Returns Returns

Les Moulins, circuit n°5 around Najac

NAJAC

In the country, Forest, Hiking

Pleasant and shady circuit to discover old mills. Start of the circuit on the heights of Najac, in the forest, before finishing on the banks of the Aveyron.

It is also possible to leave from the VAL-VVF holiday village.

Les Moulins, circuit n°5 around Najac

Duration: 02 hours

Elevation: -534 D- ​​/ 531 D+

Distance: 8.9 km

1. Departure from Najac

Departure from Place du Faubourg in Najac. Possibility to park in the parking lot of the post office. Go along the square, pass in front of the Tourist Office and continue to the grocery store 50 meters further on the left. Bypass the grocery store on the left and follow the houses and gardens through the magnificent "Roc de Cabusse" circular path. Go down to the Loge, then turn right towards the Place de l'Etoile. Turn left into rue du Bourguet, then left into rue de la Portète (just behind the small restaurant) to reach rue Basse.

2. Step 1

Turn left, cross the D39, and take the botanical path opposite to the Gabanel fountain then cross the bridge. Take the path which rises steeply under the boxwood. Leave a path on the right, continue to climb through the fir trees. At the next intersection, turn right and continue to climb until the intersection of 3 paths.

3. Step 2

[Possible junction with circuit 4 by taking the path that goes to the left] Take the path on the right towards Cassagnes. The path bypasses the holiday residence, continue along the small path which leads to a magnificent view of Najac.

4. Step 3

[Junction with circuit 6 possible by continuing the path opposite instead of turning right] Continue straight on the wide path for 150 meters then turn right between the rocks and take the direction of Puech Calme (arid area where only a few small shrubs and boxwood remain). Look around you, no sign of civilization, you are alone in the world!

5. Step 4

Turn right on the wide path that runs along the river. You will come across a first mill in ruins (mill of Ferragut) then 500 meters further on that of Auribal which is very well preserved. Observe the markings on the mill door. The very abrasive sandstone made it possible to sharpen the tools needed to sharpen the millstones.

6. Step 5

Continue for 300 meters to the top of the small hill. Possibility of shortening by taking the variant to the right as far as the Gabanel fountain. Otherwise continue straight on the small paved road that leads to the St Blaise bridge and the D594. 50 meters before the intersection with the D594 turn right towards Najac via the old cobbled coast. Cross the D39, go up the road opposite which leads to the church. [Junction with circuit 2 possible by taking the path on your left 100 meters before arriving at the church]. Go around the forecourt of the church and go down in front of the presbytery to join the low street which goes up towards the village. Retrieve rue de la Portette to go back to your starting point.

7. End of the tour

You have the possibility of going up by the rue du Barriou which goes directly to the place du Faubourg.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Retour Retour

Les Moulins, circuit n°5 autour de Najac

NAJAC

À la campagne, Forêt, Randonnée

Circuit agréable et ombragé à la découverte d'anciens moulins. Début du circuit sur les hauteurs de Najac, en forêt, avant de finir au bord de l'Aveyron.

Possibilité de partir aussi depuis le village de vacances VAL-VVF.

Les Moulins, circuit n°5 autour de Najac

Durée : 02h30

Dénivelé : -534 D- / 531 D+

Distance : 8.9 km

1. Départ de Najac

Départ depuis la place du Faubourg à Najac. Possibilité de se garer sur le parking de la poste. Longer la place, passer devant l'Office de Tourisme et continuer jusqu'à l'épicerie 50 mètres plus loin sur la gauche. Contourner l'épicerie par la gauche et longer les habitations et jardins à travers le magnifique sentier de ronde "Roc de Cabusse". Descendre jusqu'à la Loge, puis tourner à droite vers la place de l'étoile. Prendre à gauche la rue du Bourguet, puis à gauche la rue de la Portète (juste derrière le petit restaurant) pour arriver sur la rue Basse.

2. Etape 1

Prendre à gauche, traverser la D39, et prendre le sentier botanique en face jusqu'à la fontaine de Gabanel puis traverser le pont. Prendre le chemin qui monte raide sous les buis. Laisser un sentier à droite, continuer de monter à travers les sapins. A l'intersection suivante, bifurquer à droite et continuer à monter jusqu'à l'intersection de 3 sentiers.

3. Etape 2

[Jonction possible avec le circuit 4 en prenant le sentier qui part sur la gauche] Prendre le sentier de droite direction Cassagnes. Le chemin contourne la résidence de vacances, continuer par le petit sentier qui mène à un magnifique point de vue sur Najac.

4. Etape 3

[Jonction avec le circuit 6 possible en continuant le sentier en face au lieu de tourner à droite] Continuer tout droit le large chemin sur 150 mètres puis obliquer à droite entre les rochers et prendre la direction de Puech Calme (zone aride où seuls quelques petits arbustes et buis subsistent). Regardez autour de vous, aucun signe de civilisation, vous voilà seuls au monde !

5. Etape 4

Bifurquer à droite sur le large chemin qui longe la rivière. Vous rencontrerez un premier moulin en ruine (moulin de Ferragut) puis 500 mètres plus loin celui d'Auribal quant à lui très bien conservé. Observez les marques sur la porte du moulin. Le grès très abrasif permettait d'affûter les outils nécessaires pour aiguiser les meules du moulin.

6. Etape 5

Continuer sur 300 mètres jusqu'au sommet de la petite côte. Possibilité de raccourcir en prenant la variante à droite jusqu'à la fontaine de Gabanel. Sinon continuer tout droit la petite route goudronnée qui mène au pont St Blaise et la D594. 50 mètres avant l'intersection avec la D594 prendre sur votre droite direction Najac par l'ancienne côte pavée. Traverser la D39, monter en face la route qui mène à l'église. [Jonction avec le circuit 2 possible en prenant le sentier sur votre gauche 100 mètres avant d'arriver à l'église]. Contourner le parvis de l'église et descendre devant le presbytère pour rejoindre la rue basse qui remonte vers le village. Récupérer la rue de la Portette afin de remonter jusqu'à votre point de départ.

7. Fin du circuit

Vous avez la possibilité de remonter par la rue du Barriou qui rejoint directement la place du Faubourg.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu