From Villefranche de Rouergue to Saint Antonin Noble Val, via Najac and Laquépie, venture into the gorges of Aveyron! Way to Santiago de Compostela, short loop, hike, our paths will make you discover the secret gorges of Aveyron.

The discreet Aveyron river takes its source near Sévérac-le-Château, it bypasses Rodez, prefecture of Aveyron, weaves its way between the green hills of Compolibat and La Bastide l'Evêque before crossing Villefranche-de-Rouergue. It is even the only city it crosses in its center! Take advantage of its banks for a short family outing on the heritage trail (5 km walking circuit)

But to approach the gorges of the Aveyron closer, you will have to venture to the side of Najac, one of the most beautiful villages in France! 22 km from Villefranche de Rouergue and 29 km from Saint Antonin Noble Val, Najac is the entrance to the wild gorges of Aveyron. A beautiful preserved green setting where the river undulates between the wooded hills. 

Hike from Najac to Laguépie
West Aveyron Tourism

The Camino de Compostela from Najac to Laguépie

13 kilometer route

Soar on the GR 36 ! This variant of way to Santiago de Compostela connects Conques to Toulouse. On the stage that leads to Cordes sur Ciel, follow the Aveyron river from Najac to Laguépie. Thirteen kilometers meandering between ferns, in the shade of ash trees, hornbeams and chestnut trees… Refreshing! To take advantage of this route, take the train ! On the TER Aurillac – Toulouse line, the Najac and Laguépie stops will be useful to you. 

Chestnut grove hike
West Aveyron Tourism

The chestnut groves

12 kilometer circuit

Ascend to the heights of Najac to contemplate beautiful views on gorges of the Aveyron and the impressive fortress which overlooks them. Along the river for 6 km, this path will make you discover some curiosities: the railway line and its works of art, the national competition site for canoeing and even a Gothic bridge from the 13th century.

Old mill in Najac
West Aveyron Tourism

The windmills

9 kilometer circuit

From the village of Najac, follow the old round path before continuing on the heights of Najac. You will then descend to the banks of the river looking for elders mills of the valley. 

On the little tour of Mergieux
West Aveyron Tourism

The little tour of Mergieux

6 kilometer circuit 

Starting from a place called Mergieux, follow this short loop in the forest, in the shade of the leafy trees! Be careful, it still climbs a little with 296 meters of elevation gain.

At the water's edge

These hikes all take you along the Aveyron river, you can easily find a place to soak your feet while listening to the nature around you. Why not bring your picnic? Sitting on a rock, enjoy this simple moment in contact with the elements.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

De Villefranche de Rouergue à Saint Antonin Noble Val, en passant par Najac et Laquépie, aventurez-vous dans les gorges de l’Aveyron ! Chemin vers Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, courte boucle, randonnée, nos sentiers vous feront découvrir les secrètes gorges de l’Aveyron.

La discrète rivière Aveyron prend sa source près de Sévérac-le-Château, elle contourne Rodez, préfecture de l’Aveyron, se faufile entre les verdoyantes collines de Compolibat et La Bastide l’Evêque avant de traverser Villefranche de Rouergue. C’est même la seule ville qu’elle traverse en son centre ! Profitez de ses berges pour une petite balade en famille sur le sentier des patrimoines (circuit pédestre de 5 km)

Mais pour approcher les gorges de l’Aveyron de plus près, il vous faudra vous aventurer du côté de Najac, l’un des plus beaux villages de France ! À 22 km de Villefranche de Rouergue et à 29 km de Saint Antonin Noble Val, Najac est l’entrée des gorges sauvages de l’Aveyron. Un bel écrin de verdure préservé où la rivière ondule entre les collines boisées. 

Randonnée de Najac à Laguépie
Ouest Aveyron Tourisme

Les chemins de Compostelle de Najac à Laguépie

Itinéraire de 13 kilomètres

Elancez-vous sur le GR 36 ! Cette variante du chemin vers Saint-Jacques de Compostelle relie Conques à Toulouse. Sur l’étape qui mène à Cordes sur Ciel, suivez la rivière Aveyron depuis Najac jusqu’à Laguépie. Treize kilomètres à serpenter entre les fougères, à l’ombre des frênes, charmes et châtaigniers… Rafraichissant ! Pour profiter de cet itinéraire, prenez le train ! Sur la ligne de TER Aurillac – Toulouse, les arrêts de Najac et Laguépie vous seront utiles. 

Randonnée des Châtaigneraies
Ouest Aveyron Tourisme

Les châtaigneraies

Circuit de 12 kilomètres

Montez sur les hauteurs de Najac pour contempler de beaux points de vue sur les gorges de l’Aveyron et l’impressionnante forteresse qui les surplombe. Longeant la rivière sur 6 km, ce sentier vous fera découvrir quelques curiosités : la voie ferrée et ses ouvrages d’art, le site national de compétition pour le canoë-kayak ou encore un pont gothique sur 13ème siècle.

Ancien moulin à Najac
Ouest Aveyron Tourisme

Les moulins

Circuit de 9 kilomètres

Au départ du village de Najac, longez l’ancien sentier de ronde avant de poursuivre votre chemin sur les hauteurs de Najac. Vous redescendrez ensuite sur les bords de la rivière à la recherche des anciens moulins de la vallée. 

Sur le petit tour de Mergieux
Ouest Aveyron Tourisme

Le petit tour de Mergieux

Circuit de 6 kilomètres 

Au départ du lieu-dit Mergieux, suivez cette courte boucle dans la forêt, à l’ombre des feuillus ! Attention, ça grimpe quand même un peu avec 296 mètres de dénivelé positif.

Au bord de l'eau

Ces randonnées vous font toutes longer la rivière Aveyron, vous pourrez facilement trouver un endroit pour tremper vos pieds tout en écoutant la nature qui vous entoure. Pourquoi pas emporter votre pique-nique ? Assis sur un rocher, profitez de ce moment simple au contact des éléments.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu