Villefranche-de-Rouergue

Point de vue et table d'orientation à Villefranche-de-Rouergue

Calvary St Jean d'Aigremont; the view of the city.

Legend attributes to the Romans the construction of the Pont de l'Alzou, which provides access to Calvary. It is based on the existence of a Roman road which led from Segodunum – Rodez – To head towards Divona – Cahors.

It dominates Villefranche from the top of its 400 m altitude.

Difficult to access - hence the name "aigre-mont" - this place which has the characteristics of an oppidum and where we find traces of mining, is home to a small Romanesque church, the The Saint Jean d'Aigremont church adjoins a small cemetery.

On this site there was also another chapel, dedicated to the Holy Sepulchre, built in 1715 by a hermit, Father Célestin Lacombe.

During the Revolution, the hill became "mountain of the eternal" and in 1794, this chapel was demolished. In 1821, a rich widow, Mrs. Rouziés-Labastide, to satisfy a wish of her late husband, decided to have a new chapel of the Holy Sepulcher built at her own expense. The building is the one that can be seen from Villefranche.


To get there: either on foot (20 min walk from the Alzou bridge); either by car (direction Compolibat – Le Calvaire – Le Mauron – D47)

We speak French

Themes:

  • Landscaped viewpoint
  • Orientation table

Visit

Customers

Suitable for: All audiences

Address

12200 Villefranche-de-Rouergue
How do I get there?

Was this content useful to you?

Retour Retour
Villefranche-de-Rouergue

Point de vue et table d’orientation à Villefranche-de-Rouergue

Adresse

12200 Villefranche-de-Rouergue

Comment m’y rendre ?

À propos

Le Calvaire St Jean d'Aigremont ; le point de vue sur la ville.

La légende attribue aux Romains la Construction du Pont de l'Alzou, qui permet de se rendre au Calvaire. Elle s'appuie sur l'existence d'une voie romaine qui parlait de Segodunum - Rodez - Pour se diriger vers Divona - Cahors.

Il domine Villefranche du haut de ses 400 m d'altitude.

D'accès pénible - d'où le nom "d'aigre-mont" - ce lieu qui a la caractéristique d'un oppidum et d'où l'on trouve des traces d'exploitation minière, abrite une petite église romane, l'église Saint Jean d'Aigremont que jouxte, un petit cimetière.

Sur ce site existait aussi une autre chapelle, dédiée au Saint Sépulcre, construite en 1715, par un ermite le Père Célestin Lacombe.

A la Révolution, la colline devient "montagne de l'éternel" et en 1794, on démolit cette chapelle. En 1821, une riche veuve, Mme Rouziés-Labastide, pour satisfaire un voeu de son défunt mari, décide de faire construire à ses frais, une nouvelle chapelle du Saint Sépulcre. L'édifice est celui que l'on aperçoit depuis Villefranche.


Pour y aller : soit à pied (20 min de marche depuis le pont de l'Alzou) ; soit en voiture (direction Compolibat - Le Calvaire - Le Mauron - D47)

Nous parlons : Francais

Thèmes

  • Point de vue aménagé
  • Table d'orientation

Visite

Clientèles

  • Tout public

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu