Every Sunday morning, go to one of the Most Beautiful Villages in France for a traditional market. In Najac, fill your shopping bag with fresh, local products before visiting this exceptional site.

A market with an authentic setting

On Sunday morning, when you arrive in Najac, head towards Place du Faubourg. Arranged to develop markets, this square, long and narrow, is bordered by two rows of houses which formed a linear housing estate. Admire, in the extension of the square, the long street that stretches to the fortress. This perspective seems straight out of a fairy tale!

To the south, the stone or half-timbered houses from the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries are extended by covers under which the goods for sale were sheltered. Even today, the square is a place of trade and commerce where you can meet merchants and producers. Don't forget your basket and fill it with good fresh and local products!

A themed market

At certain times of the year, the market is placed under a particular theme! Seedling market local producers, market well-being, market craft knife or chestnuts… The event is reinvented throughout the year to the delight of day visitors and locals alike. 

On this occasion, meet artisans et local producers and spend some time in a friendly atmosphere. 

After your market, don't forget to push the door of the craftsmen's stalls!

An emblematic product: Fouace

From the Latin “Focus”: hearth, the fouace is the Provençal heritage of the savory form of fougasse, in a sweet version. It's the cake the brioche type that takes the Aveyronnais back to their childhood, the palm tree cake and Catholic religious festivals. Behind its simplicity, this Proust madeleine hides beautiful stories of sharing and transmission. If time passes and recipes change, one thing remains the same: its subtle scent of orange blossom. 

Ideal for breakfast or snack, don't forget to bring some back to your basket! 

Did you know?

Every year, at the end of August, the village of Najac celebrates Saint-Barthélemy and the fouace! Spread over three days, this highlight of the summer brings together all generations around a colorful program.

Participate in Saint-Barthélémy

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Tous les dimanches matins, rendez-vous dans l’un des Plus Beaux Villages de France pour un marché traditionnel. À Najac, remplissez votre cabas de produits frais et locaux avant de visiter ce site exceptionnel.

Un marché au cadre authentique

Le dimanche matin, en arrivant à Najac, dirigez-vous vers la place du Faubourg. Aménagée pour y développer des marchés, cette place, longue et étroite, est bordée par deux rangées de maisons qui formaient un lotissement linéaire. Admirez, dans le prolongement de la place, la longue rue qui s’étire jusqu’à la forteresse. Cette perspective semble tout droit sortie d’un conte de fée !

Au sud, les maisons en pierre ou à pans de bois des XVe et XVIe siècles se prolongent par des couverts sous lesquels étaient abrités les marchandises à vendre. Encore aujourd’hui, la place est un lieu d’échanges et de commerces où vous pourrez rencontrer marchands et producteurs. N’oubliez pas votre panier et remplissez-le de bons produits frais et locaux !

Un marché à thèmes

À certaines périodes de l’année, le marché est placé sous une thématique particulière ! Marché aux plants de producteurs locaux, marché du bien-être, marché du couteau artisanal ou de la châtaigne… Le rendez-vous se réinvente au fil de l’année pour le plus grand bonheur des visiteurs d’un jour et des locaux. 

À cette occasion, rencontrez des artisans et producteurs locaux et passez un moment dans une ambiance conviviale. 

Après votre marché, ne manquez pas de pousser la porte des échoppes d’artisans !

Un produit emblématique : la Fouace

Du latin « Focus » : foyer, la fouace est l’héritage provençal de la forme salée de la fougasse,  en version sucrée. C’est le gâteau type brioche qui replonge les Aveyronnais dans leur enfance, le gâteau des rameaux et fêtes religieuses catholiques. Derrière sa simplicité, cette madeleine de Proust cache de belles histoires de partage et de transmission. Si le temps passe et les recettes changent, une chose ne bouge pas : son subtil parfum de fleur d’oranger. 

Idéale au petit déjeuner ou au goûter, ne manquez pas d’en ramener dans votre panier ! 

Le saviez-vous ?

Chaque année, fin août, le village de Najac fête la Saint-Barthélemy et la fouace ! Réparti sur trois jours, ce temps fort de l’été rassemble toutes les générations autour d’une programmation haute en couleurs.

Participer à la Saint-Barthélémy

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu