Between Rodez and Albi, treat yourself to a historical and artistic break in Camjac by visiting the Château du Bosc! Endowed with medieval architecture and a wealth of heterogeneous furniture, it conceals the presence of one of the greatest French painters of the end of the XNUMXth century: Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec.  

The Château du Bosc, home of Toulouse-Lautrec

The building takes place on a ancient fortress of the twelfth century who once controlled the Viaur Valley. Until the XNUMXth century, the site belonged to the Imbert du Bosc, officers in the service of the king, before passing into the hands of Toulouse Lautrec, a great seigneurial family descended from the Counts of Toulouse.  

Recognizable by its windows with red shutters, the château has a closed plan around a central courtyard with two corner towers, now covered in the shape of brash helmets. These roofs are said "Polish" since they were made under the reign of Louis XV, the latter being at that time married to Marie Lezczynska. Unchanged, some interior decorations date back to the 1600s. Immerse yourself in this rich past through the rooms...

Ouvrez l'oeil
A. Arnal – Aveyron Tourism

Open your eyes

The castle houses splendid Aubusson tapestries from the XNUMXth century as well as greenery from the XNUMXth century and grisailles by Sauvage, painter to the Court of Marie-Antoinette.

In the footsteps of the painter Toulouse-Lautrec 

Born in Albi on November 24, 1864, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec grew up in the Château du Bosc surrounded by a loving family. His father and his uncles teach him the drawing back from the hunt. At the age of 15, two falls crippled him, so he turned to a traditional course and worked hard in the workshops of Léon Bonnat and Fernand Cormon. Then followed an exceptional artistic career and the Parisian life that we know him, between circuses, cabarets and brothels.

The artist always seems present in the place, for his cradle, his personal objects, his childhood drawings, his posters and his lithographs. Immerse yourself in the memories of the Toulouse-Lautrecs and discover some curiosities including the height gauge which measured all the members of the family from 1828, as well as many photographs of the painter.  

The visit: from the park to the family museum

Richly furnished, the interior includes a library, a dining room, a great hall, an oratory, a large living room, a bedroom and the family museum. At the end of your visit, take a break in the former summer lounge and orangery in winter. In the embrasures of the French windows, contemplate sketches on plaster sketched by Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec in 1895.

Rural, the exterior is rich with a pleasure garden presenting remarkable species of Aveyron. Take the opportunity to borrow the hiking trail “In the footsteps of the Black Prince” and go to the protohistoric oppidum of Miramont, possession of the Marquis Louis Ignace, great-great-uncle of the painter. 

Open to visitors from mid-March to mid-November, the current owners offer guided tours as well as themed temporary exhibitions, in connection with the Toulouse-Lautrec museum in Albi.

Our advice and practical information

  • Allow at least 1h30 to visit the castle and its park.
  • The interior visit is always guided.
Opening hours from September 28 to November 13, 2022
Wednesday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Thursday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Friday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Saturday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Sunday Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
Departure last guided tour at 17:00 p.m. Open November 1, 2022. Preferably by reservation by phone. Guided tours only
Prices Min. Max.
Individual adult guided tour – Individual adult guided tour
8 € 8 €
Individual child guided tour – Child from 7 to 12 years old accompanied
5 € 5 €
Individual adult guided tour – Occ'Ygène card, solo rate
7.2 € 7.2 €
Individual adult guided tour – Occ'Ygène card, family rate, per adult.
7 € 7 €
Adult group guided tour
6 € 6 €
Guided tour group children / person (schools and leisure centers)
4 € 4 €
Individual adult – Ambassadors of Aveyron
4 € 4 €
  • Parking
  • Coach parking
  • Toilets
  • Aire de pique-nique
  • Bench
  • Park
  • Benefit – Fully Covered
  • Nearby owner
  • Shop
  • Guided group tours
  • Rental of infrastructure
  • Guided tours
  • Groups welcome
  • Animaux non admis
  • Bar / refreshment bar
  • Seminar

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Entre Rodez et Albi, offrez-vous une parenthèse historique et artistique à Camjac en visitant le château du Bosc ! Doté d’une architecture médiévale et d’un riche mobilier hétéroclite, il recèle la présence d’un des plus grands peintres français de la fin du XIXe siècle : Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec.  

Le château du Bosc, demeure de Toulouse-Lautrec

L’édifice prend place sur une ancienne forteresse du XIIe siècle qui contrôlait autrefois la vallée du Viaur. Jusqu’au XIX siècle, le site appartint aux Imbert du Bosc, officiers au service du roi, avant de passer aux mains des Toulouse-Lautrec, grande famille seigneuriale descendante des comtes de Toulouse.  

Reconnaissable à ses fenêtres aux volets rouges, le château arbore un plan fermé autour d’une cour centrale avec deux tours d’angle, aujourd’hui couvertes en forme de casques sarrasins. Ces toits sont dits « à la polonaise » puisqu’ils furent réalisés sous le règne Louis XV, ce dernier étant à cette époque marié à Marie Lezczynska. Inchangés, certains décors intérieurs remontent aux années 1600. Imprégnez-vous de ce riche passé au fil des salles…

Ouvrez l'oeil
A. Arnal – Tourisme Aveyron

Ouvrez l'oeil

Le château abrite de splendides tapisseries d’Aubusson du XVIIème siècle ainsi que des verdures du XVIIIème siècle et des grisailles de Sauvage, peintre à la Cour de Marie-Antoinette.

Sur les pas du peintre Toulouse-Lautrec 

Né à Albi le 24 novembre 1864, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec grandit au château du Bosc entouré d’une famille aimante. Son père et ses oncles lui enseignent le dessin au retour de la chasse. À l’âge de 15 ans, deux chutes le rendent infirme, il se tourne alors vers une filière classique et travaille dur dans les ateliers de Léon Bonnat et de Fernand Cormon. S’ensuivit ensuite une carrière artistique exceptionnelle et la vie parisienne qu’on lui connaît, entre cirques, cabarets et maisons closes.

L’artiste semble toujours présent dans les lieux, par son berceau, ses objets personnels, ses dessins d’enfant, ses affiches et ses lithographies. Plongez-vous dans les souvenirs des Toulouse-Lautrec et découvrez quelques curiosités dont la toise qui mesura tous les membres de la famille à partir de 1828, ainsi que de nombreuses photographies du peintre.  

La visite : du parc jusqu’au musée familial

Richement meublé, l’intérieur comprend une bibliothèque, une salle à manger, une grande salle, un oratoire, un grand salon, une chambre et le musée familial. À la fin de votre visite, prenez une pause dans l’ancien salon d’été et orangerie l’hiver. Dans les embrasures des portes-fenêtres, contemplez des croquis sur plâtre esquissés par Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec en 1895.

Champêtre, l’extérieur est riche d’un jardin d’agrément présentant des espèces remarquables de l’Aveyron. Profitez-en pour emprunter le chemin de randonnée « Sur les pas du Prince Noir » et vous rendre jusqu’à l’oppidum protohistorique de Miramont, possession du marquis Louis Ignace, arrière-grand-oncle du peintre. 

Ouvert à la visite de la mi-mars à la mi-novembre, les propriétaires actuels proposent des visites guidées ainsi que des expositions temporaires à thèmes, en lien avec le musée Toulouse-Lautrec d’Albi.

Nos conseils et infos pratiques

  • Prévoyez au moins 1h30 pour visiter le château et son parc.
  • La visite de l’intérieur est toujours guidée.
Horaires d'ouverture du 15 juin au 25 septembre 2022
Lundi Ouvert de 10h à 19h
Mardi Ouvert de 10h à 19h
Mercredi Ouvert de 10h à 19h
Jeudi Ouvert de 10h à 19h
Vendredi Ouvert de 10h à 19h
Samedi Ouvert de 10h à 19h
Dimanche Ouvert de 10h à 19h
Départ dernière visite guidée à 18h00. Ouvert le 14 juillet et le 15 août. De préférence sur réservation par téléphone. Visites guidées uniquement.
Horaires d'ouverture du 28 septembre au 13 novembre 2022
Mercredi Ouvert de 10h à 19h
Jeudi Ouvert de 10h à 19h
Vendredi Ouvert de 10h à 19h
Samedi Ouvert de 10h à 19h
Dimanche Ouvert de 10h à 19h
Départ dernière visite guidée à 17h00. Ouvert le 1er novembre 2022. De préférence sur réservation par téléphone. Visites guidées uniquement
Tarifs Min. Max.
Visite guidée adulte individuel – Visite guidée adulte individuel
8 € 8 €
Visite guidée enfant individuel – Enfant de 7 ans à 12 ans accompagné
5 € 5 €
Visite guidée adulte individuel – Carte Occ’Ygène, tarif solo
7.2 € 7.2 €
Visite guidée adulte individuel – Carte Occ’Ygène, tarif famille, par adulte.
7 € 7 €
Visite guidée groupe adulte
6 € 6 €
Visite guidée groupe enfants / personne (scolaires et centres de loisirs)
4 € 4 €
Individuel adulte – Ambassadeurs de l’Aveyron
4 € 4 €
  • Parking
  • Parking autocar
  • Toilettes
  • Aire de pique-nique
  • Banc
  • Parc
  • Prestation – Totalement couverte
  • A proximité propriétaire
  • Boutique
  • Visites groupes guidées
  • Location des infrastructures
  • Visites guidées
  • Accueil de groupes
  • Animaux non admis
  • Bar / buvette
  • Séminaire

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu