation faite par Madame Roziers-Labastide, alors prieure de la confrérie des pénitents Bleus. L’édifice à nef unique flanquée de contreforts, qui abritait autrefois un ensemble sculpté, clôturait la procession à laquelle se livraient les pénitents Noirs et Bleus le Vendredi saint.

Chacune des deux confréries, traversant la ville parée de ses attributs distinctifs, empruntait le pénible chemin de croix, gravissant l’ancienne voie romaine jusqu’à la chapelle, ce nouveau Golgotha, pour reconstituer physiquement et symboliquement le dernier épisode de la Passion du Christ.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu