Returns Returns

Les Châtaigneraies circuit n°6 around Najac

NAJAC

In the countryside, Hiking

Pleasant trail with varied landscapes. First half of the hike on the heights of Najac and return to the shade along the Aveyron, ideal when it's hot. Several curiosities throughout the circuit. Departure possible from the VAL-VVF holiday village.

Chestnut, along with rye, was one of the staple foods of the time. He saved many miserable inhabitants from starvation during times of scarcity.

Find all the hiking trails around Najac in the topo guide 8 hiking routes around Najac, available at the Tourist Office for 6€

Les Châtaigneraies circuit n°6 around Najac

Elevation: -434 D- ​​/ 434 D+

Distance: 11.8 km

1. Departure from the Place du Forail in Najac

Possibility to park your vehicle on the Place du Foirail (post office/gendarmerie car park). Leaving the car park go down the D39 on the left for 200 meters. In the hairpin bend, turn left towards Saint André and immediately right on the path that descends, towards Puech Moutonnier. Cross the Vernhe stream and go up the paved path. Keep to the left on the path which rises steeply. Arrived at the wide grassy path, turn right and continue to the crossroads.

2. Step 1

Turn left towards Cassagnes. The path bypasses the holiday residence. Continue along the small path which leads to a magnificent view of Najac. Continue straight on the wide path for 150 meters then turn right between the rocks and take the stony path opposite towards Cassagnes. When you reach the road, turn right towards the village of Cassagnes. Turn right on the wide path which skirts the fields before sinking into the valley by a path in poor condition.

3. Step 2

Pass to the right under the Grèzes bridge and follow the river for 6 km along a beautiful shady path. You will observe the canoe-kayak slalom basin built at a place called Bano de Biau (ox horn) for the organization of national level competitions. A little further, you will discover a first mill in ruins of Ferragut then that of Auribal still in good condition. The path runs along the railway line with magnificent works of art on the section from Monteils to Laguépie.

4. Step 3

Arrived on the D594, turn left and cross the St Blaise bridge. Turn right onto the road that runs along the river. [Possible junction with circuit 3 by continuing on the road which rises just after the St Blaise bridge] At the level of the swimming pool, continue along the river on the small path which leads to the Frégère bridge. [Possible junction with circuits 1 and 2 by turning left on the road and then right 30 meters further in the lane which goes up] Cross the river, then climb the old medieval hill on the left. At the crossroads just below the village turn right. Arrived in the lane, turn left to pass in front of the chapel and continue straight ahead to reach the Place du Faubourg. [Possible junction with circuit 4 by continuing the road which passes in front of the gendarmerie]

5. End of the tour

Return to the starting point after 13 km of walking!

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Retour Retour

Les Châtaigneraies circuit n°6 autour de Najac

NAJAC

À la campagne, Randonnée

Sentier agréable aux paysages variés. Première moitié de la randonnée sur les hauteurs de Najac et retour à l'ombre en longeant l'Aveyron, idéal lorsqu'il fait chaud. Plusieurs curiosités tout au long du circuit. Départ possible depuis le village de vacances VAL-VVF.

Le châtaignier constituait avec le seigle une des bases de l'alimentation de l'époque. Il a sauvé de la famine bien des habitants misérables pendant les périodes de disette.

Retrouvez l'ensemble des sentiers de Randonnées autour de Najac dans le topo guide 8 itinéraires de randonnées autour de Najac, disponible à l'Office de Tourisme pour 6€

Les Châtaigneraies circuit n°6 autour de Najac

Dénivelé : -434 D- / 434 D+

Distance : 11.8 km

1. Départ depuis la place du foirail de Najac

Possibilité de garer votre véhicule sur la place du foirail (parking de la poste/gendarmerie). En sortant du parking descendre à gauche la D39 sur 200 mètres. Dans le virage en épingle prendre à gauche direction Saint André et de suite à droite le sentier qui descend, direction Puech Moutonnier. Traverser le ruisseau de la Vernhe et remonter le chemin pavé. Rester à gauche sur le sentier qui monte raide. Arrivé au large chemin herbeux, bifurquer à droite et continuer jusqu'au carrefour.

2. Etape 1

Prendre à gauche direction Cassagnes. Le chemin contourne la résidence de vacances. Continuer par le petit sentier qui mène à un magnifique point de vue sur Najac. Continuer tout droit le large chemin sur 150 mètres puis obliquer à droite entre les rochers et prendre en face le chemin caillouteux direction Cassagnes. Arrivé au niveau de la route, bifurquer à droite vers le village de Cassagnes. Tourner à droite sur le large chemin qui longe les champs avant de s'enfoncer dans la vallée par un chemin en mauvais état.

3. Etape 2

Passer à droite sous le pont de Grèzes et longer la rivière sur 6 km par un beau chemin ombragé. Vous observerez au passage le bassin de slalom canoë-kayak construit au lieu-dit Bano de Biau (corne de boeuf) pour l'organisation de compétitions de niveau national. Un peu plus loin, vous découvrirez un premier moulin en ruine de Ferragut puis celui d'Auribal encore en bon état. Le chemin longe la voie ferrée avec de magnifiques ouvrages d'art sur le tronçon de Monteils à Laguépie.

4. Etape 3

Arrivé sur la D594, tourner à gauche et traverser le pont St Blaise. Bifurquer à droite sur la route qui longe la rivière. [Jonction possible avec le circuit 3 en continuant sur la route qui monte juste après le pont St Blaise] Au niveau de la piscine, continuer le long de la rivière le petit sentier qui mène au pont de la Frégère. [Jonction possible avec les circuits 1 et 2 en prenant à gauche sur la route et puis à droite 30 mètres plus loin dans la ruelle qui monte ] Traverser la rivière, puis gravir à gauche l'ancienne côte médiévale. Au croisement juste en dessous du village bifurquer à droite. Arrivé dans la ruelle, prendre à gauche pour passer devant la chapelle et continuer toujours tout droit pour rejoindre la place du Faubourg. [Jonction possible avec le circuit 4 en continuant la route qui passe devant la gendarmerie]

5. Fin du circuit

Retour au point de départ après 13 km de marche !

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu