Fancy a little lazing on a beach? A picnic on the edge of the Aveyron or the Lot? To “soak” your feet in a stream or a river? To swim in a lake?
You will surely find your happiness in this page.

Attention ! For all of the following sites, access is free and swimming, when possible, is often unsupervised. You are therefore held responsible in the event of an accident.

To continue to enjoy this wild nature which makes the beauty of the Bastides and Gorges of Aveyron, please respect it!

Natural sites by the river

Pleasant natural corners, it will be possible to picnic there in peace and even sometimes to "take a dip"!  

Along the Aveyron river and the Viaur river

Villefranche-de-Rouergue

Outdoor base located at the exit of Villefranche, on the banks of the Aveyron, you will find a picnic area as well as a wide range of activities offered by the Sports and Nature leisure center (starting point for themed hikes, children's games, paddle, disc golf, canoeing).
Un snack bar will allow you to eat on site.

Or, a few kilometers from Villefranche de Rouergue, the Gourg-Gassiés site, located on the Gasse road (along the river), towards La Bastide-L'Evêque (5km). Featuring impressive boulders in a pleasant setting. You can park on the side of the road relying on cars parked nearby. Access to the site is via a small path, the entrance to which is not easy to find. Open your eyes!

Najac

On the edge of the Aveyron, at the foot of the bastide of Najac and its royal fortress, you can enjoy the river and the green surroundings. Access to the river is not far from the AAGAC leisure center, which also offers an interesting range of activities (canoeing, rafting, hiking, mountain biking, adventure park) to discover the gorges of Aveyron and Viaur.

The bastide l'Évêque – the Pont du Cayla

Two leagues downstream from Compolibat, four leagues from Villefranche de Rouergue, the Cayla Bridge (former Gallo-Roman bridge) once connected the bailiwick of Peyrusse to the village of La Bastide l'Evêque (once arrived at La Bastide L'évêque follow the direction "Pont du Cayla"). And to defend it, above the village scattered on the rocky slope, a castle erected its crenellated towers. Today, blackthorns, hollies and a few young oaks cover the slope. The place, very pleasant, allows you to enjoy the freshness of the Aveyron river and spend relaxing afternoons.

Be in your element

Belcastel

Cross the bridge, turn right and make yourself comfortable on the lawns or around one of the picnic tables. From this little corner of greenery, you will fully enjoy the view of the splendid village of Belcastel, dominated by his castle

Bor and Bar

On the borders of Tarn and Aveyron, you will find Bor and Bar on the edge of the Viaur a picnic area. Near it the Gourpassou campsite but also a climbing site outdoors of a hundred routes, the “Roc del Gorp”, from beginner to experienced level.

Compolibat

Between Rignac and Villefranche, Compolibat which has an intermunicipal area along the river. You will find children's games, tennis, volleyball, petanque, fishing, approved climbing and paragliding sites, minigolf, fitness trail, permanent orientation circuit. 

Laguepie

At the border between the Tarn and the Aveyron, about thirty kilometers south of Villefranche de Rouergue, the village of Laguépie suggests a short stopover on the edge of the Viaur with her equipped beach and its shaded picnic area.
On site: departures for mountain biking, and on foot, nautical activities at the leisure base.
Swimming allowed in summer (supervised).

Lagarde-Viaur

Located 27 km from Villefranche de Rouergue, in the direction of Cordes-sur-Ciel, an ideal spot for swimming: the Lagarde Viaur beach. Accessible from Villefranche, in the direction of Cordes, go to the village of Saint-André-de-Najac, go down into the valley the beach is at the bottom.

Previnquieres

Bourg with the appearance of a small town enclosed in fortifications, Prévinquières is installed 25 meters above the Aveyron river. Its picnic area will allow you to enjoy the river and thereby take a walk in the heart of the village.

A moment of idleness

Along the Lot River

Cajarc
Opposite the town hall of Cajarc, go down the rue du Faubourg, there you will enjoy the meanders of the Lot with a shore animated by café and restaurant terraces, and punctually by demonstrations. The body of water itself is dedicated to nautical sports.

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
Saint-Cirq Lapopie, a village of character on the side of a cliff, is located in the heart of the Causses du Quercy Regional Natural Park. At its feet, the Lot river will make you enjoy the splendor of the landscape and its relaxed lifestyle, at the edge of a equipped beach.
On site: campsite.
Swimming authorized in summer (supervised in July and August in the afternoon).

Along the Cele River

Narrower than its Lot counterpart and perhaps also less crowded, the Célé river offers just as many small spaces by the water's edge, which are calm and pleasant. Access to the river is often close to the boat facilities of the canoe-kayak bases (Brengues, Orniac, Marcilhac sur Célé or even Saint-Cirq Lapopie). Also, it will be quite easy for you, if you drive along the river, to stop at your leisure and find natural sites conducive to setting foot in the water! 


Lakes and bodies of water 

Parisot

Located in the Tarn et Garonne, very close to the village of Parisot, this 9ha body of water is well laid out with the possibility of fishing, a playground, a skate park, a swimming area fitted out for the summer (games inflatables, slides), and a snack!
On site: campsite with swimming pool.
Entrance fee to the lake in summer only: Adult €3 – Children €2
Swimming allowed in summer (supervised).

Baraqueville – Val de Lenne

This artificial body of water, located a hundred meters from the center of Baraqueville offers multiple activities: supervised swimming in summer, refreshment bar, watercraft rentals (pedal boat, canoe, kayak, and paddle, windsurfing and optimist on reservation)
On site: UFOLEP Sports Leisure Center of Val de Lenne
Swimming allowed in summer (supervised).

Le Lévézou: Pont de Salars, Pareloup and Villefranche de Panat

About an hour's drive from Villefranche, on this vast Lévézou plateau located between the Tarn and Aveyron valleys, EDF created 50 artificial lakes in the 5s, including those of Salars Bridge, Pareloup et Villefranche de Panat, with a total area of ​​about 1700 ha. Developed beaches, supervised in summer, to enjoy the sun, swimming and practicing various nautical activities (sailing, canoeing, jet skiing, sightseeing boat, canoe…), many hikes possible.
These lakes, including those of La Gourde and Bage, are also accessible to fishermen.
Swimming allowed in summer (supervised).

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Envie d’un petit farniente sur une plage ? D’un pique-nique en bordure de l’Aveyron ou du Lot ? De « tremper » les pieds dans un ruisseau ou une rivière ? De vous baigner dans un lac ?
Vous trouverez sûrement votre bonheur dans cette page.

Attention ! Pour l’ensemble des sites suivants, l’accès est libre et la baignade, quand elle est possible, est souvent non surveillée. Vous êtes donc tenus responsables en cas d’accident.

Pour continuer à profiter de cette nature sauvage qui fait la beauté des Bastides et Gorges de l’Aveyron, merci de la respecter !

Sites naturels en bord de rivière

Coins naturels agréables, il sera possible d’y pique-niquer en toute tranquillité et même parfois d’y « faire trempette »!  

Le long de la rivière Aveyron et de la rivière Viaur

Villefranche de Rouergue

Base de plein air située à la sortie de Villefranche, sur les bords de l’Aveyron, vous y trouverez une aire de pique-nique ainsi qu’un large éventail d’activités proposées par la base de loisirs Sports et Nature (point de départ pour des randonnées pédestres à thème, jeux d’enfants, paddle, disc-golf, canoë-kayak).
Un snack bar vous permettra de vous restaurer sur place.

Ou encore, à quelques kilomètres de Villefranche de Rouergue, le site du Gourg-Gassiés, situé sur la route de la Gasse (longeant la rivière), en direction de La Bastide-L’évêque (5 km). Doté d’impressionnants rochers dans un cadre agréable. Vous pouvez vous garer sur le bord de la route en vous fiant aux voitures garées à proximité. L’accessibilité du site se fait par un petit chemin dont l’entrée n’est pas évidente à trouver. Ouvrez l’œil !

Najac

En bordure de l’Aveyron, au pied de la bastide de Najac et de sa forteresse royale, vous pourrez profiter du cours d’eau et du cadre verdoyant. L’accès à la rivière se fait non loin de la base de loisirs de l’AAGAC, qui offre d’ailleurs un panel intéressant d’activités (canoë-kayak, rafting, rando, VTT, parc aventures) pour découvrir les gorges de l’Aveyron et du Viaur.

La bastide l’Évêque – le Pont du Cayla

A deux lieues en aval de Compolibat, à quatre lieues de Villefranche de Rouergue, le Pont du Cayla (ancien pont gallo-romain) reliait autrefois le baillage de Peyrusse au village de La Bastide l’Evêque (une fois arrivé à La Bastide L’évêque suivez la direction « Pont du Cayla »).  Et pour le défendre, au-dessus du village disséminé dans le versant rocailleux, un château dressait ses tours crénelées. Aujourd’hui, les prunelliers, les houx et quelques jeunes chênes recouvrent la pente. L’endroit, très agréable, permet de profiter de la fraîcheur de la rivière Aveyron et de passer des après-midi de détente.

Être dans son élément

Belcastel

Traversez le pont, prenez sur votre droite et installez-vous confortablement sur les pelouses ou bien autour d’une des tables de pique-nique. De ce petit coin de verdure, vous profiterez pleinement de la vue sur le splendide village de Belcastel, dominé par son château

Bor et Bar

Aux confins du Tarn et de l’Aveyron, vous trouverez à Bor et Bar en bordure du Viaur une aire de pique-nique. A ses abords le camping du Gourpassou mais aussi un site d’escalade en extérieur d’une centaine de voies, le « Roc del Gorp », du niveau débutant à expérimenté.

Compolibat

Entre Rignac et Villefranche, Compolibat qui possède une aire intercommunale en bordure de rivière. Vous y trouverez jeux d’enfants, tennis, volley, pétanque, pêche, sites d’escalade et de parapente agréés, minigolf, parcours santé, circuit permanent d’orientation. 

Laguépie

A la frontière entre le Tarn et l’Aveyron, à une trentaine de kilomètres au sud de Villefranche de Rouergue, le village de Laguépie vous suggère une petite halte en bordure du Viaur avec sa plage aménagée et son aire de pique-nique ombragée.
Sur place : départs de randonnée VTT, et à pied, activités nautiques à la base de loisirs.
Baignade autorisée en été (surveillée).

Lagarde Viaur

Situé à 27 km de Villefranche de Rouergue , en direction de Cordes-sur-Ciel, un spot idéal pour se baigner : la plage de Lagarde-Viaur. Accessible depuis Villefranche, en direction de Cordes, allez jusqu’au village Saint-André-de-Najac, descendez dans la vallée la plage est tout en bas.

Prévinquières

Bourg à l’aspect d’une petite ville enclose dans des fortifications, Prévinquières est installé à 25 mètres au-dessus de la rivière Aveyron. Son aire de pique-nique vous permettra donc de jouir du cours d’eau et d’effectuer par là même une balade au cœur du village.

Un instant de farniente

Le long de la rivière Lot

Cajarc
En face de la mairie de Cajarc, descendez la rue du Faubourg, vous profiterez, là, des méandres du Lot avec une rive animée par des terrasses de cafés et de restaurants, et ponctuellement par des manifestations. Le plan d’eau en lui-même est dédié aux sports nautiques.

Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Saint-Cirq Lapopie, village de caractère à flanc de falaise, se situe au cœur du Parc Naturel Régional des Causses du Quercy. A ses pieds, la rivière Lot vous fera profiter de la splendeur du paysage et de sa douceur de vivre, au bord d’une plage aménagée.
Sur place : camping.
Baignade autorisée en été (surveillée en juillet et août l’après-midi).

Le long de la rivière Célé

Moins large que sa consœur du Lot et peut être aussi moins fréquentée, la rivière du Célé offre tout autant de petits espaces en bord d’eau, calmes et agréables. L’accès à la rivière est souvent proche des aménagements d’embarcation des bases de canoë-kayak (Brengues, Orniac, Marcilhac sur Célé ou bien encore Saint-Cirq Lapopie). Aussi, il vous sera assez facile, si vous longez la rivière en voiture, de vous arrêter à votre gré et de trouver des sites naturels propices à mettre les pieds dans l’eau ! 


Lacs et Plans d’eau 

Parisot

Situé dans le Tarn et Garonne, tout près du village de Parisot, ce plan d’eau de 9ha est bien aménagé avec la possibilité de pêcher, une aire de jeux, un skate park, une aire de baignade aménagée pour l’été (jeux gonflables, tobbogans),  et un snack !
Sur place : camping avec piscine.
Entrée du lac payante en été uniquement : Adulte 3€ – Enfants 2€
Baignade autorisée en été (surveillée).

Baraqueville – Val de Lenne

Ce plan d’eau artificiel, situé à une centaine de mètre du centre de Baraqueville propose de multiple activités : baignade surveillée en été, buvette, locations embarcations nautiques (Pédalo, canoë, kayak, et paddle, planche à voile et optimiste sur réservation)
Sur place : Centre de Loisirs Sportifs UFOLEP du Val de Lenne
Baignade autorisée en été (surveillée).

Le Lévézou : Pont de Salars, Pareloup et Villefranche de Panat

A environ une heure de voiture de Villefranche, sur ce vaste plateau du Lévézou situé entre les vallées du Tarn et de l’Aveyron, EDF a créé dans les années 50, 5 lacs artificiels, dont ceux de Pont de Salars, Pareloup et Villefranche de Panat, d’une superficie totale d’environ 1700 ha. Plages aménagées, surveillées en été, pour profiter du soleil, de la baignade et pratiquer diverses activités nautiques (voile, canoë, jet ski, bateau promenade, pirogue…), nombreuses randonnées possibles.
Ces lacs, dont ceux de la Gourde et de Bage, sont également accessibles aux pêcheurs.
Baignade autorisée en été (surveillée).

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu