In the heart of the Aveyron gorges, visit the Ramonde mill, one of the Lézert swifts! Discover a remarkable heritage through an unusual visit offered by enthusiasts.

They were 13, several centuries ago, a few kilometers from Villefranche-de-Rouergue, nestled in the gorges of the Aveyron and have long punctuated the life of the inhabitants of the village of The Bastide l'Eveque and Segala.

But what are we talking about? Swifts from Lézert!

Today, thanks to the association of passionate inhabitants, this cultural heritage. revives and the hammer of Swift of the Ramonde resounds proudly in the valley!

By following the small narrow road, you will be able to see, at the bend of a bend, a building surrounded by greenery... Stop, and take the time to get to know this unique heritage in the region.

At the start of the visit, a film retraces the history of the mills of the valley and the reconstruction of this martinet, then, follow the guide to the forge to discover the huge hammer which works thanks to the force of water and beats copper to make coins, cauldrons or even tools...

How does it work ?

The building that houses the forge is right next to a water reservoir. When it is released, it drives a huge paddle wheel which gives its strength to an ingenious mechanism... Enter the room, feel the ground tremble to the rhythm of the regular strikes of the hammer.

Here, volunteers take turns to revive this yesteryear art : in a corner, a brazier is used to heat the copper, the more it heats, the more it blushes! Then it is modeled under the blows of a heavy hammer weighing more than 200 kg… A few minutes later, a cauldron was made. A journey through time that allows you to see the work of these craftsmen!

In groups or as a family, take advantage of being in the heart of nature to have a picnic in the park… Discover the wild flowers that grow there, listen to the birdsong and have a nice time in the shade of the trees!

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Au cœur des gorges de l’Aveyron, visitez le moulin de la Ramonde, l’un des martinets du Lézert ! Découvrez un patrimoine remarquable au fil d’une visite insolite proposée par des passionnés.

Ils étaient 13, il y a plusieurs siècles, à quelques kilomètres de Villefranche de Rouergue, nichés dans les gorges de l’Aveyron et ont longtemps rythmé la vie des habitants du village de La Bastide l’Evêque et du Ségala.

Mais de quoi parle-t-on ? Des martinets du Lézert !

Aujourd’hui, grâce à l’association d’habitants passionnés, ce patrimoine revit et le marteau du martinet de la Ramonde résonne fièrement dans la vallée !

En suivant la petite route étroite, vous pourrez apercevoir, au détour d’un virage, une bâtisse entourée de verdure… Arrêtez-vous, et prenez le temps de connaître ce patrimoine unique dans la région.

Au début de la visite, un film retrace l’histoire des moulins de la vallée et la reconstruction de ce martinet, puis, suivez le guide jusqu’à la forge pour y découvrir l’immense marteau qui fonctionne grâce à la force de l’eau et qui bat le cuivre pour faire de la monnaie, des chaudrons ou encore des outils…

Comment ça fonctionne ?

Le bâtiment qui abrite la forge est juste à côté d’une retenue d’eau. Quand celle-ci est libérée, elle entraîne une immense roue à aubes qui donne sa force à un ingénieux mécanisme… Entrez dans la pièce, sentez le sol trembler au rythme des frappes régulières du marteau.

Ici, les bénévoles se relaient pour faire revivre cet art d’antan : dans un coin, un brasier sert à réchauffer le cuivre, plus il chauffe, plus il rougit ! Ensuite on le modèle sous les coups du marteau lourd de plus de 200 kg… Quelques minutes plus tard, un chaudron a été fabriqué. Un voyage dans le temps qui permet de voir le travail de ces artisans !

En groupes ou en famille, profitez d’être au cœur de la nature pour faire un pique-nique dans le parc… Découvrez les fleurs sauvages qui y poussent, écoutez le chant des oiseaux et passez un joli moment à l’ombre des arbres !

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu