Returns Returns

The Little Tour of Mergieux, circuit n°7 around Najac

NAJAC

In the country, Forest, Hiking

Hike accessible to all around the hamlet of Mergieux. Be careful though, some passages have a significant drop. This circuit does not start from Najac, it is accessible by car or via hikes numbers 6 and 8.

A good part of the circuit is in the forest. Alongside hardwoods (eg hornbeams, chestnut trees, ash trees, etc.) which made up the forest cover until the beginning of the XNUMXth century, some softwoods have been planted for logging. The forests around the holiday village of Mergieux are exploited by the ONF.

The Little Tour of Mergieux, circuit n°7 around Najac

Duration: 02 hours

Elevation: -296 D- ​​/ 296 D+

Distance: 6 km

1. Departure from the multi-sport field

Possibility to park at the level of the multi-sport ground. Then take the direction of the holiday village, 300 meters further on, cross it to descend completely to the bottom of the village.

2. Step 1

Take the wide path on the right which descends towards the river, you are on the GR36. At the start of the path you will come across two Y-shaped intersections, always turn left. Go down to the river, pass under the SNCF bridge. The path runs along the right bank river for 1,5 km with beautiful passages in boxwood tunnels.

3. Step 2

At the Baussanière stream, turn right before the bridge. The path climbs steeply for one kilometer to Baussanière (alt. 312 meters) or 150 meters of drop from the river. In Baussanière, discover a magnificent view of the confluence between the Aveyron and the Sereine as well as the holiday village of Mergieux. If fatigue begins to be felt, take the road for 500 meters and take the first path on the right, otherwise follow the markings of the path which starts at the corner of the meadow. This path winds through the woods along tracks left by motorbikes until it finds a wider path.

4. Step 3

Take this path on the right which descends via a succession of hairpins to the Loubezac stream. Cross the stream, then take the path that climbs steeply. Courage, you are only 500 meters from the finish.

5. End of the tour

Return to the starting point, near the Mergieux holiday village (created in 1975).

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Retour Retour

Le Petit Tour de Mergieux, circuit n°7 autour de Najac

NAJAC

À la campagne, Forêt, Randonnée

Randonnée accessible à tous autour du hameau de Mergieux. Attention cependant, certains passages possèdent un dénivelé important. Ce circuit ne part pas de Najac, il est accessible en voiture ou via les randonnées numéros 6 et 8.

Une bonne partie du circuit se fait en forêt. Aux côtés des feuillus (ex: charmes, châtaigniers, frênes,...) qui constituaient la couverture forestière jusqu'au début du XXème, certains résineux ont été implantés pour l'exploitation forestière. Les forêts autour du village de vacances de Mergieux sont exploitées par l'ONF.

Le Petit Tour de Mergieux, circuit n°7 autour de Najac

Durée : 02h00

Dénivelé : -296 D- / 296 D+

Distance : 6 km

1. Départ du terrain multi-sport

Possibilité de se garer au niveau du terrain multi-sport. Ensuite prendre direction le village de vacances, 300 mètres plus loin, le traverser pour descendre complètement au fond du village.

2. Etape 1

Prendre à droite le chemin large qui descend vers la rivière, vous êtes sur le GR36. Au départ du chemin vous rencontrerez deux intersections en Y, prendre toujours à gauche. Descendre jusqu'à la rivière, passer sous le pont SNCF. Le chemin longe la rivière rive droite sur 1,5 km avec de beaux passages en tunnels de buis.

3. Etape 2

Au ruisseau de Baussanière, tourner à droite avant le pont. Le chemin monte raide sur un kilomètre jusqu'à Baussanière (alt. 312 mètres) soit 150 mètres de dénivelé par rapport à la rivière. A Baussanière, découvrez une vue magnifique sur la confluence entre l'Aveyron et la Sereine ainsi que le village de vacances de Mergieux. Si la fatigue commence à se faire ressentir, prendre la route sur 500 mètres et prendre le premier chemin à droite, sinon suivre le balisage du chemin qui part à l'angle du pré. Ce chemin sillonne dans les bois le long de traces laissées par les motos jusqu'à retrouver un chemin plus large.

4. Etape 3

Prendre à droite ce chemin qui descend par une succession d'épingles jusqu'au ruisseau de Loubezac. Traverser le ruisseau, puis prendre le chemin qui monte raide. Courage, vous n'êtes plus qu'à 500 mètres de l'arrivée.

5. Fin du circuit

Retour au point de départ, à proximité du village de vacances de Mergieux (créé en 1975).

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu