On the occasion of Saint-Barthélemy, savor an essential specialty of Aveyron… Fouace! Like a regional star, this brioche cake is celebrated at the Najac festival in August. 

A gourmet and festive product: the fouace!

La fouace, cake crown-shaped and flavored with orange blossom, looks like a brioche you want to bite into! It is prepared in homes on the occasion of important events in family life: baptisms, communions, weddings since the Middle Ages… It was also present at the table during the harvest, haymaking or grape harvest which brought the neighborhood together.

As you will have understood, for the people of Aveyron, the fouace is a symbol of celebration and sharing! 

Celebrate this sweet delicacy during the Najac votive festival which takes place every year at the end of August.

A moment of sharing and
traditional

The fouace festival is also the Saint Bartholomew's Day, patron saint of the village of Najac. It has always taken place on the Sunday following August 15 and marks the end of work in the fields. Mark your calendars!

For the event, the baker cooks four size cakes… Between 25 and 45 kg for a length of 1,5 to 2 meters long by 1 meter wide! Surrounded by musicians and dancers, they parade through the village escorted by locals and passers-by. Join the procession and go to the tasting!

A weekend of entertainment

Spread over three days, from Saturday to Monday evening, this summer highlight brings together all generations! A colorful entertainment program awaits you: carnival, petanque competition, concerts, bandas, fireworks... Let yourself be carried away by friendly atmosphere in the exceptional setting of one of the Most Beautiful Villages in France. Not counting the traditional parade of giant cakes which obviously end up on the plate.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

À l’occasion de la Saint-Barthélemy, savourez une spécialité incontournable de l’Aveyron… La fouace ! Telle une star régionale, ce gâteau brioché est célébré à la fête de Najac en août. 

Un produit gourmand et festif : la fouace !

La fouace, gâteau en forme de couronne et parfumé à la fleur d’oranger, ressemble à une brioche dans laquelle on a envie de croquer ! Elle est préparée dans les maisons à l’occasion d’événements importants de la vie familiale : baptêmes, communions, mariages depuis le Moyen Age… Elle était aussi présente à table au moment des moissons, fenaisons ou vendanges qui rassemblaient le voisinage.

Vous l'aurez compris, pour les Aveyronnais, la fouace est symbole de fête et de partage ! 

Célébrez cette gourmandise sucrée à l’occasion de la fête votive de Najac qui a lieu chaque année à la fin du mois d’août.

Un moment de partage et
de tradition

La fête de la fouace c’est aussi la fête de la Saint-Barthélemy, saint patron du village de Najac. Elle se déroule depuis toujours le dimanche qui suit le 15 août et marque la fin des travaux dans les champs. À vos agendas !

Pour l’événement, le boulanger cuit quatre fouaces de taille… Entre 25 et 45 kg pour une longueur de 1,5 à 2 mètres de long sur 1 mètre de large ! Entourées de musiciens et de danseurs, elles défilent dans le village escortées par les habitants et passants. Rejoignez le cortège et passez à la dégustation !

Un week-end d’animations

Réparti sur trois jours, du samedi au lundi soir, ce temps fort de l’été rassemble toutes les générations !  Un programme d’animations haut en couleur vous attend : fête foraine, concours de pétanque, concerts, bandas, feu d’artifice…Laissez-vous porter pas une ambiance conviviale dans le cadre exceptionnel d’un des Plus Beaux Villages de France. Sans compter le traditionnel défilé de fouaces géantes qui finissent, bien évidemment, dans l’assiette.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu