Between the Lot and Célé Valleys, explore the town of Figeac and its surroundings. Stroll through the historic center and follow in the footsteps of Champollion at the Museum of World Scriptures.

A stage on the way to Santiago de Compostela

From Figeac, follow the Via Podensis, one of the four major routes to reach Santiago de Compostela. Frequented since the XNUMXth century, it begins in Puy-en-Velay, passes through Aubrac and Conques before joining Figeac. This route is today the route most taken by pilgrims!  

The iconic hearts

From the church of Notre Dame du Puy which overlooks the old town, reach the historic center of Figeac. From squares to alleys, contemplate the sculpted facades et half-timbered houses of the Middle Ages. Go back in time to Champollion museum and before going to explore the surroundings, enter the Church of St. Saviour, comparable to the Sainte-Foy church in Conques.

Loading
Loading

The good plans of Paul Couderc

Paul Couderc, mountain bike free rider from Figeac, gives you his tips for discovering the Grand Site Occitanie of Figeac - Lot and Célé Valleys.

The Champollion Museum – The Writings of the World

If there is one must-visit site in Figeac, it is the Champollion museum ! Already from the outside, it catches the eye with its facade mixing medieval and contemporary architecture. Push open its doors and, just like Jean-François Champollion, unravel the mystery of hieroglyphics in your turn!

On four levels and eight rooms, familiarize yourself with the birth of alphabets, the Fmanufacture of parchment and discover a exceptional collection : mummy, bronze statuettes, manuscripts…

Cajarc

Let yourself be carried along by the water

Cajarc
C. Novello

The Lot and Célé Valleys

Around Figeac, enjoy beautiful landscapes by following the Cele Valley. Make a stop at Priory of Espagnac-Sainte-Eulalie, founded in the XNUMXth century before visiting Marcilhac-sur-Cele and his abbey. On the heights of Figeac, stop at Cardaillac, one of the most beautiful villages in France. Admire its Fort, a vestige of its rich feudal past. In Lacapelle-Marival, admire the XNUMXth century paintings and XNUMXth century decorations of the castle.Take the time to contemplate by letting yourself be carried along the Lot valley to Cajarc. Stroll through the charming alleys of this village and take a seat on one of its terraces.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Entre Vallées du Lot et du Célé, explorez la ville de Figeac et ses environs. Arpentez le centre historique et suivez les pas de Champollion au musée des Ecritures du monde.

Comment s'y rendre ?

Depuis Villefranche de Rouergue : prendre la D922 en direction de Figeac (environ 40 minutes / 25 minutes depuis Villeneuve)

Une étape du chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle

Au départ de Figeac, suivez la Via Podensis, l’une des quatre grandes voies pour rejoindre Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. Fréquentée depuis le XIIe siècle, elle débute au Puy-en-Velay, passe par l’Aubrac et Conques avant de rejoindre Figeac. Cette voie est aujourd’hui le chemin le plus emprunté par les pèlerins !  

Les cœurs emblématiques

Depuis l’église Notre Dame du Puy qui surplombe la vieille ville, rejoignez le centre historique de Figeac. De places en ruelles, contemplez les façades sculptées et maisons à pans de bois du Moyen Age. Remontez le temps au musée Champollion et avant d’aller explorer les environs, entrez dans l’église Saint-Sauveur, comparable à l’église Sainte-Foy de Conques.

Chargement en cours
Chargement en cours

Les bons plans de Paul Couderc

Paul Couderc, VTT free rider originaire de Figeac, vous livre ses bons plans pour découvrir le Grand Site Occitanie de Figeac – Vallées du Lot et du Célé.

Le musée Champollion – Les Ecritures du Monde

S’il y a bien un site de visite incontournable à Figeac, c’est le musée Champollion ! Déjà depuis l’extérieur, il attire l’œil avec sa façade mêlant architectures médiévale et contemporaine. Poussez ses portes et, tout comme Jean-François Champollion, percez à votre tour le mystère des hiéroglyphes !

Sur quatre niveaux et huit salles, familiarisez-vous avec la naissance des alphabets, la fabrication du parchemin et découvrez une collection exceptionnelle : momie, statuettes de bronze, manuscrits…

Cajarc

Laissez-vous porter au fil de l’eau

Cajarc
C.Novello

Les Vallées du Lot et du Célé

Autour de Figeac, profitez de beaux paysages en suivant la vallée du Célé. Faites une halte au Prieuré d’Espagnac-Sainte-Eulalie, fondé au XIIe siècle avant de visiter Marcilhac-sur-Célé et son abbaye. Sur les hauteurs de Figeac, arrêtez-vous à Cardaillac, l’un des plus beaux villages de France. Admirez son Fort, vestige de son riche passé féodal. À Lacapelle-Marival, admirez les peintures du XVe siècle et décors du XVIIe siècle du château.Prenez le temps de la contemplation en vous laissant porter au fil de la vallée du Lot jusqu’à Cajarc. Baladez-vous dans les charmantes ruelles de ce village et installez-vous à l’une de ses terrasses.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu