Returns Returns
01 April 06 November 2022

Medieval cuisine: temporary exhibition at the Governor's House

Add to my Google Calendar
12270 Najac

Find Us Here

1 castle street
12270 Najac

How do I get there?

Presentation

By inviting us to the table of the Middle Ages, the exhibition takes us into a sensory and symbolic universe with a thousand flavors...

By inviting us to the table of the Middle Ages, the exhibition takes us into a sensory and symbolic universe with a thousand flavors… At the table of the lords, the service is a real spectacle that takes place according to a highly codified ritual. Banquets entertained by musicians, jugglers and acrobats are all opportunities for householders to show off their wealth and good taste. The dishes are colorful, disguised and sometimes staged. Peacock, swan or heron, with beaks and legs gilded with fine gold served covered with their feathers and the outstretched wings seem to come back to life.

Among the most humble, the vast majority of the population, the table gives way to modest breads, cereal porridges, vegetables and pulses.


Preparation of meals, utensils and furniture, the difference between the kitchen of the rustic and that of the lord is also very marked. Cooking is done mainly in the fireplace. In bourgeois houses and castles, it is installed in a kitchen separate from the room where you eat. While the poorest are content with an open hearth on the floor which is used for cooking but also for heating and lighting.


The medieval taste is very different from our current taste: in the Middle Ages, we ate light, sour and spicy. Stemming from a booming international trade, spices from the Orient are rare and expensive products that arouse the imagination. It is this universe that the exhibition invites you to discover through a rich iconography and various educational tools that will allow you to "set the table" and challenge your sense of smell...



Free entry for the temporary exhibition. For the permanent exhibition: €4, reduced price €2,50, free for children under 12 and residents of Najac.

All dates and times

Opening hours from 01 April to 06 November 2022
Monday Open
Tuesday Open
Wednesday Open
Thursday Open
Friday Open
Saturday Open
Sunday Open
Temporary exhibition from April 1 to November 6, 2022 * May-June: daily from 10 am-12 pm and 30 pm-14 pm * July to September 17: daily from 19 am-10 pm and 13 pm-14 pm (except July 18 and 7) * September 11 to November 20: every day from 6 a.m. to 10:12 p.m. and from 30 p.m. to 14 p.m. (except September 17, November 19 and 1)

Prices

Free admission

Location

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Retour Retour
01 avril 06 novembre 2022

La cuisine médiévale : exposition temporaire à la Maison du Gouverneur

Ajouter à mon Google Agenda
12270 Najac

Adresse

1 rue du château
12270 Najac

Comment m’y rendre ?

Présentation

En nous invitant à la table du Moyen Âge, l'exposition nous entraîne dans un univers sensoriel et symbolique aux mille saveurs…

En nous invitant à la table du Moyen Âge, l'exposition nous entraîne dans un univers sensoriel et symbolique aux mille saveurs… À la table des seigneurs, le service est un véritable spectacle qui se déroule selon un rituel très codifié. Les banquets qu'agrémentent musiciens, jongleurs et acrobates sont autant d'occasion pour les maîtres de maison de montrer leur richesse et leur bon goût. Les plats sont colorés, déguisés et parfois mis en scène. Paon, cygne ou héron, aux becs et pattes dorés à l'or fin servis revêtus de leurs plumes et les ailes déployées semblent ainsi reprendre vie.

Chez les plus humbles, la très large majorité de la population, la table laisse place aux modestes pains, bouillies de céréales, légumes et légumes secs.


Préparation des repas, ustensiles et mobilier, la différence entre la cuisine du rustre et celle du seigneur est également très marquée. La cuisine se fait principalement dans la cheminée. Dans les maisons bourgeoises et les châteaux, celle-ci est installée dans une cuisine séparée de la pièce où l'on mange. Tandis que les plus pauvres eux se contentent d'un foyer ouvert à même le sol qui sert à cuisiner mais aussi à chauffer et éclairer.


Le goût médiéval est très différent de notre goût actuel : au Moyen Âge, on mange léger, acide et épicé. Issues d'un commerce international en plein essor, les épices venues d'Orient sont des produits rares et chers qui suscitent l'imaginaire. C'est cet univers que l'exposition vous invite à découvrir à travers une riche iconographie et différents outils pédagogiques qui vous permettront de « dresser la table » et de mettre au défi votre odorat…



Entrée libre pour l'exposition temporaire. Pour l'exposition permanente : 4 €, tarif réduit 2,50 €, gratuit pour les moins de 12 ans et les habitants de Najac.

Toutes les dates et horaires

Horaires d'ouverture du 01 avril au 06 novembre 2022
Lundi Ouvert
Mardi Ouvert
Mercredi Ouvert
Jeudi Ouvert
Vendredi Ouvert
Samedi Ouvert
Dimanche Ouvert
Exposition temporaire du 1er avril au 6 novembre 2022 * Mai-juin : tous les jours de 10h-12h30 et 14h-17h * Juillet au 19 septembre : tous les jours de 10h-13h et 14h-18h (sauf le 7 et 11 juillet) * 20 septembre au 6 novembre : tous les jours de 10h-12h30 et de 14h-17h (sauf le 19 septembre, le 1er et 4 novembre)

Tarifs

Entrée libre

Localisation

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu