Lovers of modern and contemporary art? Follow us in roadtrip mode from the Aveyron gorges to the Lot valley. A 100% artistic itinerary for lovers of exhibitions and galleries.

Stage 1: Beaulieu Abbey in Ginals

We begin our artistic itinerary in the valley of the Seye, a small river of about 48 kilometers which has its source near the village of Vazerac, in the Tarn-et-Garonne. It then crosses several municipalities including Caylus, Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val and Septfonds, before jumping into the Aveyron river.

It is in the town of Ginals that we discover, amazed, the abbey of Beaulieu. In this green setting that is the Seye valley, between hills, woods and fields, the imposing monastic building stands proudly.

After learning about the history of the place and its Cistercian community founded in the XNUMXth century, we discover the incredible modern art collection. Nestled in beautiful recently restored rooms of the abbey, the works brought together by Pierre Brache and Geneviève Bonnefoi form an exceptional collection.

The Brache-Bonnefoi collection

Geneviève Bonnefoi and Pierre Brache bought Beaulieu Abbey in 1960 with the aim of exhibiting their collection there. This is made up of works of art from the post-war period, which they describe as “the fertile years”. Their first purchase: two watercolors by Henri Michaux. Then followed many other works by the main avant-garde artists of the years 1945-1975 such as Hans Hartung, Alfred Manessier, Georges Bisssière, Vasarely, Simon Hantaï, Jean Dubuffet, Fred Deux or even Claude Georges and Georges Matthieu.

Learn more about the collection

Today, their collection of modern art counts more than 1 works, of 151 different artists, including more than 200 paintings and 400 drawings, but also an important library and archives.

Throughout the rooms, we feel the taste of the collectors for the abstraction which is so present in the exhibition. Some paintings leave me amazed! My favorite room: the one dedicated to Simon Hantaï. It brings together several paintings that were made using a folding technique, the result is striking.

ADT82 – Lauriane Donzelli – CRTL Occitanie
Beaulieu Abbey
Beaulieu Abbey Church

Not to be missed during your visit

  • The abbey church of Beaulieu
  • The garden and its thousand roses

Stage 2: the Atelier Blanc in Villefranche de Rouergue & the Moulin des Arts in Saint-Rémy

Firm. Opens at 14:00 p.m.
Right bank path
12200 Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Calculate my route

We take the road again towards Villefranche-de-Rouergue where we will visit the White Workshop, contemporary art space located on the banks of the Aveyron river.

SPL West Aveyron
White Workshop Garden

Villefranche de Rouergue has a very pretty historic center. We learn that it is a country house built in the Middle Ages. Its architectural plan forms a kind of labyrinth of streets that lead us to the beautiful Place Notre Dame. Lined with arcades on all sides, the square is overlooked by the bell tower-gate of the collegiate.

We reach the banks of the river and push the door of the Atelier Blanc garden. A small enchanted world is revealed to us and already some artistic installations arouse our curiosity.

L'Atelier Blanc, contemporary art space

The current exhibition is called “Return Rapide” and brings together the creations of Célie Falières and the duo formed by Mazaccio & Drowilal. The installations, photocollages, sculptures and video address the theme of time. This exhibition continues in a second space, about ten minutes from Villefranche de Rouergue, at Mill of Arts of Saint-Remy.

Firm. Opens at 14:00 p.m.
2 church square
12200 St-Remy
Calculate my route

L'Atelier Blanc an association for contemporary art

Created in 2004, the association L'Atelier Blanc supports artistic creation and works to disseminate contemporary art to the general public. It includes three places: the Atelier Blanc on the banks of the Aveyron, the Atelier Blanc in the Bastide in the old center and the Moulin des Arts in Saint-Rémy.

The association offers exhibitions from March to December but also creative residencies, meetings, workshops and events.

Stage 3: the Maison des Arts Georges and Claude Pompidou

To end this day placed under the sign of art, direction Cajarc in the Lot valley. This time we travel through the landscapes of Causse of Villeneuve between oak woods and vast expanses adorned with junipers, boxwood and poppies.

After crossing the impressive Cajarc bridge, we arrive at the MAGCP (House of Arts Georges & Claude Pompidou).

The Georges & Claude Pompidou House of Arts

This contemporary art center, which has been certified since 2018, hosts exhibitions and international artist residencies in Cajarc and at Maisons Daura based in Saint-Cirq Lapopie.

The current exhibition “Sous le Ciel” presents photographs by Raymond Depardon and installations by Nicolas Tubéry. These two artists, separated by two generations, both approach the peasant world in their creations. I am captivated by the black and white photographs of Raymond Depardon which illustrate a rural daily life that seems out of time.

Marion

About Marion

100% Aveyronnaise, I love exploring the Bastides and Gorges of Aveyron to enjoy new landscapes throughout the seasons...
Hikes, visits to monuments and charming villages, events and outings with friends... I'm never bored in this pretty corner of Aveyron!

Was this content useful to you?

Amoureux d’art moderne et contemporain ? Suivez-nous en mode roadtrip des gorges de l’Aveyron à la vallée du Lot. Un itinéraire 100% artistique pour les amoureux d’expositions et galeries.

Etape 1 : l’abbaye de Beaulieu à Ginals

Nous commençons notre itinéraire artistique dans la vallée de la Seye, une petite rivière d’environ 48 kilomètres qui prend sa source près du village de Vazerac, dans le Tarn-et-Garonne. Elle traverse ensuite plusieurs communes dont Caylus, Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val et Septfonds, avant de se jeter dans la rivière Aveyron.

C’est sur la commune de Ginals, que nous découvrons, époustouflés, l’abbaye de Beaulieu. Dans cet écrin de verdure qu’est la vallée de la Seye, entre collines, bois et champs, l’imposant bâtiment monastique se dresse fièrement.

Après avoir pris connaissance de l’Histoire du lieu et de sa communauté cistercienne fondée au XIIe siècle, nous découvrons l’incroyable collection d’art moderne. Nichées dans de belles pièces récemment restaurées de l’abbaye, les œuvres rassemblées par Pierre Brache et Geneviève Bonnefoi forment une collection exceptionnelle.

La collection Brache-Bonnefoi

Geneviève Bonnefoi et Pierre Brache achètent l’abbaye de Beaulieu en 1960 dans l’objectif d’y exposer leur collection. Celle-ci est composée d’œuvres d’art d’après-guerre, période qu’ils qualifient « d’années fertiles ». Leur premier achat : deux aquarelles d’Henri Michaux. Suivront ensuite de nombreuses autres œuvres des principaux artistes avant-gardistes des années 1945-1975 tels que Hans Hartung, Alfred Manessier, Georges Bisssière, Vasarely, Simon Hantaï, Jean Dubuffet, Fred Deux ou encore Claude Georges et Georges Matthieu.

En savoir plus sur la collection

Aujourd’hui, leur collection d’art moderne compte plus de 1 300 œuvres, de 151 artistes différents, dont plus de 200 tableaux et 400 dessins, mais aussi une importante bibliothèque et fond d’archives.

Au fil des salles, on ressent le goût des collectionneurs pour l’abstraction qui est si présente dans l’exposition. Certains peintures me laissent stupéfaite ! Ma salle préférée : celle dédiée à Simon Hantaï. Elle regroupe plusieurs peintures qui ont été réalisées grâce à une technique de pliage, le résultat est saisissant.

ADT82 – Lauriane Donzelli – CRTL Occitanie
Abbaye de Beaulieu
Eglise de l'abbaye de Beaulieu

À ne pas manquer lors de votre visite

  • L’église abbatiale de Beaulieu
  • Le jardin et ses mille rosiers

Etape 2 : l’Atelier Blanc à Villefranche de Rouergue & le Moulin des Arts à Saint-Rémy

Fermé. Ouvre à 14h00
Chemin de la rive droite
12200 Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Calculer mon itinéraire

On reprend la route direction Villefranche de Rouergue où l’on visitera l’Atelier Blanc, un espace d’art contemporain situé sur les berges de la rivière Aveyron.

SPL Ouest Aveyron
Jardin de l'Atelier Blanc

Villefranche de Rouergue recèle un très joli centre historique. Nous apprenons qu’il s’agit d’une bastide construite au Moyen Age. Son plan architectural forme une sorte de labyrinthe de rues qui nous mènent vers la belle place Notre Dame. Bordée d’arcades de tous les côtés, la place est surplombée du clocher-porte de la collégiale.

Nous rejoignons les bords de rivière et poussons la porte du jardin de l’Atelier Blanc. Un petit monde enchanté se révèle à nous et déjà quelques installations artistiques éveillent notre curiosité.

L'Atelier Blanc, espace d'art contemporain

L’exposition du moment se nomme « Retour rapide » et regroupe les créations de Célie Falières et du duo formé par Mazaccio & Drowilal. Les installations, photocollages, sculptures et vidéo abordent la thématique du temps. Cette exposition se poursuit dans un deuxième espace, à un dizaine de minutes de Villefranche de Rouergue, au Moulin des Arts de Saint-Rémy.

Fermé. Ouvre à 14h00
2 place de l’église
12200 St-Rémy
Calculer mon itinéraire

L’Atelier Blanc une association pour l’art contemporain

Créée en 2004, l’association L’Atelier Blanc soutient la création artistique et œuvre à la diffusion de l’art contemporain auprès du grand public. Elle regroupe trois lieux : l’Atelier Blanc sur les berges de l’Aveyron, l’Atelier Blanc en Bastide dans le centre ancien et le Moulin des Arts de Saint-Rémy.

L’association propose des expositions de mars à décembre mais aussi des résidences de création, des rencontres, ateliers et événements.

Etape 3 : la Maison des Arts Georges et Claude Pompidou

Pour finir cette journée placée sous le signe de l’art, direction Cajarc dans la vallée du Lot. Nous parcourons cette fois les paysages du causse de Villeneuve entre bois de chênes et vastes étendues ornées de genévriers, buis et coquelicots.

Après avoir traversé l’impressionnant pont de Cajarc, nous arrivons à la MAGCP (Maison des Arts Georges & Claude Pompidou).

La Maison des Arts Georges & Claude Pompidou

Ce centre d’art contemporain labellisé depuis 2018 accueille des expositions et résidences internationales d’artistes à Cajarc et à la Maisons Daura basée à Saint-Cirq Lapopie.

L’exposition du moment « Sous le ciel » présente des photographies de Raymond Depardon et des installations de Nicolas Tubéry. Ces deux artistes que deux générations séparent abordent tous deux le monde paysan dans leurs créations. Je suis captivée par les photographies noir et blanc de Raymond Depardon qui illustrent une vie quotidienne rurale qui semble hors du temps.

Marion

À propos de Marion

100% aveyronnaise, j'adore parcourir les Bastides et Gorges de l'Aveyron pour profiter de nouveaux paysages au fil des saisons...
Randonnées, visites de monuments et villages de charme, événements et sorties entre amis... je ne m'ennuie jamais dans ce joli coin de l'Aveyron !

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?