Dominate the Lot valley from the Château de Cénevières. Located between Villefranche-de-Rouergue and Cahors, this little gem clinging to the cliffs will reveal its secrets to you during a guided tour.

In the heart of the Lot valley, between Cajarc and Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, the Château de Cénevières dominates a vast meander of the Lot by more than 50 meters. Her strategic position and his Italian architecture make it a must in the former Midi-Pyrénées region.

Chateau Cenevieres

A place full of history

Perched on a balcony above the Lot in the heart of the Causses du Quercy regional natural park, the Château de Cénevières lived through the torments of history, including the Hundred Years War and the Wars of Religion.

Stronghold under the reign of Pepin the Short, the castle evolved considerably under the aegis of the powerful family of Gourdon. In the aftermath of the Italian wars, the building lost part of its defensive structure to become a Renaissance ceremonial castle.

Chateau Cenevieres

A singular architecture

Having evolved over the centuries, the Château de Cénevières has more than one advantage to offer: a XNUMXth century dungeon century, a italian gallery, French ceilings, a chapel, large kitchens and forgotten. Surmounted by a loggia with Tuscan columns, mullioned windows and torchieres, its inner courtyard offers a exceptional panorama on the Lot valley.

All of this Renaissance style decorations houses luxurious interiors retaining an exceptional painted ceiling adorned with views of Constantinople and a curious alchemy room, the second most beautiful in France after that of Versailles, whose paintings are inspired by Ovid's "Metamorphoses".

Immerse yourself in the unique atmosphere of this place by contemplating tapestries, frescoes, old grimoires, period armor and paintings, all more interesting and intriguing than each other.


Chateau Cenevieres

Do not miss :
the night visit

Owned by the De Braquilanges family, the Château de Cénevières today enjoys the love of its erudite and fascinating lords. From April to December, the latter do not hesitate to show their elegant residence themselves. For some years, costumed night tours complete the program: a must do on Wednesdays and Thursdays in summer!

Lit by candlelight, relive the evenings of yesteryear and share a snack at the end of the visit. Blend into the XNUMXth century decor by renting costumes, young and old alike will find what they are looking for. Don't forget your phones and your cameras to immortalize this immersion in time !

Prepare your visit

Opening hours from September 12 to November 20, 2022
Tuesday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 17 p.m.
Wednesday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 17 p.m.
Thursday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 17 p.m.
Friday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 17 p.m.
Saturday Open from 14 a.m. to 17 p.m.
Sunday Open from 14 a.m. to 17 p.m.
Prices Min. Max.
Individual adult guided tour
9 € 9 €
Individual child
4 € 4 €
Adult group
7 € 7 €
Student fee
6 € 6 €

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Dominez la vallée du Lot depuis le château de Cénevières. Situé entre Villefranche-de-Rouergue et Cahors, ce petit bijou accroché aux falaises vous livrera ses secrets lors d’une visite guidée.

Au cœur de la vallée du Lot, entre Cajarc et Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, le château de Cénevières domine de plus de 50 mètres un vaste méandre du Lot. Sa position stratégique et son architecture empreinte d’Italie en font un incontournable de l’ancienne région Midi-Pyrénées.

Château de Cénevières

Un lieu rempli d’Histoire

Perché en balcon au-dessus du Lot au cœur du parc naturel régional des Causses du Quercy, le château de Cénevières vécut les tourments de l’Histoire parmi lesquelles la guerre de Cent Ans et les guerres de Religion.

Place forte sous le règne de Pépin le Bref, le château évolua considérablement sous l’égide de la puissante famille de Gourdon. Au lendemain des guerres d’Italie, l’édifice perdit une partie de sa structure défensive pour devenir un château d’apparat propre à la Renaissance.

Château de Cénevières

Une architecture singulière

Ayant évolué au fil des siècles, le château de Cénevières a plus d’un atout à faire valoir : un donjon du XIIIe siècle, une galerie à l’italienne, des plafonds à la française, une chapelle, de grandes cuisines et des oubliettes. Surmontée d’une loggia à colonnes toscanes, de fenêtres à meneaux et de torchères, sa cour intérieure offre un panorama exceptionnel sur la vallée du Lot.

Ces décors de style Renaissance abrite de luxueux intérieurs conservant un exceptionnel plafond peint orné de vues de Constantinople et une curieuse salle d’alchimie, la deuxième plus belle de France après celle de Versailles, dont les peintures s’inspirent des « Métamorphoses » d’Ovide.

Imprégnez-vous de l’atmosphère unique de ce lieu en contemplant tapisseries, fresques, vieux grimoires, armures d’époque et tableaux, tous plus intéressants et intrigants les uns que les autres.


Château de Cénevières

À ne pas manquer :
la visite nocturne

Propriété de la famille De Braquilanges, le château de Cénevières bénéficie aujourd’hui de l’amour de ses érudits et passionnants châtelains. D’avril à décembre, ces derniers n’hésitent pas à faire visiter eux-mêmes leur élégante demeure. Depuis quelques années, des visites nocturnes costumées complètent le programme : un incontournable à faire les mercredis et jeudis d’été !

Éclairés aux chandelles, revivez les soirées d’antan et partagez une collation en fin de visite. Fondez-vous dans le décor du XVIe siècle en louant des costumes, petits et grands y trouveront leur compte. N’oubliez pas vos téléphones et vos appareils photos pour immortaliser cette immersion dans le temps !

Préparez votre visite

Horaires d'ouverture du 12 septembre au 20 novembre 2022
Mardi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 17h
Mercredi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 17h
Jeudi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 17h
Vendredi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 17h
Samedi Ouvert de 14h à 17h
Dimanche Ouvert de 14h à 17h
Tarifs Min. Max.
Visite guidée adulte individuel
9 € 9 €
Individuel enfant
4 € 4 €
Groupe adulte
7 € 7 €
Etudiant
6 € 6 €

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu