In the majestic setting of the Lot valley, one hour from Villefranche de Rouergue, Cahors, City of art and history, is made for the joy of exploration. From its Valentré bridge, emblem of the city, stroll through its medieval streets full of charm.

How to get there ?

From Villefranche de Rouergue: take the D911 towards Cahors (about 1 hour)
Our advice: on your way, make a detour to Saint Cirq Lapopie, one of the most beautiful villages in France

Valentre Bridge in Cahors
Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

Cahors: between heritage and art of living

Du Valentre bridge to the St. Stephen's Cathedral, passing by the market place and the terraces of the boulevard Gambetta, the first city of the Lot combines southern atmosphere, historical wealth and gourmet pleasures.

City of Cahors
Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

The iconic hearts

Over the Lot valley, discover the emblematic hearts of the Grand Site Occitanie. Of Saint Cirq Lapopie à Puy the Bishop, follow the meanders of the river. Between high cliffs and vineyards, contemplate sublime landscapes.

Loading
Loading

Tips

Sabine Baldès, winemaker in Cahors gives you her tips for discovering the Grand Site Occitanie Cahors, Lot Valley.

Cahors, City of art and history

First stage : the Valentré bridge, emblem of the city. With superb unshakeable he crossed the river carrying his three fortified towers. XNUMXth century building, the Valentre bridge as the St. Stephen's Cathedral is registered at world heritage by UNESCO.
At the turn of the medieval streets, we savor the charm of the renovated squares and the inventiveness of the Secret Gardens that bloom the city. The arcades of the shops of the Middle Ages welcome restaurants, cafes and shops. In the shade of the plane trees, Boulevard Gambetta, a heritage of the XNUMXth century, invites you to stroll and relax.

Not to be missed, on Wednesday and Saturday mornings: the gourmet market which takes place at the gates of Saint-Étienne Cathedral.

Destination Vignobles
Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

Destination Vineyards

Cahors is located in the heart of the vineyard who carries his name. Its territory is the cradle of a long line of winemaking know-how.

From Saint Cirq Lapopie to Puy l'Evêque

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

Three quarters of an hour from Villefranche de Rouergue, via Cajarc, follow a road lined with cliffs that weaves its way through the Lot valley. It takes you to an unforgettable spectacle: that of Saint-Cirq-Lapopie. This marvelously intact medieval village hugs the rock face 100 meters above the river. He was also elected "Favorite village of the French" of the year 2012.

After visiting Cahors, continue your journey to Puy-L'Eveque, medieval city of Lot valley. Take the alleys and stairs of the village built on its rocky promontory. Along the hanging gardens, the walk will take you to the craftsmen's quarter and the old port where the commercial activities linked to the transport of wine were grouped.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Dans le décor majestueux de la vallée du Lot, à une heure de Villefranche de Rouergue, Cahors, Ville d’art et d’histoire, est faite pour le bonheur de l’exploration. Depuis son pont-Valentré, emblème de la ville, parcourez ses ruelles médiévales pleines de charme.

Comment s’y rendre ?

Depuis Villefranche de Rouergue : prendre la D911 direction Cahors (environ 1 heure)
Notre conseil : sur votre route, faites un crochet par Saint Cirq Lapopie, un des plus beaux villages de France

Pont Valentré à Cahors
Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

Cahors : entre patrimoine et art de vivre

Du pont Valentré à la cathédrale Saint-Étienne, en passant par la place du marché et les terrasses du boulevard Gambetta, la première ville du Lot conjugue ambiance méridionale, richesses historiques et plaisirs gourmands.

Ville de Cahors
Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

Les cœurs emblématiques

Au fil de la vallée du Lot, découvrez les cœurs emblématiques du Grand Site Occitanie. De Saint Cirq Lapopie à Puy l’évêque, suivez les méandres de la rivière. Entre hautes falaises et vignobles, contemplez de sublimes paysages.

Chargement en cours
Chargement en cours

Les bons plans

Sabine Baldès, vigneronne à Cahors vous livre ses bons plans pour découvrir le Grand Site Occitanie Cahors, vallée du Lot.

Cahors, Ville d’art et d’histoire

Première étape : le pont Valentré, emblème de la ville. Avec une superbe inébranlable, il franchit la rivière en portant ses trois tours fortifiées. Édifice du XIVe siècle, le pont Valentré comme la cathédrale Saint-Étienne est inscrit au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO.
Au détour des ruelles médiévales, on savoure le charme des placettes rénovées et l’inventivité des Jardins Secrets qui fleurissent la ville. Les arcades des boutiques du Moyen Âge accueillent restaurants, cafés et commerces. A l’ombre des platanes, le boulevard Gambetta, héritage du XIXe siècle, invite à la promenade et à la détente.

Rendez-vous à ne pas manquer, le mercredi et le samedi matin: le marché gourmand qui se déroule aux portes de la cathédrale Saint-Étienne.

Destination Vignobles
Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

Destination Vignobles

Cahors est placée au cœur du vignoble qui porte son nom. Son territoire est le berceau d’un savoir-faire viticole de grande lignée.

De Saint Cirq Lapopie à Puy l’évêque

Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

A trois quarts d’heure de Villefranche de Rouergue, en passant par Cajarc, suivez une route bordée de falaises qui se faufile dans la vallée du Lot. Elle vous emmène vers un spectacle inoubliable : celui de Saint-Cirq-Lapopie. Ce village médiéval, merveilleusement intact, épouse la paroi rocheuse à 100 mètres au-dessus de la rivière. Il a d’ailleurs été élu « Village préféré des Français » de l’année 2012.

Après avoir visiter Cahors, poursuivez votre route jusqu’à Puy-L’évêque, cité médiévale de la vallée du Lot. Empruntez les ruelles et escaliers du village bâti sur son promontoire rocheux. Au fil des jardins suspendus, la balade vous mènera jusqu’au quartier des artisans et à l’ancien port où se regroupaient les activités commerciales liées au transport du vin.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu