Dominating the valleys of the Aveyron and the Vère, the castles of Bruniquel are a must in this charming medieval town in Tarn-et-Garonne, listed as one of the “Most Beautiful Villages in France”. Perched on a rocky outcrop, the two buildings bear witness to a rich history transcribed through exceptional architecture. 

The village of Bruniquel: an exceptional site

ADT82 – Lauriane Donzelli – CRTL Occitanie
Bruniquel, Tarn and Garonne

A village in the heart of the Aveyron gorges

Perfectly located at the heart of a tourist crossroads between Toulouse, Cahors, Albi and Villefranche-de-Rouergue, Bruniquel is a jewel of gorges of the Aveyron. Occupied for nearly 15 years, the site features rock shelters and decorated caves containing prehistoric art objects of inestimable value.

One of the most beautiful villages in France

Edged elegant mansions from the XNUMXth, XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries, the town boasts limestone facades, climbing roses, lilacs and narrow streets paved with pebbles. Among the astonishing particularities of the city, its streets with quite surprising names such as the rue Bombe-Cul and rue Trotte-Garces, this is enough to arouse the curiosity of visitors! 

Two castles in one 

The Old Castle

Built on a ancient fortified castrum, the first castle would have seen the light of day a few decades after the fall of the Roman Empire, around 575. During the crusade against the Albigensians, the building was destroyed by the royal troops because it sheltered Cathar dissidents, allies of the counts of Toulouse, the viscounts of Bruniquel. It was on its ruins that the Old Castle, still visible today, in the course of the XNUMXth century.

The Young Castle

Following family quarrels, one of the heirs decided to sell the land located east of his castle to his cousin, Maffre of Comminges. Between 1485 and 1510, the latter established a new castle, the young. For three centuries, there were constant quarrels between the two branches. The Château Vieux still bears the remains of these various attacks, particularly in the so-called Knights' Hall. At the end of the 1980th century, the Viscount of Château Vieux decided to buy Château Jeune. Only the Château Vieux continued to be inhabited until 1987, the year of the death of the last viscountess of Bruniquel. Abandoned for two centuries, the Château Jeune was considerably damaged until it was bought by the municipality in XNUMX.  

According to legend…

The Merovingian queen Brunehaut is said to have built the primitive castle in the XNUMXth century, but it was only after the year XNUMX that the city experienced its real boom thanks to the flax, hemp and saffron trade. Due to its exceptional geographical location, the site offered a first-rate stopover for pilgrims en route to Santiago de Compostela.

To see in the castles

Classified as Historic Monuments in 1840 by Prosper Mérimée, the two buildings offer some rarities such as a 90th century keep, a ceremonial room and a XNUMXth century kitchen equipped with a surprising nine-hole vegetable garden, ancestor of the stove, and a Renaissance-style gallery overlooking the Aveyron River at a height of XNUMX meters. The exteriors are just as pleasant with very beautiful gardens offering a pleasant stopover in all seasons.

A famous filming location

In 1975, director Robert Enrico used the castles as sets for his film "The Old Gun" with Philippe Noiret and Romy Schneider. The story of a peaceful surgeon from Montauban avenging the murder of his wife and daughter in a village decimated by a German division remains a highlight of local history. Michel Montet, mayor of the village of 610 inhabitants, recalls: “Every time the film is shown on television, which sometimes happens several times a year, there is an influx of visitors. ". For the filming, adjustments were made, such as the construction of a drawbridge, now destroyed. Conversely, the well in which the main character slaughters his first victim is still there.

Visit the castles of Bruniquel

The monument is open to visitors and hosts many events every year, including the lyrical castle festival, the Vert-Tige plant market and the Batucadas concert in mid-September. Several meetings of craftsmen and exhibitions, permanent and temporary, punctuate the site throughout the tourist season.  

In order to view the different information, you can use the navigation arrows placed to the right of the table

Opening hours from April 01 to June 30, 2024
Monday Open from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Tuesday Open from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Wednesday Open from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Thursday Open from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Friday Open from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Saturday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Sunday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Opening hours from July 01 to August 31, 2024
Monday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Tuesday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Wednesday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Thursday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Friday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Saturday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Sunday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Opening hours from September 01 to October 31, 2024
Monday Open from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Tuesday Open from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Wednesday Open from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Thursday Open from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Friday Open from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Saturday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Sunday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Opening hours from November 01 to November 11, 2024
Monday Open from 10 a.m. to 17 p.m.
Tuesday Open from 10 a.m. to 17 p.m.
Wednesday Open from 10 a.m. to 17 p.m.
Thursday Open from 10 a.m. to 17 p.m.
Friday Open from 10 a.m. to 17 p.m.
Saturday Open from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Sunday Open from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m.
The Châteaux remain open for groups by reservation after November 11.
Prices Min. Max.
Individual adult free visit
5 € -
Open. Closes at 19:00 p.m.

Bruniquel castles

Bruniquel town hall
82800 Bruniquel
Calculate my route

Was this content useful to you?

Save

Share this content

Dominant les vallées de l’Aveyron et de la Vère, les châteaux de Bruniquel sont un incontournable de cette charmante cité médiévale tarn-et-garonnaise classée au titre des « Plus Beaux Villages de France ». Perchés sur un éperon rocheux, les deux édifices témoignent d’une riche Histoire retranscrite par le biais d’une architecture d’exception. 

Le village de Bruniquel : un site d’exception

Bruniquel, Tarn et Garonne
ADT82 – Lauriane Donzelli – CRTL Occitanie

Parfaitement situé au cœur d’un carrefour touristique entre Toulouse, Cahors, Albi et Villefranche-de-Rouergue, Bruniquel est un joyau des gorges de l’Aveyron. Occupé depuis près de 15 000 ans, le site présente des abris sous roche et des grottes ornées recelant des objets d’art préhistorique d’une valeur inestimable.

Selon la légende…

La reine mérovingienne Brunehaut aurait bâti le château primitif au VIe siècle mais ce n’est qu’après l’an Mil que la cité connut son véritable essor grâce au commerce du lin, du chanvre et du safran. Par sa situation géographique d’exception, le site offrait une halte de premier plan pour les pèlerins en route vers Saint-Jacques de Compostelle.

Bordé d’élégantes demeures des XIVe, XVe et XVIe siècles, le bourg s’enorgueillit de façades en pierre calcaire, de rosiers grimpants, de lilas et de ruelles étroites pavées de galets. Parmi les étonnantes particularités de la cité, ses voies aux noms tout à fait surprenants comme la rue Bombe-Cul et la rue Trotte-Garces, voilà de quoi attiser la curiosité des visiteurs ! 

Deux châteaux en un 

Edifié sur un ancien castrum fortifié, le premier château aurait vu le jour quelques décennies après la chute de l’Empire romain, aux alentours de 575. Pendant la croisade menée contre les Albigeois, le bâti fut détruit par les troupes royales car abritant des dissidents cathares, alliés des comtes de Toulouse, les vicomtes de Bruniquel. C’est sur ses ruines que fut construit le Château Vieux, encore visible aujourd’hui, dans le courant du XIIIe siècle.

A la suite de querelles familiales, un des héritiers décida de vendre les terres situées à l’est de son château à son cousin, Maffre de Comminges. Entre 1485 et 1510, ce dernier y établit un nouveau château, le Jeune. Pendant trois siècles, il n’y eut de cesse de querelles entre les deux branches. Le château Vieux porte toujours les vestiges de ces différentes attaques, notamment dans la salle dite des Chevaliers. A la fin du XVIIIe siècle, le vicomte du Château Vieux décida de racheter le Château Jeune. Seul le Château Vieux continua d’être habité jusqu’en 1980, année du décès de la dernière vicomtesse de Bruniquel. Laissé à l’abandon pendant deux siècles, le Château Jeune s’abîma considérablement jusqu’à son rachat par la municipalité en 1987.  

À voir dans les châteaux

Classés au titre des Monuments Historiques en 1840 par Prosper Mérimée, les deux édifices offrent quelques raretés comme un donjon du XIIe siècle, une salle d’apparat et une cuisine du XVIIe siècle équipée d’un surprenant potager à neuf trous, ancêtre du fourneau, et une galerie de style Renaissance surplombant la rivière Aveyron à 90 mètres de hauteur. Les extérieurs sont tout aussi agréables avec de très beaux jardins offrant une halte agréable en toutes saisons.

Un célèbre lieu de tournage

En 1975, le réalisateur Robert Enrico utilisa les châteaux comme décors pour son film « Le vieux fusil » avec Philippe Noiret et Romy Schneider. L’histoire d’un paisible chirurgien de Montauban vengeant le meurtre de sa femme et de sa fille dans un village décimé par une division allemande reste un temps fort de l’histoire locale. Michel Montet, maire du village de 610 habitants, rappelle : « A chaque fois que le film repasse à la télévision, ce qui arrive parfois plusieurs fois par an, il y a un afflux de visiteurs. ». Pour le tournage, des aménagements furent réalisés, comme la construction d’un pont-levis aujourd’hui détruit. A contrario, le puits dans lequel le personnage principal abat sa première victime est toujours là.

Visiter les châteaux de Bruniquel

Le monument est ouvert à la visite et accueille chaque année de nombreux événements parmi lesquels le festival lyrique des châteaux, le marché aux plantes Vert-Tige et le concert des Batucadas, mi-septembre. Plusieurs rencontres d’artisans d’art et des expositions, permanentes et temporaires, rythment le site tout au long de la saison touristique.  

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu