During your visit to Villefranche, you will have to keep your eyes open! Don't miss the nuggets hidden in the streets and around the city... Fountains, beautiful houses, we give you our favorites here.

fountain-griffoul-place
The Storytellers


The Griffoul fountain

The fountain, built in 1336 by the consuls of the city, consists of a limestone tank decorated with figures. Fed by a spring, the fountain allowed women, servants and water carriers to come and stock up.


One can imagine how much this place, once popular and noisy, allowed to spread news and rumors.
Next to it was the Mazel, a building in which, in the XNUMXth century, the butchers of the city gathered. Those who did not keep good meat or who sold during Lent risked heavy fines…

The houses of wealthy merchants

house-dardenne-windows

The Dardenne house (XNUMXth century) – place Notre Dame

This Renaissance-style house was built in the 1540s for Jean Imbert Dardenne, copper merchant and city consul. The mansion, organized around a courtyard which served his store, allowed him to receive his family and friends, to impress his colleagues and best customers.
Here, we pass by degrees from the Gothic – which blazes on the ceiling of the first landing – to the audacity of the Renaissance, which throws an open gallery above the courtyard and projects smiling busts of Italian couples from the walls.

The Combettes house (early XNUMXth century) – rue du sergent Bories

A narrow and imposing Renaissance tower dominates the Combettes house.
A courtyard, once separated from the street by a wall, gives access to the house. The tower, in which a spiral staircase serves two buildings, overlooks the street with authority and expresses the social status of the owners: you have to see and be seen...
The door and the first mullioned windows are decorated with Italianate sculpted motifs: foliage, trophies, putti, shells and medallions.
At the top, an upper chamber rests on battlements below which are the family arms.

The Gaubert house (late XNUMXth century) – rue Marcellin Fabre

Built after a fire that ravaged the Place Notre-Dame in 1497, this residence adopts the architecture of the end of the Middle Ages.
The tower, in which is fitted a spiral staircase, distributes two half-timbered main buildings. Above the door, an arch is decorated with acanthus leaves and sculpted caps. Animals are represented in a plant basket. One wears a harness (a horse), a second holds in his mouth an apple tree branch which could evoke the original sin. Behind them are a figure and a dragon. The scene, which seems to be inspired by religious history, would illustrate a popular fable representing learned animals.
Under the window, bunches of grapes evoke the opulence of the home. On each side, niches housed the protective statues of patron saints. Like that of the Combettes house, the tower is a functional and ostentatious element which materializes the social status of its occupants.
It symbolically reproduces the construction scheme of the dungeon which vertically dominates the fortified castle.

The Armand house (end of the XNUMXth century) – place Notre Dame

Built after the fire that ravaged the Place Notre-Dame in 1497, the narrow stone facade is opened by skylights. These mullioned windows (crossed), whose frame is decorated with a stripped stick (said of a branch whose small branches have been cut) or a twisted cord, make it possible to illuminate and prioritize the levels. of dwelling.
On the first floor, sculpted caps represent the Annunciation: the Virgin in prayer faces the Archangel Gabriel. The windows on the second floor adopt a similar order, but have a more conventional plant ornamentation.
The last level, assigned to bedding or domesticity, is only opened by two windows devoid of decoration.

Graves Castle

2 kilometers from Villefranche de Rouergue, the Château de Graves proudly projects its elegant and solid silhouette on one of the green hills which dominates the bastide.
This castle Renaissance was built between 1543 and 1555 by Jean Imbert Dardenne, a wealthy copper merchant and consul of Villefranche.

Led by Guillaume de Lyssorgues, a brilliant Renaissance architect, the site symbolizes the social and financial success of its illustrious sponsor and reflects the aesthetic concerns of its time: it implements the latest techniques brought back from Italy and according to the new taste, inspired by ancient art. It is a quadrangular castle around a perfectly square courtyard, flanked by towers 7 m in diameter, it has no defenses. It is more of a leisure castle widely open to the outside.

Taken in 1570 and briefly occupied by Huguenot troops, the castle was besieged by Catholics who cut off the water supply, the food supply and massacred the Protestant garrison. The house then passed through the hands of several families before being purchased by the community of Picpus brothers, the current owner.

Le château de Graves
D-Trébosc-Sky-Blue

Graves Castle

Free access for the ground floor, the chapel and the garden

The Chapel of Thirteen Stones

chapel-thirteen-stones
Jerome_Morel

The chapel of Treize Pierres was erected in 1510, on the outskirts of Villefranche de Rouergue. Its creation is linked to the fear inspired by the plague of 1506 which devastated the city. The inhabitants then decide to dedicate a sanctuary to the Virgin so that she protects them from this scourge.
In 1628, the building was increased by two chapels (Saint Roch and Saint Joseph) and the stone portal of the entrance was added.
This sanctuary is of particular interest: Byzantine-style frescoes who drive it.

These were carried out in 1952, at the same time as major restoration work, by Nicolas Greschny (1912-1985) an icon painter of Russian origin, who decorated many churches in France. The entire nave retraces the life of the Virgin: the Annunciation, the Nativity, the Dormition on the walls, while the Coronation and the Virgin of the Apocalypse occupy the barrel vault.

Also noteworthy among this abundance of colors and characters of Byzantine inspiration, a very expressive way of the cross which punctuates the walls of the building.

The Chapel of Saint Emile de Rodat

It occupies the site of a former Franciscan convent mentioned in 1290 and destroyed after the French Revolution. There remains a XNUMXth century chapter house which is currently used as a crypt for the shrine of Saint Emilie de Rodat as well as part of the north wall of the nave.

chapel-emilie-rodat
J. Morel

The neo-Gothic style chapel dominated by a high bell tower was built between 1951 and 1958.
The religious life of the city is dominated by the influence of Emilie de Rodat.
Designed to receive pilgrims and the faithful, the chapel commemorates the action of Saint Emilie de Rodat, founder of the congregation of the Holy Family, who took charge of the education of orphans in the XNUMXth century.
Frescoes, a group sculpted by Denys Puech and stained glass adorn the crypt.

Sainte Emilie de Rodat was born in Aveyron (in Druelle) in a noble and rich family on September 6, 1787. In 1816, she founded in Villefranche de Rouergue the congregation of the Holy Family which welcomes orphans and young girls, most of them destitute. . She was canonized in 1950.
Many communities are created in the neighboring departments of Aveyron, and subsequently missions in more than 10 foreign countries.

Jazz Fund – Jazz Documentation Disco

Jazz music lovers, a treasure is hidden in Villefranche-de-Rouergue!

Second French public jazz fund, this collection was brought together by Hugues Panassie, a famous and respected jazz critic from the region. Thanks to the growing notoriety of this already precious collection, important donations and legacies have been added to it.

Today, the media have diversified and the documentary collection has thousands of documents as diverse as sound media (78 rpm, 33 rpm, magnetic tapes, CDs, DVDs) written archives (books, biographies, correspondence, magazines, etc.) ), posters or photographs.

CDs, like these extremely rare recordings of VDiscs or the “Jazz Panorama” radio broadcasts, veritable lectures by “Maître Panassié” are on sale there.

The Italian-style theater in neo-Renaissance style

The building adopts the model of the Italian theater, characterized by a distinct separation between the stage and the room; the ramp-shaped floor offers perfect visibility and acoustics. The balcony is shaped like a horseshoe. The overall capacity of 352 places makes it a convivial room which gives proximity between the stage and the public.

As is the case with many theaters of the late XNUMXth century, the decor, inside and out, is in the neo-Renaissance style. The facade and the room combine pilasters, columns, mascarons, garlands of flowers, Greek friezes which make it a place steeped in history.

chapel-st-jacques-villefranche
Jerome Morel

The chapel of Saint-Jacques

On the route leading pilgrims from Le Puy-en-Velay to Saint-Jacques de Compostela, via Conques and the Pyrenees, the bastide of Villefranche-de-Rouergue is one of the popular stops, as evidenced by the presence of a hospital dedicated to Saint-Jacques to receive pilgrims, from 1339.

It was in 1455 that the construction of the chapel of Saint-Jacques began. It is probably built on the site of the original hospital, surrounded by urban buildings. This construction is contemporary with the Chartreuse Saint-Sauveur (1451-1459) and the vaults of the collegiate church (1474).

The chapel is a fine example of architecture southern gothic single nave. The ogival entrance gate as well as the wooden entrance door, with two leaves decorated with napkin fold decorations, (which have just been restored) are very characteristic of the flamboyant Gothic style reminiscent of the contemporary tracery of the small cloister of the Charterhouse of Saint-Sauveur.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Au fil de votre visite de Villefranche, il vous faudra ouvrir l’œil ! Ne manquez pas les pépites qui se cachent dans les rues et aux abords de la ville…Fontaines, belles maisons, on vous livre ici nos coups de cœur.

fontaine-griffoul-place
Les Conteurs


La fontaine du Griffoul

La fontaine, édifiée en 1336 par les consuls de la ville, se compose d’une cuve de calcaire ornée de personnages. Alimentée par une source, la fontaine permettait aux femmes, aux domestiques et aux porteurs d’eau de venir s’approvisionner.


On imagine combien ce lieu, autrefois populaire et bruyant, permettait de propager les nouvelles et les rumeurs.
A côté se situait le Mazel, un bâtiment dans lequel, au XVe siècle, se regroupaient les bouchers de la ville. Ceux qui ne tenaient pas bonne viande ou qui vendaient pendant le Carême risquaient de fortes amendes…

Les maisons des riches marchands

maison-dardenne-fenetres

La maison Dardenne (XVIe siècle) – place Notre Dame

Cette demeure de facture Renaissance a été construite dans les années 1540 pour Jean Imbert Dardenne, négociant en cuivre et consul de la ville. L’hôtel particulier, organisé autour d’une cour qui desservait son magasin, lui permettait de recevoir sa famille et ses amis, d’impressionner ses collègues et meilleurs clients.
Ici, on passe par degrés du gothique –qui flamboie au plafond du premier palier- à l’audace de la Renaissance, qui jette une galerie ouverte au-dessus de la cour et fait saillir des murs des bustes souriants de couples italiens.

La maison Combettes (début du XVIe siècle) – rue du sergent Bories

Une étroite et imposante tour Renaissance domine la maison Combettes.
Une cour, autrefois séparée de la rue par un mur, donne accès à la demeure. La tour, dans laquelle un escalier à vis dessert deux corps de bâtiment, surplombe la rue avec autorité et exprime le statut social des propriétaires : il faut voir et être vu…
La porte et les premières fenêtres à meneaux sont ornées de motifs sculptés italianisants : rinceaux, trophées, putti, coquilles et médaillons.
Au sommet, une chambre haute repose sur des mâchicoulis au-dessous desquels figurent les armes de la famille.

La maison Gaubert (fin du XVe siècle) – rue Marcellin Fabre

Construite après un incendie qui ravagea la place Notre-Dame en 1497, cette demeure adopte l’architecture de la fin du Moyen âge.
La tour, dans laquelle est aménagé un escalier à vis, distribue deux corps de logis à pans de bois. Au-dessus de la porte, un arc est décoré de feuilles d’acanthe et de culots sculptés. Des animaux y sont représentés dans une corbeille végétale. L’un porte un harnais (un cheval), un second tient dans sa gueule une branche de pommier qui pourrait évoquer le péché originel. Derrière eux sont figurés un personnage et un dragon. La scène, qui semble s’inspirer de l’histoire religieuse, illustrerait une fable populaire représentant des animaux savants.
Sous la fenêtre, des grappes de raisin évoquent l’opulence du foyer. De chaque côté, des niches accueillaient les statues protectrices de saints patrons. Comme celle de la maison Combettes, la tour est un élément fonctionnel et ostentatoire qui matérialise le statut social de ses occupants.
Elle reproduit symboliquement le schéma constructif du donjon qui domine verticalement le château fort.

La maison Armand (fin du XVe siècle) – place Notre Dame

Construite après l’incendie qui ravagea la place Notre-Dame en 1497, l’étroite façade de pierre est ouverte par des claires-voies. Ces fenêtres à meneaux (croisées), dont l’encadrement est décoré d’un bâton écoté (se dit d’un rameau dont les petites branches ont été coupées) ou d’un cordon torsadé, permettent d’éclairer et de hiérarchiser les niveaux d’habitation.
Au premier étage, des culots sculptés représentent l’Annonciation : la Vierge en prière fait face à l’archange Gabriel. Les fenêtres du second étage adoptent une ordonnance similaire, mais possèdent une ornementation végétale plus conventionnelle.
Le dernier niveau, affecté au couchage ou à la domesticité, n’est ouvert que par deux croisées dépourvues de décor.

Le château de Graves

A 2 kilomètres de Villefranche de Rouergue, le château de Graves campe fièrement son élégante et solide silhouette sur l’une des collines de verdure qui domine la bastide.
Ce château Renaissance a été construit entre 1543 et 1555 par Jean Imbert Dardenne, riche marchand de cuivre et consul de Villefranche.

Dirigé par Guillaume de Lyssorgues, brillant architecte de la Renaissance, le chantier symbolise la réussite sociale et financière de son illustre commanditaire et traduit les préoccupations esthétiques de son temps : il met en œuvre les dernières techniques ramenées d’Italie et selon le goût nouveau, inspiré de l’art antique. C’est un château quadrangulaire autour d’une cour parfaitement carrée, flanquée de tours de 7 m de diamètre, il ne possède aucune défense. Il s’agit plus d’un château de plaisance largement ouvert vers l’extérieur.

Pris en 1570 et occupé un court moment par les troupes huguenotes, le château est assiégé par les catholiques qui coupent l’approvisionnement en eau, le ravitaillement en vivres et massacre la garnison protestante. La demeure passe ensuite dans les mains de plusieurs familles avant d’être achetée par la communauté des frères de Picpus, actuelle propriétaire.

Le château de Graves
D-Trébosc-Ciel-Bleu

Le château de Graves

Libre accès pour le rez de chaussée, la chapelle et le jardin

La chapelle de Treize Pierres

chapelle-treize-pierres
Jerome_Morel

La chapelle de Treize Pierres est érigée en 1510, aux abords de Villefranche de Rouergue. Sa création est liée à la crainte inspirée par la peste de 1506 qui dévasta la ville. Les habitants décident alors de dédier un sanctuaire à la Vierge pour qu’elle les protège de ce fléau.
En 1628, l’édifice est augmenté de deux chapelles (Saint Roch et Saint Joseph) et l’on ajoute le portail en pierre de l’entrée.
Ce sanctuaire offre un intérêt particulier : les fresques de style byzantin qui l’animent.

Celles-ci furent exécutées en 1952, en même temps que d’importants travaux de restauration, par Nicolas Greschny (1912-1985) un peintre d’icônes d’origine russe, qui décora en France de nombreuses églises. La nef toute entière retrace la vie de la vierge : l’Annonciation, la Nativité, La Dormition sur les murs, tandis que le Couronnement et la Vierge de l’Apocalypse occupent la voûte en berceau.

A noter également parmi ce foisonnement de couleurs et de personnages d’inspiration byzantine, un chemin de croix très expressif qui vient rythmer les murs de l’édifice.

La chapelle sainte Emile de Rodat

Elle occupe l’emplacement d’un ancien couvent de Franciscains mentionné en 1290 et détruit après la Révolution française. Il en subsiste une salle capitulaire du XIVe siècle qui sert actuellement de crypte pour la châsse de sainte Emilie de Rodat ainsi qu’une partie du mur nord de la nef.

chapelle-emilie-rodat
J.Morel

La chapelle de style néo-gothique dominée par un haut clocher-mur a été édifiée entre 1951 et 1958.
La vie religieuse de la ville est dominée par le rayonnement d’Emilie de Rodat.
Conçue pour recevoir les pèlerins et les fidèles, la chapelle commémore l’action de sainte Emilie de Rodat, fondatrice de la congrégation de la Sainte-Famille, qui se chargea de l’éducation des orphelines au XIXe siècle.
Des fresques, un groupe sculpté par Denys Puech et des vitraux ornent la crypte.

Sainte Emilie de Rodat est née en Aveyron (à Druelle) dans une noble et riche famille le 6 septembre 1787. Dès 1816, elle fonde à Villefranche de Rouergue la congrégation de la Sainte Famille qui accueille les orphelins et les jeunes filles pour la plupart indigentes. Elle est canonisée en 1950.
De nombreuses communautés sont créées dans les départements voisins de l’Aveyron, et par la suite des missions dans plus de 10 pays étrangers.

Fond de Jazz – Discothèque de documentation de jazz

Amateurs de musique jazz, un trésor se cache à Villefranche-de-Rouergue !

Deuxième fond public français de jazz, cette collection a été réunie par Hugues Panassié, célèbre et respecté critique de jazz originaire de la région. Grâce à la notoriété grandissante de ce fonds déjà précieux, d’importants dons et legs sont venus s’y greffer.

Aujourd’hui, les supports se sont diversifiés et le fonds documentaire possède des milliers de documents aussi divers que les supports sonores (78 tours, 33 tours, bandes magnétiques, CD, DVD) les archives écrites (livres, biographies, correspondances, magazines…), les affiches ou les photographies.

Des CD, comme ces rarissimes enregistrements de VDiscs ou les émissions radiophoniques « Jazz Panorama », véritables cours magistraux de « Maître Panassié » y sont en vente.

Le théâtre à l’italienne de style néo-Renaissance

L’édifice adopte le modèle du théâtre à l’italienne, caractérisé par une séparation distincte entre la scène et la salle ; le parterre en forme de rampe offre une visibilité et une acoustique parfaites. Le balcon quant à lui est en forme de fer à cheval. La jauge globale de 352 places en fait une salle conviviale qui donne une proximité entre la scène et le public.

Comme c’est le cas pour de nombreux théâtres de la fin de XIXe siècle, le décor, à l’intérieur comme à l’extérieur, est de style néo-Renaissance. La façade et la salle associent des pilastres, des colonnes, des mascarons, des guirlandes de fleurs, des frises grecques qui en font un lieu chargé d’histoire.

chapelle-StJacques-villefranche
Jerome Morel

La chapelle Saint-Jacques

Sur l’itinéraire conduisant les pèlerins du Puy-en-Velay à Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, via Conques et les Pyrénées, la bastide de Villefranche-de-Rouergue fait partie des haltes appréciées, en atteste la présence d’un hôpital dédié à Saint-Jacques pour recevoir les pèlerins, dès 1339.

C’est en 1455, que l’édification de la chapelle Saint-Jacques est amorcée. Elle est vraisemblablement bâtie sur l’emplacement de l’hôpital primitif, enserrée dans le bâti urbain. Cette construction est contemporaine de la chartreuse Saint-Sauveur (1451-1459) et des voûtes de la collégiale (1474).

La chapelle est un bel exemple d’architecture gothique méridionale à nef unique. Le portail d’entrée ogival tout comme la porte d’entrée en bois, à deux vantaux ornés de décors en plis de serviette, (qui viennent d’être restaurés) sont très caractéristiques du style gothique flamboyant rappelant les remplages contemporains du petit cloître de la chartreuse Saint-Sauveur.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu