Protective tombs, they are the guardians of ancestral funerary chambers. Explore the circuits of the dolmens of Martiel and Foissac and let yourself be carried away by a natural history dating back more than 4000 years.

The dolmens, surprising stone constructions

dolmen-foissac-nature

Explore the territory of the Bastides and Gorges of Aveyron in the footsteps of our ancestors. On your walk, let yourself be surprised by mysterious and intriguing constructions: the dolmens.

The term dolmen comes to us from the Breton dole, table and man, Pierre. But what were they for? Built at the prehistory, these buildings are funerary monuments having housed collective burials. At the turn of your walk, they will impress you with their sometimes imposing size. Consisting of large slabs of cover placed on vertical stones serving as feet, they raise a major question… How did they do it?!

Imagine the techniques and tricks that Neolithic men had to put in place to build megaliths and dive back more than 4 years... 

Aveyron, land of dolmens? 

You thought that our Breton friends had a monopoly on menhirs, dolmens and other megalithic constructions ? Think again ! Aveyron is even the French department with the most dolmens! There are nearly 1 of them in the Aveyron area. Smaller than those of Brittany, they nevertheless surprise by their strong geographical concentration. You will sometimes be able to observe 000 to 5 of them by walking a few meters!  

Why such concentration? Specialists tell us about the "limestone law" according to which the calcareous soils are favored grounds for the construction of dolmens. Our Causse is therefore a good place to observe them!

Un circuit, des dolmens
CManoukian

A circuit, dolmens

Enjoy the calm and nature, with family, couple, friends or solo to awaken all your senses!

The circuits of the dolmens

Many circuits allow you to discover these thousand-year-old riches! Put on your trainers, slip a little snack into your backpack and set off to explore the trails of the causse. 

In Villeneuve or Martiel, enjoy a natural setting enchanting for a walk in the oak woods. Here nature rhymes with adventure! As a family, walk the marked paths and come face to face with these prehistoric monuments. Take the time to observe the flora that surrounds you, the landscapes of the Causses and its small heritage: caselles, dovecotes...

Follow us to discover the dolmens of Foissac. In the heart of nature, follow the paths between oaks and junipers on the trail of these large monolithic stones

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Tombeaux protecteurs, ils sont les gardiens d’ancestrales chambres funéraires. Explorez les circuits des dolmens de Martiel et Foissac et laissez-vous porter par une histoire naturelle vieille de plus de 4000 ans.

Les dolmens, de surprenantes constructions de pierres

dolmen-foissac-nature

Parcourez le territoire des Bastides et Gorges de l’Aveyron sur les traces de nos ancêtres. Sur votre balade, laissez-vous surprendre par de mystérieuses et intrigantes constructions : les dolmens.

Le terme dolmen nous vient du breton dol, table et men, pierre. Mais à quoi servaient-ils ? Bâtis à la préhistoire, ces édifices sont des monuments funéraires ayant abrité des sépultures collectives. Au détour de votre balade, ils vous impressionneront par leur envergure parfois imposante. Constitués de grosses dalles de couverture posées sur des pierres verticales servant de pieds, ils suscitent une question majeure… Comment faisaient-ils ?!

Imaginez-vous les techniques et astuces que les hommes du néolithique ont dû mettre en place pour édifier des mégalithes et plongez-vous plus de 4 000 ans en arrière… 

L’Aveyron, pays des dolmens ? 

Vous pensiez que nos amis bretons avaient le monopole des menhirs, dolmens et autres constructions mégalithiques ? Détrompez-vous ! L’Aveyron est même le département français qui compte le plus de dolmens ! On en dénombre près de 1 000 sur le territoire aveyronnais. Moins grands que ceux de Bretagne, ils surprennent pourtant par leur forte concentration géographique. Vous pourrez parfois en observer 5 à 10 en parcourant quelques mètres !  

Pourquoi une telle concentration ? Les spécialistes nous parlent de la « loi des calcaires » selon laquelle les sols calcaires sont des terrains de prédilection pour la construction de dolmens. Notre Causse est ainsi un endroit propice pour les observer !

CManoukian

Un circuit, des dolmens

Profitez du calme et de la nature, en famille, en couple, entre amis ou solo pour éveiller tous vos sens !

Les circuits des dolmens

Plusieurs circuits vous permettent de découvrir ces richesses millénaires ! Chaussez vos baskets, glissez un petit goûter dans votre sac à dos et partez explorer les sentiers du causse. 

À Villeneuve ou à Martiel, profitez d’un cadre naturel enchanteur pour une balade dans les bois de chênes. Ici nature rime avec aventure ! En famille, arpentez les chemins balisés et tombez nez-à-nez avec ces monuments préhistoriques. Prenez le temps d’observer la flore qui vous entoure, les paysages caussenards et son petit patrimoine : caselles, pigeonniers…

Suivez-nous à la découverte des dolmens de Foissac. En pleine nature, suivez les sentiers entre chênes et genévriers sur la trace de ces grandes pierres monolithes

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu