Returns Returns

Les Fontaines, circuit n°4 around Najac

NAJAC

In the countryside, Hiking

Relatively simple path around Najac (but with a drop which makes it a difficulty) to discover old fountains in a calm and wooded environment. Possible departure from the VAL-VVF holiday village at Puech Moutonniers.

Indispensable to the life of the village, the fountains were fed by drainage water from the plateau of Terres Rouge - La Planquette. They are called griffouls.
The first fountain was built in 1344 in the Bourguet district. It is carved from a single block of granite. One can find there the figures of the former consuls and the bishop. It remained in use until the beginning of the 20th century.

Les Fontaines, circuit n°4 around Najac

Duration: 02 hours

Elevation: -225 D- ​​/ 225 D+

Distance: 4.8 km

1. Departure from Najac

Departure from Place du Faubourg in Najac. Possibility to park in the parking lot of the post office. Go along the square, pass in front of the Tourist Office and continue to the grocery store 50 meters further on the left. Bypass the grocery store on the left and walk along the houses and gardens through the magnificent "roc de cabusse" circular path. Go down to the Loge, then turn right towards the Place de l'Etoile. Turn left into rue du Bourguet, then left into rue de la Portète (just behind the small restaurant) to reach rue Basse.

2. Step 1

Turn left, cross the D39, and take the botanical path opposite to the Gabanel fountain then cross the bridge. Take the path which rises steeply under the boxwood. Leave a path on the right, continue to climb in the fir trees. At the next intersection, turn right and continue to climb until the intersection of 3 paths.

3. Step 2

Turn left towards Najac. Leave the wide path to take the steep path on the left. At the paved path, continue straight. You can observe another fountain on your right. The path crosses the Vernhe stream then goes up to the road.

4. Step 3

Take the road to the right for 300 meters to go up to the village. Arrived on the square, at the level of the hairpin bend, turn right towards the gendarmerie. Just opposite the gendarmerie leave the road by taking a small alley on the left which leads to a path. At the next intersection, turn left to return to the village via the GR36. This will allow you to discover a new fountain. At road level, turn left for 50 meters then a narrow lane (alley) will take you to the heart of the village.

5. End of the tour

Back to the starting point. Possibility to visit Najac, its fortress and its church. Several restaurants, bars and shops on site.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Retour Retour

Les Fontaines, circuit n°4 autour de Najac

NAJAC

À la campagne, Randonnée

Sentier relativement simple autour de Najac (mais avec du dénivelé ce qui en fait une difficulté) pour découvrir de vieilles fontaines dans un environnement calme et boisé. Départ possible du village de vacances VAL-VVF au Puech Moutonniers.

Indispensables à la vie du village, les fontaines étaient alimentées par les eaux de drainage du plateau de Terres Rouge - La Planquette. Elles portent le nom de griffouls.
La première fontaine fut construite en 1344 dans le quartier du Bourguet. Celle-ci est sculptée dans un seul bloc de granit. On peut y retrouver les figures des anciens consuls et de l'évêque. Elle est restée utilisée jusqu'au début du 20ème siècle.

Les Fontaines, circuit n°4 autour de Najac

Durée : 02h00

Dénivelé : -225 D- / 225 D+

Distance : 4.8 km

1. Départ de Najac

Départ depuis la place du Faubourg à Najac. Possibilité de se garer sur le parking de la poste. Longer la place, passer devant l'Office de Tourisme et continuer jusqu'à l'épicerie 50 mètres plus loin sur la gauche. Contourner l'épicerie par la gauche et longer les habitations et jardins à travers le magnifique sentier de ronde "roc de cabusse". Descendre jusqu'à la Loge, puis tourner à droite vers la place de l'étoile. Prendre à gauche la rue du Bourguet, puis à gauche la rue de la Portète (juste derrière le petit restaurant) pour arriver sur la rue Basse.

2. Etape 1

Prendre à gauche, traverser la D39, et prendre le sentier botanique en face jusqu'à la fontaine de Gabanel puis traverser le pont. Prendre le chemin qui monte raide sous les buis. Laisser un sentier à droite, continuer à monter dans les sapins. A l'intersection suivante, bifurquer à droite et continuer à monter jusqu'à l'intersection de 3 sentiers.

3. Etape 2

Bifurquer à gauche direction Najac. Quitter le large chemin pour emprunter à gauche le sentier qui descend pentu. Au chemin pavé, continuer tout droit. Vous pouvez observer une autre fontaine sur votre droite. Le chemin traverse le ruisseau de la Vernhe puis remonte jusqu'à la route.

4. Etape 3

Emprunter la route à droite sur 300 mètres pour monter au village. Arrivé sur la place, au niveau du virage en épingle, tourner à droite vers la gendarmerie. Juste en face de la gendarmerie quitter la route en prenant à gauche une petite ruelle qui aboutit sur un chemin. A la prochaine intersection, bifurquer à gauche pour retourner au village par le GR36. Ceci vous permettra de découvrir une nouvelle fontaine. Au niveau de la route, tourner à gauche sur 50 mètres puis une ruelle étroite (venelle) vous mènera au cœur du village.

5. Fin du circuit

Retour au point de départ. Possibilité de visiter Najac, sa forteresse et son église. Plusieurs restaurants, bars et commerces sur place.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu