À one hour from Villefranche de Rouergue, let yourself be enchanted by the charming village of Conques. A must stop on the way to Santiago de Compostela, Conques will take you back to the time of the great builders of the Middle Ages.

On the way to Santiago de Compostela

Major step on the Way of Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, the site of Conques is home to an exceptional Romanesque heritage!

Its importance in the Jacobean pilgrimage has earned Conques to be registered in the world heritage by UNESCO for two monuments: Sainte-Foy abbey church, famous for its Last Judgment tympanum, and the pilgrims bridge which crosses the river Dourdou.

A little history…

It all started in the XNUMXth century. At that time, enterprising monks built a large abbey on the foundations of an old hermitage. The latter became the repository of the relics of Sainte-Foy, a young Christian martyr. From then on, miracles followed one another, attracting crowds of pilgrims.

The iconic hearts

During your walk, discover the emblematic hearts of the Grand Site Occitanie de Conques.

The good plans of Hervé Busset

Chef Hervé Busset gives you his favorite places and activities in and around Conques.

The Romanesque Sainte-Foy abbey

Admire the Romanesque abbey, its contemporary stained glass windows by Pierre Soulages, its Last Judgment tympanum and one of the greatest treasures of medieval goldsmithery: the majesty saint foy in gold and precious prayers.

Sainte-Foy de Conques, planned to welcome hundreds of pilgrims, is still the guarantor of the spirit of pilgrimage. Illuminated by contemporary stained glass windows by Pierre Soulages, it is the synthesis of architectural research carried out in medieval times. Within it, spiritual radiance and Romanesque art form a united couple for eternity.

Trésor d'orfèvrerie de Conques

The Treasure of Conques

One of the 5 great European treasures of medieval goldsmithery and the only one in France, which brings together so many objects from the High Middle Ages.
Read more
Tympan de l'abbatiale de Conques

The Last Judgment Tympanum

6,70 meters wide and 3,60 meters high, it houses one hundred and twenty-four figures in a quite remarkable state of preservation.
Read more
Vitraux de Pierre Soulages

The stained glass windows of Soulages

One hundred and four contemporary stained glass windows made by Pierre Soulages illuminate the Sainte-Foy abbey.
Read more

The Nights of Conques

From April to October, at nightfall, marvel at the illuminated tympanum of the abbey church. Observe the 124 sculpted characters highlighted by a remarkable polychromy game... A unique visual and artistic experience!

One of the Most Beautiful Villages in France

Arrived intact from the depths of the year XNUMX, the village of Conques lives in a harmony of bluish gray schist, ocher limestone and red sandstone. Stroll through its cobbled streets blooming with roses and beautiful wisteria and contemplate the half-timbered facades et slate roofs.

Around this charming medieval village, enjoy an exceptional natural setting, between the Lot valley, Rougier de Marcillac…

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

À une heure de Villefranche de Rouergue, laissez-vous envoûter par le charmant village de Conques. Halte incontournable sur le chemin vers Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, Conques vous fera voyager au temps des grands bâtisseurs du Moyen Age.

Comment s'y rendre ?

Depuis Villefranche de Rouergue : prendre la D1 en direction de Lanuéjouls puis la D5 direction Decazeville. Enfin, poursuivre sur cette voie en direction de Conques.

Sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle

Etape majeure sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, le site de Conques abrite un patrimoine roman exceptionnel !

Son importance dans le pèlerinage jacquaire a valu à Conques d’être inscrit au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO pour deux monuments : l’abbatiale Sainte-Foy, célèbre pour son tympan du Jugement Dernier, et le pont des pèlerins qui franchit la rivière du Dourdou.

Un peu d’Histoire…

Tout commença au XIème siècle. A cette époque, des moines entreprenants édifièrent, sur les bases d’un ancien ermitage, une grande abbatiale. Cette dernière devint dépositaire des reliques de Sainte-Foy, une jeune martyre chrétienne. A partir de ce moment-là, les miracles se succédèrent, attirant des foules de pèlerins.

Les cœurs emblématiques

Au fil de votre balade, découvrez les cœurs emblématiques du Grand Site Occitanie de Conques.

Les bons plans d’Hervé Busset

Le Chef Hervé Busset vous livre ses lieux et activités préférés à Conques et aux alentours.

L’abbatiale romane Sainte-Foy

Admirez l’abbatiale romane, ses vitraux contemporains réalisés par Pierre Soulages, son tympan du jugement dernier et l’un des plus grands trésors d’orfèvrerie médiévale : la majesté Sainte Foy en or et prières précieuses.

Sainte-Foy de Conques, prévue pour accueillir des centaines de pèlerins, est toujours garante de l’esprit du pèlerinage. Eclairée par les vitraux contemporains de Pierre Soulages, elle est la synthèse des recherches architecturales menées à l’époque médiévale. En son sein, rayonnement spirituel et art roman forment un couple uni pour l’éternité.

Trésor d'orfèvrerie de Conques

Le Trésor de Conques

L’un des 5 grands trésors européens d’orfèvrerie médiévale et le seul en France, qui regroupe autant d’objets du Haut Moyen Âge.
En savoir plus
Tympan de l'abbatiale de Conques

Le tympan du jugement dernier

Large de 6,70 mètres pour une hauteur de 3,60 mètres, il abrite cent vingt-quatre personnages dans un état de conservation tout à fait remarquable.
En savoir plus
Vitraux de Pierre Soulages

Les vitraux de Soulages

Cent quatre vitraux contemporains réalisés par Pierre Soulages illuminent l’abbatiale Sainte-Foy.
En savoir plus

Les Nocturnes de Conques

D’avril à octobre, à la nuit tombée, émerveillez-vous devant le tympan illuminé de l’abbatiale. Observez les 124 personnages sculptés mis en lumière par un jeu de polychromie remarquable…Une expérience visuelle et artistique unique !

Un des Plus Beaux Villages de France

Arrivé intact des profondeurs de l’An Mil, le village de Conques vit dans une harmonie de schiste gris bleuté, de calcaire ocre et de grès rouge. Baladez-vous dans ses rues pavées fleuries de roses et belles glycines et contemplez les façades à pans de bois et toits de lauzes.

Autour de ce charmant bourg médiéval, profitez d’un cadre naturel exceptionnel, entre vallée du Lot, Rougier de Marcillac…

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu