Take in the eyes from the heights of the Lot valley. In the heart of natural sites, contemplate breathtaking panoramas.

Montsalès, perched village

Arriving in the pretty little village of Montsalès, you will quickly guess that a amazing views hides behind the stone houses. From the main square, in the shade of the plane trees, look up to admire an imposing medieval tower of the 14th century. the monument, restored by the municipality, houses a Art Gallery.

Take a few steps towards the Eternal Leap, for an panorama breathtaking awaits you! Facing you, the limestone slopes of the causes, dotted with oak trees. Below flows the Flaucou stream which flows into the Lot river a few kilometers away.

Continue on the path that goes down to join the road and make a 3 km loop before going back to the village.

panorama-montsales-vallee

Gallery of the Tower of Montsalès

After contemplating the view from the foot of the tower, push open its doors to discover temporary exhibitions by local, regional and international artists.
Visit the gallery

Saut de la Mounine, panorama of the causse

Continue your journey to contemplate a natural Park exceptional, the Saut de la Mounine. On the high cliffs, overlook the vallée and the meanders of the Lot. Observe the nature surrounding, the colors of the causes and the green tones of the fields. Listen carefully for the sound of water from the river some 150 meters below and savor the calm of the heights. You might be surprised by the flight of a paraglider a few meters away.

To get there, take the direction of Saujac.

The legend says ...

On his return from a pilgrimage to Compostela, a monk named Sidoine discovered a cave under the cliffs overlooking the Lot river. He settled there with his monkey, a mounine. The Sire de Montbrun, unable to accept the love of his daughter Ghislaine for the son of his worst enemy, swore that he would rather see her rush into the void. The girl came to confide her misfortunes to the hermit. He sacrificed the monkey dressed in Ghislaine's clothes, throwing her from the top of the cliff, to simulate her death. The castellan was upset at the sight of the remains which he believed to be of his daughter. Once the scheme is revealed, happy to know his daughter is alive, he grants her forgiveness and the marriage of his dreams.

Belgian Cross

Take the time to push your way to the Croix des Belges. Erected in commemoration of the exodus of Belgian families in May 1940, the original cross has been replaced by an oxidized steel cross made by local craftsmen. The monument dominates the wide valley, the landscape that surrounds it is striking.

Would you like a hike from this beautiful viewpoint? A loop takes you to the village of Saujac, in the valley. You will walk along the cliff and its panoramas while observing its rich fauna and flora.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Prenez-en plein les yeux depuis les hauteurs de la vallée du Lot. Au cœur de sites naturels, contemplez des panoramas à couper le souffle.

Montsalès, village perché

En arrivant dans le joli petit village de Montsalès, vous devinerez vite qu’une vue imprenable se cache derrière les maisons de pierres. Depuis la place principale, à l’ombre des platanes, levez les yeux pour admirer une imposante tour médiévale du 14e siècle. Le monument, restauré par la commune, abrite une galerie d’art.

Faites quelques pas en direction du Saut Éternel, un panorama époustouflant vous y attend ! Face à vous, les versants calcaires du causse, parsemés de chênes. En contrebas coule le ruisseau de Flaucou qui se jette dans la rivière Lot à quelques kilomètres de là.

Poursuivez sur le sentier qui descend rejoindre la route et faites une boucle de 3 km avant de remonter au village.

panorama-montsales-vallee

Galerie de la Tour de Montsalès

Après avoir contemplé le point de vue depuis le pied de la tour, poussez ses portes à la découverte d’expositions temporaires d’artistes locaux, régionaux et internationaux.
Visiter la galerie

Saut de la Mounine, panorama du causse

Continuez votre route pour contempler un site naturel exceptionnel, le Saut de la Mounine. Sur les hautes falaises, surplombez la vallée et les méandres du Lot. Observez la nature environnante, les couleurs du causse et les tonalités vertes des champs. Tendez l’oreille pour écouter le bruit de l’eau de la rivière quelques 150 mètres plus bas et savourez le calme des hauteurs. Vous pourriez être surpris par l’envol d’un parapentiste à quelques mètres de là.

Pour y accéder, prenez la direction de Saujac.

La légende raconte…

À son retour d’un pèlerinage à Compostelle, un moine prénommé  Sidoine découvrit une grotte sous les falaises surplombant la rivière du Lot. Il s’y installa en compagnie de sa guenon, une mounine. Le sire de Montbrun, ne pouvant accepter l’amour de sa fille Ghislaine pour le fils de son pire ennemi, jura qu’il aimerait mieux la voir se précipiter dans le vide. La fille vint confier ses malheurs à l’ermite. Celui-ci sacrifia la guenon vêtue des habits de Ghislaine, en la précipitant du haut de la falaise, pour simuler sa mort. Le châtelain fut bouleversé à la vue de la dépouille qu’il croyait être de sa fille. Une fois le stratagème dévoilé, heureux de savoir sa fille en vie, il lui accorde le pardon et le mariage de ses rêves.

Croix des Belges

Prenez le temps de pousser votre chemin jusqu’à la Croix des Belges. Érigée en commémoration de l’exode des familles belges au mois de mai 1940, la croix d’origine a été remplacée une croix d’acier oxydé réalisée par des artisans locaux. Le monument domine la large vallée, le paysage qui l’entoure est saisissant.

Une randonnée au départ de ce beau point de vue, ça vous tente ? Une boucle vous amène jusqu’au village de Saujac, dans la vallée. Vous longerez la falaise et ses panoramas tout en observant sa riche faune et flore.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu