Colourful, gourmet, commercial, Albi welcomes you to an almost Italian way of life just 1 hour from Najac. Visit its Episcopal City, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

How to get there ?

From Najac : follow Laquépie to take the D922. After passing Cordes-sur-Ciel, take the D600 to Albi (about 1 hour)

A historic center with a rich heritage

Very lively, the "Old Alby" is at the heart of the activity that reigns in this city of 53 inhabitants. Inherited from Middle Ages, it offers a vast and pleasant maze to explore. Its streets are lined with half-timbered houses, shops, beautiful mansions built at the Renaissance through the trade of cake and other treasures of Albigensian heritage.

Albi
Dominique VIET – CRTL Occitanie

Sainte-Cécile cathedral, the object of all eyes, dominates the episcopal city and the city of Albi in a masterful way. It is a true masterpiece of southern Gothic art. Inside: a remarkable decor with the greatest " Last judgement from the Middle Ages, and the largest collection of Italian paintings produced in France at the start of the Renaissance.

Backed by the cathedral, the Berbie Palace was once home to the powerful bishops of Albi. It now houses the Toulouse-Lautrec museum, devoted to the famous painter born in Albi in 1864.

The episcopal city: emblematic heart of Albi

A world heritage jewel, the Episcopal city has retained its old appearance marked by the Old Bridge, fortifications which run along the Tarn, Berbie Palace and the mighty Sainte-Cécile cathedral, gigantic brick vessel erected above the Tarn. Immerse yourself in this place steeped in history.

Tips

Laura Miquel, hotelier in Albi gives you her tips for discovering the Grand Site Occitanie Albi, Tarn Valley.

Remarkable museums

The Toulouse-Lautrec Museum
With more than 1 early paintings, major portraits, drawings, posters and lithographs, the Toulouse-Lautrec museum in Albi watches over the largest collection in the world devoted to this famous Albigensian artist.  

The Lapérouse Museum
Dedicated to the famous Albigensian navigator and explorer Jean-François de Galaup de Lapérouse, the museum retraces the story of his expedition around the world aboard the Astrolabe.

The fashion museum
At the heart of a former convent, the museum houses Dominique Miraille's private collection, ie thousands of pieces: clothing, jewellery, fashion accessories… presented in the context of thematic exhibitions.     

Toulouse-Lautrec Museum in Albi

Immerse yourself in the world of Toulouse-Lautrec

A valley with hilly landscapes

Real balcony on the Tarn river, Albi will charm you with its historic center of red bricks, its medieval houses and Renaissance hotels. During your holidays, extend your discovery of the Grand Site Occitanie by following the river Tarn.

Take a nature getaway to Ambialet peninsula, embraced by a meander of the Tarn for 3km and take a relaxing break on the Avalats squares and Trebas-les-Bains

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Colorée, gourmande, commerçante, Albi vous accueille dans une douceur de vivre presque italienne à seulement 1 heure de Najac. Visitez sa Cité épiscopale, classée au Patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco.

Comment s’y rendre ?

Depuis Najac : suivre Laquépie pour prendre la D922. Après avoir passé Cordes-sur-Ciel, prendre la D600 jusqu’à Albi (environ 1h)

Un centre historique au riche patrimoine

Très vivant, le « Vieil Alby » se place au cœur de l’activité qui règne dans cette ville de 53 000 habitants. Hérité du Moyen Age, il offre un vaste et agréable dédale à explorer. Ses ruelles sont bordées de maisons à colombages, de boutiques, de beaux hôtels particuliers bâtis à la Renaissance grâce au commerce du pastel et autres trésors du patrimoine albigeois.

Albi
Dominique VIET – CRTL Occitanie

La cathédrale Sainte-Cécile, objet de tous les regards, domine la cité épiscopale et la ville d’Albi d’une façon magistrale. Elle est un véritable chef-d’œuvre de l’art gothique méridional. A l’intérieur : un décor remarquable avec le plus grand « Jugement Dernier » du Moyen Age, et le plus vaste ensemble de peintures italiennes réalisées en France au début de la Renaissance.

Adossé à la cathédrale, le palais de la Berbie était autrefois la demeure des puissants évêques d’Albi. Il abrite aujourd’hui le musée Toulouse-Lautrec, consacré au célèbre peintre né à Albi en 1864.

La cité épiscopale : cœur emblématique d’Albi

Joyau du patrimoine mondial, la Cité épiscopale a conservé son ancienne physionomie marquée par le Pont-vieux, les fortifications qui longent le Tarn, le palais de la Berbie et la puissante cathédrale Sainte-Cécile, gigantesque vaisseau de brique dressé au-dessus du Tarn. Imprégnez-vous de ce lieu chargé d’Histoire.

Les bons plans

Laura Miquel, hôtelière à Albi vous livre ses bons plans pour découvrir le Grand Site Occitanie Albi, vallée du Tarn.

Des musées remarquables

Le musée Toulouse-Lautrec
Avec plus de 1 000 toiles de jeunesse, portraits majeurs, dessins, affiches et lithographies, le musée Toulouse-Lautrec d’Albi veille sur la collection la plus importante au monde consacrée à ce célèbre artiste albigeois.  

Le musée Lapérouse
Dédié célèbre navigateur et explorateur albigeois Jean-François de Galaup de Lapérouse, le musée retrace l’histoire de son expédition autour du monde à bord de l’Astrolabe.

Le musée de la mode
Au cœur d’un ancien couvent, le musée abrite la collection privée de Dominique Miraille soit des milliers de pièces : vêtements, bijoux, accessoires de mode… présentées dans le cadre d’expositions thématiques.     

Musée Toulouse-Lautrec à Albi

Plongez dans l’univers de Toulouse-Lautrec

Une vallée aux paysages vallonnés

Véritable balcon sur la rivière du Tarn, Albi vous charmera avec son centre historique de briques rouges, ses maisons médiévales et hôtels de la Renaissance. Pendant vos vacances, prolongez votre découverte du Grand Site Occitanie en suivant la rivière Tarn.

Faites une escapade nature à la presqu’île d’Ambialet, enlacé par un méandre du Tarn sur 3km et prenez une pause farniente sur les places des Avalats et de Trébas-les-Bains

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu