Located in the heart of Figeac, the Champollion – Les Ecritures du Monde museum invites you on a great journey through history, from the first clay tablets to the latest digital screens… 

The birthplace of Jean-François Champollion 

After a stroll through the streets of historic center of Figeac, go to a pretty square lined with old buildings, Place Champollion! You will find a surprising medieval residence labeled " house of the illustrious » in which was born Jean-François Champollion December 23, 1790!

Assistant professor of history at the University of Grenoble, the latter is known to have pierced the mystery of hieroglyphs ! It was in 1822 that he succeeded in developing a veritable dictionary allowing him to translate these abstruse motifs from ancient Egypt. Push open the doors of the museum and, in turn, make great discoveries!

On the ground floor of the museum, discover all of his work: correspondence letters, personal items, maps retracing his journey to Egypt in 1828 and 1829…

Immerse yourself in the long-term work carried out by this renowned Egyptologist!

Contemplez les incontournables du musée
Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

Contemplate the essentials of the museum

  • the true copy of the Rosetta Stone now on display at the British Museum in London.
  • a mummy from the Ptolemaic period that has retained its linen strips and painted cardboard.

An elegant composite architecture 

Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

Entirely renovated in 2007, the building is adorned with a "Thousand Letters facade" made by the graphic designer Pierre di Sciullo on a copper plate forming a moucharabieh. This association of medieval and oriental architecture highlights the work of Jean-François Champollion on a large number of near and middle-eastern writings.  

At the rear of the building is the square of scriptures, disproportionate reproduction of the Rosetta stone which allowed the French Egyptologist to “hold his business! ". Built in 1990 by the American architect Joseph Kozuth, it is today a symbol of the Lot sub-prefecture.  
In an adjoining courtyard, find the French translation of the original text on a plaque.

Rich and exceptional collections 

Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

Educational and fun, the museum covers four levels et eight rooms and is fully accessible to people with reduced mobility and visual impairments, except for the loggias allowing the reverse side of the facade to be observed and a panoramic view over the roofs of the medieval city.

From Mexico to China via the Mediterranean, the museum's collections are, for the most part, unpublished. Objects inscribed with a brush, reed pen or pen tell how writing appeared 5 years ago for the oldest, traveled and evolved according to the hand of scribes, copyists and printers.  

Themed, the different rooms allow you to become familiar with the birth of alphabets, manufacture of parchment, the arrival of paper, the invention of printing et the rise of digital. Emphasis is also placed on the place of writing in our society and the role it plays in the dissemination of information. A reading room and video distribution as well as an annex presenting temporary exhibitions are also available to visitors.  

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Situé au cœur de Figeac, le musée Champollion – Les Ecritures du Monde vous invite à un grand voyage dans l’Histoire, des premières tablettes en argile aux derniers écrans numériques… 

La demeure natale de Jean-François Champollion 

Après une balade dans les rues du centre historique de Figeac, rendez-vous sur une jolie place bordée de bâtisses anciennes, la place Champollion ! Vous y trouverez une surprenante demeure médiévale labelisée « maison des Illustres » dans laquelle est né Jean-François Champollion le 23 décembre 1790 !

Professeur-adjoint d’histoire à l’université de Grenoble, ce dernier est connu pour avoir percé le mystère des hiéroglyphes ! C’est en 1822 qu’il réussit à mettre au point un véritable dictionnaire permettant de traduire ces motifs abscons de l’Egypte antique. Poussez les portes du musée et, à votre tour, faites de belles découvertes !

Au rez-de-chaussée du musée, découvrez l’ensemble de son œuvre : lettres de correspondance, objets personnels, cartes retraçant son périple en Egypte en 1828 et 1829…

Plongez-vous dans le travail de longue haleine mené par cet égyptologue de renom !

Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

Contemplez les incontournables du musée

  • la copie conforme de la pierre de Rosette aujourd’hui exposée au British Museum de Londres.
  • une momie d’époque ptolémaïque ayant conservé ses bandelettes de lin et ses cartonnages peints.

Une élégante architecture composite 

Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

Entièrement rénové en 2007, l’édifice est orné d’une « façade aux Mille Lettres » réalisée par le graphiste Pierre di Sciullo sur une plaque de cuivre formant moucharabieh. Cette association des architectures médiévale et orientale met en lumière le travail de Jean-François Champollion sur un grand nombre d’écritures proche et moyen-orientales.  

A l’arrière du bâtiment, se trouve la place des Ecritures, reproduction démesurée de la pierre de Rosette qui permit à l’égyptologue français de « tenir son affaire ! ». Réalisée en 1990 par l’architecte américain Joseph Kozuth, elle est aujourd’hui un symbole de la sous-préfecture lotoise.  
Dans une cour attenante, retrouvez la traduction en français du texte original sur une plaque.

Des collections riches et exceptionnelles 

Patrice THEBAULT – CRTL Occitanie

Pédagogique et ludique, le musée s’étend sur quatre niveaux et huit salles et est entièrement accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite et déficientes visuelles, hormis les loggias permettant d’observer le revers de la façade et d’avoir une vue panoramique sur les toits de la cité médiévale.

Du Mexique à la Chine en passant par la Méditerranée, les collections du musée sont, pour la plupart, inédites. Des objets inscrits au pinceau, au calame ou à la plume racontent comment les écritures apparurent il y a 5 300 ans pour les plus anciennes, voyagèrent et évoluèrent au gré de la main des scribes, des copistes et des imprimeurs.  

Thématisées, les différentes salles permettent de se familiariser avec la naissance des alphabets, la fabrication du parchemin, l’arrivée du papier, l’invention de l’imprimerie et l’essor du numérique. L’accent est également mis sur la place de l’écriture dans notre société et le rôle qu’elle joue dans la diffusion des informations. Une salle de lecture et de diffusion vidéographique ainsi qu’une annexe présentant des expositions temporaires sont également à la disposition des visiteurs.  

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu